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Q. Why do I need the state certificate?  

A. In 1999 Louisiana Legislature passed law that requires one person in each food establishment to obtain a 
state issued certificate. This was done to ensure the providers are credentialed with the testing company and 
the certificates are authentic. The Office of Public Health regulates with public health in mind. The training 
ensures at least one person has gained knowledge through an extensive food safety curriculum and will be able 
to pass that on to others while managing activities in the work place. The code may be referenced at Louisiana 
Administrative Code, Title 51, Part XXIII, Chapter 3. §305. 
 

Q. Who has to post a State of Louisiana food safety certificate?   

A. One person, either an owner or employee, in each retail food establishment is required to obtain and post a 
state food safety certificate. This certificate, with the gold seal, is a separate certificate than the certificate 
issued by the testing company. There are a few exceptions which are noted within the code referenced above. 
The cost of the state certificate is $25.00.  
 
Q. What is the required training for the state certificate? 

A. An 8 hour Food Managers Certificate is required. The accepted ANSI approved certificates are issued by 
ServSafe, National Registry of Food Safety Professionals, Prometric, 360Training, and Above Training (State 
Food Safety.)  
 
Q. Do I get a gold seal on my testing company certificate? 

A. No. We do require a copy of your testing company certificate for processing; however, you will receive a new 
certificate issued from the state. You can post both certificates in your establishment, but you must post the 
state issued certification.  
 
Q. Where can I find a class schedule?  

A. Private sector companies or individuals offer the course and exam. There is a list of state registered 
providers on our website www.eatsafe.la.gov at “For Existing Businesses” “For New Businesses” and “Food 
Safety Certification Information” under Helpful Information. This is not a complete list of all providers who 
offer the exam and you are not required to use a provider on this list although it’s in your best interest to 
ensure the provider is certified through the testing company. 
 
Q. Can I take the exam online?  

A. Above Training at www.statefoodsafety.com allows for online proctoring of the exam. The site requires a 
webcam and a microphone so that a proctor may monitor the exam. Most other online exams are for practice 
only. Remember to register for the correct course. The online providers offer several certifications relating to 
food service. The 8 hour Food Manager’s Certification is the required certificate for the state certification.  
 
Q. What accommodations can be made for those taking the exam? 

A. The exams are often written in several different languages depending on need as determined by the testing 
company. The provider will be able to give information on the offered languages, translators, extended time, 
etc. All accommodations must be approved by the testing company and should be discussed with the provider 
of the exam when the course/exam is scheduled.  
  
Q. Will the class instructor give me the application for the state certificate?  

A. Some of the instructor/proctors will give you the form. If not, go to www.eatsafe.la.gov under Helpful 
Information for the most current application.  
 

http://www.eatsafe.la.gov/
http://www.statefoodsafety.com/
http://www.eatsafe.la.gov/


Q. Can I pay for the state certificate with a credit card? 

A. Unfortunately at this time we cannot accept payments with a credit card. We hope to be able to in the future. 
The only accepted forms of payment are: company check, cashier’s check, or money order. Personal checks will 
be returned and will delay the application process.  
 
 

Q. Is there a public database where I can look up who has a certificate? 

A. No. But you can contact this office with a first and last name of the certificate holder and we can check for a 
certificate in our database. At this time a search can be done based on certificate number or the name of the 
certificate holder only.  
 

Q. Can I take my certificate with me if I change jobs?  

A. The certificate belongs to the certificate holder which is the person, not the place of business. A certificate 
may be transferred to a new place of business no matter who paid for the training. Contact this office to change 
the linked establishment. 
 

Q. What should I do if I’ve lost my testing company certificate?  

A. You may contact the testing company for a duplicate of the certificate.  Contact information below. 
 
Q. Can I order or make copies of my certificate to post if I own or manage several locations?  
 
A. No. The intent of the Code is that one “person in charge” for each food establishment acquires the food 
manager certificate and state certification. That person should pass the gained knowledge on and monitor 
employees in a process called Active Managerial Control.  
 
Q. Can I order a duplicate of my certificate?  

A. A duplicate certificate may be issued if a current certificate is lost or damaged. The certification cannot be 
expired. Multiple certificates will not be issued at the same time or for posting in multiple locations. A 
duplicate certificate is $12.50.  
 
Q. When will my certificate expire?  

A. The state certificate expires (5) five years from the date of the exam. 
 
Q. I’ve taken the course and exam before. Can I just renew my certificate? 

A. New coursework and a new exam must be passed to obtain the Food Managers Certification which is 
required to apply for the state certificate. Testing companies update the test material based on the most current 
version of the Food and Drug Administration Food Code.  
 
Q. How do I find out who the Program Sponsor and the Instructor/Proctor were for my exam? 
This information is required on the state certificate application.  
 
A. If you are unsure who gave your exam, you may contact the testing company with your name and 
certification number. ServSafe in particular has a “certificate verification” tool on the website that is very easy 
to use.  

ServSafe   1-800-765-2122   www.servsafe.com  
Prometric   1-800-624-2736               www.prometric.com/foodsafety  
National Registry  1-800-446-0257                www.nrfsp.com  
360Training   1-877-881-2235   www.360training.com  

 Above Training   1-801-494-1416   www.statefoodsafety.com  
 

http://www.servsafe.com/
http://www.prometric.com/
http://www.nrfsp.com/
http://www.360training.com/
http://www.statefoodsafety.com/


If the exam was taken at a testing center, put the training provider information or website for the Program 
Sponsor and the name and city location of the testing center for the Instructor/Proctor. If the exam was taken 
with an online proctor through www.statefoodsafety.com, note “online proctor” on the instructor/proctor line.  
For your reference: The printed signature on the testing company certificate is not the Instructor/Proctor.  
Your application may not be processed without the correct Training Program Information.  
 

Q. What does it mean when your office says my instructor/proctor is not registered with the 
Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals?  
 
A. The instructor/proctors are not required by the testing company to register with the state of Louisiana. 
However, for the state certificate to be issued Louisiana code requires this office, at a minimum, to verify the 
credentials of the exam provider. If that particular provider is registered within our (for office use only) 
database, there is no delay in processing the state certificate. The provider registration is free of charge and the 
applications may be requested by contacting the Retail Food Program at 225-342-7773. We can add registered 
providers to the list of providers offered online if the provider meets qualifications and requests the addition. 
 

Retail Food Program  225-342-7773  www.eatsafe.la.gov 

http://www.statefoodsafety.com/
http://www.eatsafe.la.gov/

