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GUIDELINE GOALS

The goal of developing this document is to provide guidelines for pediatric diagnostic
services that recognize the diversity of individuals and families. These guidelines have
been developed specifically for audiological diagnostic services provided to children
from birth-36 months of age. This is a companion document to the previously created
Louisiana Hospital Guidelines for Newborn Infant Hearing Screening Programs.

Audiologists who are not able to provide these services, due to lack of skill, experience,
or equipment are ethically obligated by the Louisiana Board of Examiners in Speech
Pathology and Audiology Ethics Guidelines to refer families to facilities where the
needed services can be obtained.

A well-organized and professional early hearing detection and intervention system can
make a significant difference in the lives of children who are deaf or hard of hearing and
their families. We hope these guidelines can act as a tool to providing the best services
possible.

These guidelines are intended for audiologists who serve infants and young children
suspected of having hearing loss. Given the necessity and importance of multi-
disciplinary service providers for children and their families, other stakeholders may
benefit from these assessment guidelines in the context of early detection and
intervention program development.

Who developed these guidelines?

The guidelines on the following pages were developed by a committee of audiologists
from the state of Louisiana /Office of Public Health “Sound Start” EHDI Program in
collaboration with the Louisiana State Advisory Council on Infant Hearing.

These guidelines are based on the DHH rules and regulations developed to accompany
Louisiana Act 653 of 1999 Universal Newborn Screening Legislation and were updated
to reflect new recommendations from the Joint Committee on Infant Hearing Position
Statement (2007) in November, 2009. See Appendix B for summary on JCIH 2007
Position Paper.

Funding was provided in part by grants from the US Maternal and Child Health Bureau
and Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
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Status of infants after hospital or private initial screening:

Infants who need further testing due to failed initial hearing screening

» Infants failing the newborn screening are to be referred for follow-up rescreening
as soon as possible within two to four weeks from hospital discharge.

» Infants failing the hospital screening must be referred to the primary care
physician or to a licensed audiologist for follow-up rescreening. See Louisiana
Audiological Guidelines for Hearing Rescreening of Infants Ver. 2.0 (2008)

Infants who need further testing due to failed follow-up rescreening

e The audiologist or physician should help the parents to make arrangements for
the diagnostic testing at the time of the failed rescreening.

e |If possible, diagnostic testing should be performed during the same visit as the
rescreening or as soon as possible.

e Only appropriately credentialed and qualified audiologists who possess a valid
state license should perform follow-up diagnostic testing.

e Diagnosis and evaluation of the type and degree of hearing loss should be
completed by the time the child is 3 months of age.

. The goal for follow up for successful early hearing detection and
intervention is:
1-3-6
% Before 1 month old:
Complete initial newborn hearing screening

% By 3 months old:
Complete an appropriate audiological diagnostic
assessment on infants failing screening or rescreening

% Before 6 months old:
Fit amplification and begin early intervention services

Ver.2.0 9/1/10 5



EVALUATION OF NEWBORNS AND INFANTS
0-6 MONTHS OF AGE

Audiological Diagnostic Assessment Protocol

To be considered a diagnostic procedure, ear specific estimates of type, degree,
and configuration of the hearing loss must be obtained. This differs from a simple
screening.

Adequate confirmation of an infant’s hearing status cannot be obtained from a

single

test measure; rather the initial test battery must include physiologic

measures and, if possible, developmentally appropriate behavioral techniques.

1.

2.

Ver. 2.0

Detailed history should include but is not limited to:

Parental report of auditory and visual behaviors

Motor development

Family history of hearing loss

History of middle ear pathologies

Parental concerns

Prenatal, birth, and neonatal history

Medical history including: Syndromes or other inheritable conditions,
craniofacial anomalies, kidney issues, conditions of limbs/digits,
pigmentation issues, exposure to ototoxic medications

@~ oo0op

Otoscopy
Visual inspection for obvious structural abnormalities of the pinna and ear canal

should be included.

Evoked Otoacoustic Emissions
Either Transient or Distortion Products Emissions are acceptable.

TEOAE click stimuli: One level (e.g., 80-85 dB pSPL) should be completed.
DPOAE stimuli: Use L1/L2 of 65/55 dB SPL.

Pass criterion: An emission of 6 dB signal to noise ratio for at least three
frequencies in each ear.

At least one frequency should be located between 2000 and 3000 Hz

A second frequency should be located between 3000 and 4000 Hz
The third point could be at any other frequency between 1000 Hz and 6000 Hz

9/1/10 6



4. Acoustic Immitance testing

a. Tympanometry - 660 Hz or higher probe tone

b. Acoustic Reflex- Ipsilateral middle ear muscle reflex thresholds for 500,
1000, 2000, and 4000 Hz if possible. Currently there is insufficient data
for routine use of acoustic middle ear muscle reflex in infants younger than
4 months.

Pass criterion: Type A tympanogram

5. Diagnostic Auditory Evoked Potential Testing (Non-sedated)

Ver. 2.0

a. ABR to air-conducted clicks:

Diagnostic testing should include Wave V latency-intensity function responses
to at least three differing intensity levels ending with at least one tracing at or
below threshold.

Pass Criterion: Normal results consist of Wave V responses for clicks at
25dBnHL within a normal absolute latency range adjusted for the child’s
corrected gestational age.

b. Change polarity of clicks

Supra-threshold click testing should also include one average with
condensation clicks and another average at the same intensity with
rarefaction clicks to rule-out auditory neuropathy/dys-synchrony.

In a normal ABR the waveforms will be essentially the same morphology and
latency with both polarities. If all waveforms in the tracings at one polarity
invert when compared to the other polarity, that represents the presence only
of the cochlear microphonic (CM) with no neural response. If only the CM is
observed, that is consistent with auditory neuropathy/dys-synchrony.

Even though the ABR is abnormal, in this case toneburst testing is not
necessary, as it will not yield any additional information.

c. ABR to tonebursts:
In order to obtain more frequency-specific information, ABR stimuli should
include at least one low frequency toneburst (such as 500Hz) in combination

with clicks.

For even greater specificity both low and high frequency tonebursts could be
used in place of clicks (such as 500Hz, 2000Hz and 4000Hz).

9/1/10 7



If CONDUCTIVE HEARING LOSS is suspected, testing must also include:
c. Bone conduction ABR:

Stimuli should be bone-conducted clicks; masking of the non-test ear should
be applied, as appropriate.

Diagnostic testing should include Wave V latency-intensity function responses
to at least three differing intensity levels ending with one tracing below
threshold.

Diagnostic testing at minimum should include Wave V latency-intensity
function responses to at least three differing intensity levels ending with at
least one tracing at or below threshold.

Pass Criterion Normal results would consist of Wave V responses at
25dBnHL for higher frequencies and 35dBnHL at lower frequencies.

Ver.2.0 9/1/10 8



EVALUATION OF INFANTS AND CHILDREN
6 MONTHS TO 3 YEARS OF AGE

Audiological Diagnostic Assessment

1. Detailed history: including but not limited to:

Parental report of auditory and visual behaviors

Motor development

Family history of hearing loss

History of middle ear pathologies

Parental concerns

Prenatal, birth, and neonatal history

Medical history including: Syndromes or other inheritable
conditions, craniofacial anomalies, kidney issues, conditions of
limbs/digits, pigmentation issues, exposure to ototoxic medications

@~ oooop

2. Otoscopy:
Visual inspection for obvious structural abnormalities of the pinna and ear

canal

3. Evoked Otoacoustic Emissions: Transients or Distortion Products

TEOAE click stimuli: One level (e.g., 80-85 dB pSPL) should be
completed.
DPOAE stimuli: Use L1/L2 of 65/55 dB SPL.

Pass criterion: Emission of 6 dB signal to noise ratio for at least three
frequencies in each ear.

At least one frequency should be located between 2000 and 3000 Hz

A second frequency should be located between 3000 and 4000 Hz

The third point could be at any other frequency between 1000 Hz and 6000 Hz

4. Acoustic Immitance Testing:
a. Tympanometry - 660 Hz or higher probe tone in children under 6-18
months, 220 Hz is acceptable in children 18-36 months

b. Acoustic Reflex- Ipsilateral middle ear muscle reflex thresholds for
500, 1000, 2000, and 4000

Pass Criterion: Type A tympanogram and present acoustic reflexes

Ver. 2.0 9/1/10



5.

Ver. 2.0

Behavioral Observation Audiometry (BOA):
In soundfield or with earphones using calibrated stimuli. Insert earphones
are recommended if possible.

Pass criterion: minimal and/or startle response at 65 dB.

Visual Reinforcement Audiometry (VRA): if appropriate due to child’s
developmental level.

Stimuli should be speech and also frequency specific tones between 250-
6000 Hz. Insert earphones are preferable; sound field may be necessary
with some children who will not tolerate earphones.

Pass Criterion: 20 dB to speech and threshold responses at 500, 1000,
2000, and 4000 Hz tones.

At least one ABR is recommended as part of a complete audiology
diagnostic evaluation for children younger than 3 years old for
confirmation of permanent hearing loss.

(The same procedures as outlined in newborn-6 months for recommended
ABR procedures apply. See previous section.)

9/1/10
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USE OF SEDATION IN THE EVALUATION PROCESS

No child, especially those under the age of six months of age, should be given
medication to sedate for testing unless absolutely necessary. Sedating merely
for convenience or to speed testing time in a busy clinic schedule is neither ethical
audiological practice nor good medical practice. Most normally developing children
from birth to 6 months of age can be tested using sleep deprivation and other
techniques to induce natural sleep.

The standard is to begin with less medically invasive procedures (i.e. behavioral)
and move to more complex procedures (i.e. electrophysiological) requiring or
including the use of sedation only when deemed necessary to complete the
evaluation.

Children 6 months and older or children with complex medical conditions may need
to be sedated to complete necessary diagnostic procedures when behavioral
audiology is inappropriate due to the child’s age or other limitations or
attempts at behavioral testing have been made with no success. Conscious
sedation is recommended over deep sedation whenever possible.

Administering the sedation and discharging patients after the procedure is not within
the scope of practice of the audiologist.

Both the Louisiana Board of Examiners and the American Speech-Language-
Hearing Association have adopted standards for the procedural use of sedation for
speech pathology and audiology. Audiologists involved with sedation should be
knowledgeable of these position statements. You can view the ASHA Technical
Report on Sedation and Topical Anesthetics at http://www.asha.org/docs/pdf/ TR1992-

00257.pdf

Ver. 2.0 9/1/10
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MONITORING CHILDREN AT-RISK FOR
PROGRESSIVE HEARING LOSS

Considerations for managing babies with risk factors for late onset or progressive
hearing loss are extremely important. The timing and number of hearing
reevaluations for children with these risk factors should be customized and
individualized depending on the relative likelihood of a subsequent

delayed-onset hearing loss.

The JCIH 2007 Position Paper recommends an inclusive strategy of surveillance
of all children within the medical home on the pediatric periodicity schedule.

All families should receive informational materials that discuss major milestones
in normal speech and language development and risk factors for hearing loss in
their native language.

Families of infants at high risk should receive additional information on late-onset
or progressive hearing loss as well as local diagnostic resource centers.

The first monitoring appointment for infants at-risk for progressive loss should be
made prior to discharge from the birth hospital or NICU.

See Appendix B for a list of RISK INDICATORS ASSOCIATED WITH
PERMANENT CONGENITAL, DELAYED-ONSET OR PROGRESSIVE
HEARING LOSS IN CHILDHOOD

Infants who pass the neonatal screening but have any of the risk factors on the list not

in bold print should have at least 1 diagnostic audiology assessment by 24 to 30 months

of age.

Risk indicators that are in bold are of greater concern for delayed-onset hearing loss

and will need closer audiologic monitoring. Closer monitoring would include audiological

testing every 6 months up to age 3 years and annually after that time.

Ver. 2.0 9/1/10
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AMPLIFICATION FOR INFANTS AND CHILDREN
BIRTH — 3 YEARS

Most infants and children with bilateral hearing loss and many with unilateral loss
benefit from some form of personal amplification.

Pediatric Amplification:
a. Should definitely be considered for infants and children when the pure

tone average or high frequency pure tone average is greater than
25dB HL in at least one ear.

Should be considered when the pure tone average of either ear is
greater than 15dB HL and the child is exhibiting speech and language
difficulties due to fluctuating or mild hearing loss.

Should be assessed for appropriateness for infants and young children
with unilateral loss. Depending on the amount of residual hearing, a
hearing aid may be indicated. Contra-lateral routing of signals (CROS)
is not currently recommended for children.

Definitive resolution of otitis media (OM) should never delay the fitting
of an amplification device. The infant should be referred to the
physician for medical management and the audiologist should monitor
the status of the OM when determining appropriate prescriptive targets
during the hearing aid fitting.

Timeline for amplification fitting:

If the family chooses personal amplification for their child, hearing aid selection should

occur within 1 month of initial confirmation of hearing loss even if additional
audiologic assessment is ongoing.

Amplification/Hearing Aid fitting Guidelines:
The goal of the amplification device fitting is to provide the infant with maximum access
to all of the acoustic features of speech within an intensity range that is safe and
comfortable. Amplified speech should be comfortably above the infant’s sensory
threshold but below the level of discomfort across the speech range.

Ver. 2.0

a. The hearing aid size, make and model should be appropriate for the

b.

C.

child’s age and development.

For infants under 6 months of age, hearing aid fitting will usually be
based on physiologic measures alone using real-ear measurements.
Behavioral threshold assessment using VRA should be obtained as
soon as possible to cross-check and augment physiologic findings.
(JCIH, 2007). Long term monitoring of the validity of the fitting and
refinement of the gain and output targets is necessary.

9/1/10
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d.

Age appropriate hearing aid prescriptive formulas (such as DSL) that
incorporate the use of individual real-ear measurements that account
for each infant’s ear canal acoustics and hearing loss should be used
for fitting infants.

Complementary or alternative technology, such as FM systems or cochlear
implants may be recommended as the primary or secondary listening device,
depending on the degree of the infant’s hearing loss, the goals of auditory
habilitation, the infant’s acoustic environment, and the family’s informed choices.

Pediatric Referral for Cochlear Implant:

Cochlear implantation (Cl) should be given careful consideration for any child.
Since the benefit of Cl is variable, a trial fitting of a traditional hearing aid at this
time is still recommended by JCIH. The decision to discontinue the hearing aid
should be made on the basis of the benefit derived from the amplification.

According to the current FDA guidelines, a cochlear implant:

a.

Ver. 2.0

Is appropriate for children over 12 months of age with profound
bilateral sensorineural hearing loss.

May be considered for children 12 months and older with severe
bilateral sensorineural hearing loss who are not developing speech
and language skills on target after attempting conventional hearing aid
use.

May be considered for children 12 months and older diagnosed with
auditory neuropathy/dys-synchrony who are not developing speech
and language skills on target. A hearing aid trial in patients with AN/AD
is still indicated in most cases.

The presence of developmental conditions (e.g., developmental delay,
autism) in addition to hearing loss should not preclude the
considerations of a Cl for an infant or child who is deaf.

9/1/10
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REPORTING RESULTS AND TRACKING

REPORTING RESULTS OF ALL RESCREENING AND
DIAGNOSTIC TESTING IS EXTREMELY IMPORTANT.

Testing results should be reported on the EHDI Follow-up Form
which can be obtained by emailing the EHDI Follow-Up Coordinator.
This follow-up from should be emailed, faxed, or mailed within 14
days to the Department of Health and Hospitals EHDI Program at the
address and fax listed on the bottom of the form.

Email EHDI Follow-Up Coordinator at:
ehdifollowup@hughes.net

Which results should be reported?

1.

Rescreening and/or diagnostic testing results on all infants who failed a
hospital newborn hearing screening even if the results of your testing are
normal.

Initial screening or diagnostic testing results on all infants who never had
a hospital newborn hearing screening even if your results are normal.

All results on any child ages birth-5 years of age identified with a hearing loss
for the first time.

All results on any child birth- 5 years of age fitted with a hearing aid or
cochlear implant for the first time.

Every child that is considered lost to follow-up. Report information on
any child who failed to keep their rescreening or diagnostic testing
appointments and who is now considered to be lost to follow-up:

e |tis recommended that at least two attempts be made to schedule
the patient for follow-up testing before reporting them as lost to
follow-up.

e Communication should be made by at least two different methods
before giving up (i.e.: telephone contact and mail contact).

¢ Send information on all possible contact family and phone numbers, and
information on all previous contacts (phone disconnected, wrong address,
other family members, etc).

Ver.2.0 9/1/10 15



REFERRAL TO EARLY INTERVENTION

Early intervention is an integral part of the habilitation process for all children identified
with hearing loss. Simply establishing an amplification system is only the first step. It is

ethically and legally the responsibility of the audiologist to refer all children identified

with hearing loss into an early intervention system.

According to Federal Law IDEA, all children diagnosed with a hearing loss must
be referred to Part C (early intervention) within 48 hours.

In 2009, a new single point of entry into the system of early intervention was
developed. The regional LA-Hear Coordinators from PPEP _have now been
designated as the single point of entry for children identified with any type of

hearing loss.

These changes were made in cooperation with Early Steps, DHH EHDI Program,
and the PPEP program. These changes assure that families and their children
who have hearing loss will have immediate access to:

e an individual with specialized skills, knowledge, and experience in the
areas of early childhood language development, hearing loss,
communication methods, and family support

e unbiased information on parent and family choices for communication
and intervention services as recommended in 2007 Position
Statement: Joint Committee on Infant Hearing.

Referrals to regional LA-Hear Coordinators can be made
by an audiologist through:

Phone: 225-757-3331; Fax: 225-757-3332;
TDD: 225-769-8160x331; Email: ppep@lalsd.org

The following information must be provided when referring a child to PPEP:
e Family contact information- at least two phone numbers if possible
e Documentation of hearing loss i.e. written report, audiogram, or copy of
the Office of Public Health/Follow-up Services Report

A regional LA-Hear Coordinator will contact the family within 3 days. Services
are provided to families of children who are identified at any age with any
type or degree of either bilateral or unilateral hearing loss. Additionally,
families of infants up to 3 years of age will be referred to Early Steps by the
LA-Hear Coordinator in order to receive any other services the child might
need. An additional Early Steps referral from the audiologist is not necessary.

PPEP services are statewide, cost-free, home/community-based services
provided to families of children. Services are individualized to meet the needs
and priorities of the family. Every family should be referred, and it will be the
family’s choice to determine their need for services.

Ver. 2.0 9/1/10
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Parent-Pupil Education Program
Louisiana Deaf & Hard of Hearing
Resource [LA-Hear] Coordinators

+ Contact a family immediately after diagnosis to offer assistance

¢ Provide home-based support to families of children with hearing loss

¢ Ensure referral to Early Steps

¢ Patrticipate in the development of the Individual Family Services Plan (IFSP)

¢ Provide information to the family about specialized programs available to children with
hearing loss, i.e., Bright School & New Orleans Oral School

¢ Link the family with parent-to-parent contact and the statewide parent consultant

¢ Track and monitor all children with any type or degree of bilateral or unilateral hearing
loss

¢ Participate in audiological visits and collaborate with audiologists regarding the child’'s
progress in communication development and hearing aid/cochlear implant use

¢ Provide the family with unbiased information about all modes of communication so they can
make informed decisions for their child

¢ Help the family to assess, monitor & enhance their child’'s communication development
during daily routines

¢ Assist the family and/or childcare provider to identify and practice optimal listening
environments in the home or in daycare settings

¢ Provide technical assistance to occupational therapists, physical therapists, speech
therapists, special instructors, etc. so that language learning can be incorporated into all
activities

¢ Provide daycare staff and/or other family members with information about the child’s hearing
loss and how they can assist in the development of communication skills and hearing
aid/cochlear implant use

¢ Assist families with the transition from Early Steps at age 3

The Parent-Pupil Education Program is a free outreach service provided through the
Louisiana School for the Deaf for families with children who are deaf or hard of hearing.
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Appendix A: Legislation/ Rules and Regulations

1. Louisiana Identification of Hearing Impairment in Infants Law (Act 653
amended statutes July 1, 1999 and Act 417 July, 1992 combined)

2. Louisiana DHH Revised Procedures for Identification of Hearing Impairment
in Infants law (April, 2002)

3. Louisiana Insurance Coverage for Hearing Aids (ACT 816 — 2003)

Ver. 2.0 9/1/10
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Appendix Al:

ACT No. 653

SENATE Bill NO. 436

BY SENATORS LANDRY AND IRONS AND REPRESENTATIVES DURAND, JETSON, TOOMEY, AND
WILKERSON

To amend and reenact R.S. 46:2263 (7)(a)(xi) and (b)(ix) and (8), 2264 (A)(4) and 2267 and to enact R.S.
46:2262 (D), relative to the identification of hearing impairment in infants; to revise certain definitions; to require
hospitals to provide screening for hearing impairment to all newborn infants prior to discharge; to provide an
effective date for adoption of rules and regulations; to provide for related matters.
Be it enacted by the Legislature of Louisiana:

Section 1. R.S. 46:2263 (7)(a)(xi)and (b)(xi) and (8), 2264 (A)(4) and 2267 are hereby amended and
reenacted and R.S. 46:2262 (D) is hereby enacted to read as follows:

2262. Purpose

A. The purpose of the program for early identification of hearing impairment is to identify hearing impaired
infants at the earliest possible time so that medical treatment, early audiological evaluation, selection of
amplification, and early educational intervention can be provided.

B. Early educational intervention and early audiological services are required under the Education of the
Handicapped Act, Amendments of 1986, Public Law 99457.

C. Early identification and management of the hearing impaired infant is essential if that infant is to acquire
the vital language and speech skills needed to achieve maximum potential educationally, emotionally, and socially.

D. Appropriate screening and identification of Newborns and Infants with Hearing Loss will therefore
serve the public purpose of promoting the healthy development of children, and reducing public expenditure for
health care and special education, and related services.

2263. Definitions
Except where the context clearly indicates otherwise, in this Chapter:

() "Advisory council™ means the advisory council created pursuant to R.S. 46:2265.

(2) "Department" means the Department of Health and Hospitals.

(3) "Hearing impaired infant” means an infant who has a disorder of the auditory system of any type or degree,
causing a hearing impairment sufficient to interfere with the development of language and speech skills. The term
"hearing impaired infant" includes both deaf and hard-of -hearing infants.

(4) "Infants at risk" means those infants who are at risk for hearing impairment because they have one or more
risk factors.

(5) "Office" means the office of public health within the department.

(6) "Program" means the program that the office of public health establishes to provide for the early
identification and follow-up of infants at risk, of hearing impaired infants, and of infants who have a risk indicator
for developing a progressive hearing impairment.

(7) "Risk factors" means those criteria or factors, anyone of which identifies an infant as being at risk for
hearing impairment.

(a) The risk factors that identify those neonate infants from birth through the first twenty-eight days, who are at
risk for sensorineural bearing impairment included the following:

(i) Family history of congenital or delayed onset childhood sensory neural impairment.

(ii) Congenital infection known or suspected to be associated with sensorineural hearing impairment such as
toxoplasmosis, syphilis, rubella, cytomegalovirus, and herpes.

(iii) Craniofacial anomalies including morphologic abnormalities of the pinna and ear canal, absent philtrum,
low hairline, etc.

(iv) Birth weightless that one thousand five hundred grams or less than three and three tenths pounds.

(v) Hyperbilirubinemia at a level exceeding indication for exchange transfusion.

(vi) Ototoxic medications, including but not limited to the aminoglycosides used for more than five days, such
as gentamicin, tobrarnycin, kanamycin, streptomycin, and loop diuretics used in combination with aminoglycosides.

(vii) Bacterial meningitis

(viii) Severe depression at birth, which may include infants with Apgar scores of zero to three at five minutes or
those who fail to fully initiate spontaneous respiration by ten minutes or those with hypotonia persisting to two
hours of age.

(ix) Prolonged mechanical ventilation for a duration equal to or greater than ten days, such as persistent
pulmonary hypertension.

(x) Stigmata or other findings associated with a syndrome known to include sensorineural hearing loss, such as
Waardenburg or Usher's syndrome.
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(xi) Other risk factors added or deleted by the office of public health upon recommendation of the advisory
council for early identification of hearing impaired children

(b) The factors that identify those infants aged twenty-nine days to two years who are at-risk for sensorineural
hearing impairment include the following:

(i) Parent or caregiver concerns regarding hearing, speech, language and/or developmental delay,

(ii) Bacterial meningitis.

(iii) Neonatal risk factors that may be associated with progressive sensorineural hearing loss, such as
cytomegalovirus. prolonged mechanical ventilation, and inherited disorders.

(iv) Head trauma especially with either longitudinal or transverse fracture of the temporal bone.

(v) Stigmata or other findings associated with syndromes known to include sensorineural hearing loss, such as
Waardenburg or Usher's Syndrome,
(vi) Ototoxic medications, including but not limited to the aminoglycosides used for more than five days, such
as gentamicin, tobramycin, kanamycin, streptomycin, and loop diuretics used in combination with aminoglycosides.
(vii) Children with neurodegenerative disorders such as neurofibrornatosis, myoclonic epilepsy, Werdnig-
Hoffman disease, Tay-Sach's disease, infantile Gaucher's disease, Nieman-Pick disease, any metachromatic
leukodystrophy, or any infantile demyelinating neuropathy.

(viii) Childhood infectious diseases known to be associated with sensorineural hearing loss, such as mumps or
measles.

(ix) Other risk factors added or deleted by the office of public health upon recommendation of the
advisory council for early identification of hearing impaired children.

(8) "Screening for hearing impairment"” means employing a device for identifying whether an infant has a
disorder of the auditory system, but may not necessarily provide a comprehensive determination of hearing
thresholds in the speech range. Procedures may include auditory brainstem response (ABR) screening or evoked
Otoacoustic emission (OAE) or other devices approved by the office upon recommendation of the advisory council.

2264. Identification of hearing impairment in infants.

A. The office of public health in the Department of Health and Hospitals shall establish, in consultation
with the advice of the Louisiana Commission for the Deaf and advisory council created in R.S. 46:2265, a program
for the early identification and follow-up of infants at risk , hearing impaired infants, and infants at risk of
developing a progressive hearing impairment. That program shall, at a minimum:

(1) Develop criteria or factors to identify those infants at risk for hearing impairment and infants at risk of
developing a progressive hearing impairment including the risk factors set forth in this Chapter, and develop an at-
risk questionnaire for infant hearing loss.

(2) Create an at-risk registry 10 include, but not be limited 10, the identification of infants at risk for
hearing impairment, hearing impaired infants, and infants at risk of developing a progressive hearing impairment.

(3) Provide to the hospitals and other birthing sites the at-risk questionnaire for infant hearing loss and
require that the form be completed for any newborn prior to discharge from the hospital or other birthing site. As to
infants at risk, copies of the completed at-risk questionnaire shall be distributed to the at-risk registry of the office,
the parent or
guardian, and. if known, the infant's primary care physician and the provider of audiological services.

(4) Require for all newborn infants that the hospital of birth or that hospital to which the newborn infant
may be transferred provides screening for hearing impairment by auditory brainstem response (ABR) screening, or
evoked Otoacoustic emission (OAE) or other screening device approved by the office before discharge. The results
of that screening for hearing impairment shall be provided to the at risk registry of the office of public health, the
parent
or guardian, and if known, the primary physician and the provider of audiological services.

(5) Develop and provide to the hospitals or other birthing sites appropriate written materials regarding
hearing impairment, and require that the hospitals or other birthing sites provide this written materials all parents or
guardians of
newborn infants.

(6) Develop methods to contact parents or guardians of infants at risk, of hearing impaired infants, and of
infants at risk of developing a progressive hearing impairment.

(7) Establish a telephone hotline to communicate information about hearing impairment, hearing screening,
audiological evaluation, and other services for hearing impaired infants.

(8) Provide that when screening for hearing impairment indicates a hearing loss, audiological evaluation
shall be done as soon as practical. The parents or guardians of the infant shall be provided with information on
locations at which medical and audiological follow up can be obtained.
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B. The office shall consult with the advisory council and implement the program.

C. The office shall develop a system for the collection of data, determine the cost-effectiveness of the
program and disseminate statistical reports to the Louisiana Commission for the Deaf,

D. The office, in cooperation with the state Department of Education, shall develop a plan to coordinate
early educational and audiological services for infants identified as bearing impaired.

E. The office shall follow current practices and applicable guidelines that are currently utilized in Louisiana
and will consider practices and guidelines that may be established by the National Institute of Deafness and other
Communication Disorders (NIDCD).

2265. Advisory council creation; membership; terms; quorum; compensation

A. There is hereby created an advisory council for the program of early identification of hearing impaired
infants. The council shall consist of fourteen members as follows:

(I) An otolaryngologist or otologist.

(2) An audiologist with extensive experience in evaluating infants.

(3) A neonatologist.

(4) A pediatrician.

(5) A deaf person

(6) A hospital administrator

(7) A speech and language pathologist

(8) A school teacher or administrator certified in education of the deaf.

(9) A parent of an oral hearing impaired child.

(10) A parent of a hearing impaired child utilizing total communication.

(11) A representative of the state Department of Education designated by the superintendent of education.

(12) A representative of the office designated by the assistant secretary of the office.

(13) A representative from the Louisiana Commission for the Deaf.

(14) A representative from the Louisiana Association of the Deaf.

B. Members of the council in accordance with R.S. 46;2265 (A)(1) through (10) and RS. 46;2265 (A)(13)
through (14) shall be appointed by the governor, subject to Senate Confirmation, Other members are not subject to
senate confirmation.

C. Members of the council representing offices and departments of state government shall serve a four-
year term concurrent with that of the governor. Other members shall serve three-year terms, except that in making
the initial appointments, four members shall be appointed for a one-year term. Four shall be appointed for two-year
terms. and four shall be appointed for three-year terms. No member may serve more than two consecutive terms.

D. Each member shall serve without compensation.

E. A majority of the members of the council shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of all business.

F. The members of the committee shall elect from their membership a chairman and a vice chairman.

2266. Powers. duties, functions of the advisory council
The advisory council shall:

(1) Advise and recommend risk factors or criteria for infants who are at risk of bearing impairments and
infants at risk of developing a progressive bearing impairment.

(2) Advise the office as to bearing screening, setting standards for the program, monitoring and reviewing
the program, and providing quality assurance for the program.

(3) Advise the office as to integrating the program for early identification of bearing impaired infants with
existing medical, audiological, and early infant education programs.

(4) Advise the office as to materials to be distributed to the public concerning hearing

(5) Advise the office on the implementation of the program for early identification and follow up of infants
at risk. heating impaired infants, and infants who are at risk of developing a progressive hearing impairment.

2267. Effective dale; rules and regulations
The office of public health shall, by July 1, 2000 adopt rules and regulations necessary to implement the
program in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.

Approved by the Governor.

A true copy;
W. Fox McKeithen; Secretary of State
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Appendix A2

[DHH/OPH Rules and Regulations relevant to ACT 653 of 1999- approved 2002]
Universal Newborn Hearing Screening

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of Public Health

Identification of Hearing Impairment in Infants
(LAC 48:V.Chapter 22)

In accordance with the applicable provision of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:950 et seq. and the Identification of Hearing Impairment in Infants R.S. 46:2261 et seq.,
notice is hereby given that the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health
intends to adopt procedures for the screening of infants to identify hearing impairment, testing of
all newborns and referral of newborns failing screening for appropriate follow-up services and
ensure proper information distribution to parents, primary care physicians and interested
groups.

Louisiana’s Act 417 of 1992 mandated hearing screening of all HIGH-RISK infants and rules
and regulations were adopted to implement the program in accordance with the Administrative
Procedure Act. On July 1, 1999, Act 417 was amended by Act 653 of 1999 to require
UNIVERSAL newborn hearing screening or the hearing screening of all newborn infants,
rather than only the infants with high-risk factors.

It is necessary that new rules be adopted to allow for the proper implementation of the amended
legislation of Act 653, to allow for implementation of statewide, universal newborn hearing
screening.

Title 48

PUBLIC HEALTH-GENERAL

Part V. Preventive Health Services

Subpart 7. Maternal and Child Health Services

Chapter 22. Identification of Hearing Impairment in Infants
2201. Definitions

Advisory Council--the 14 member council created pursuant to R.S. 46:2265.

Audiologist--an individual licensed to practice audiology by the Louisiana Board of Examiners
for Speech Pathology and Audiology.

Auditory Brainstem Response (ABR)--the synchronous electrical response elicited from the
auditory nervous system within 20 msec after stimulation and its measurement as used for the
detection of hearing loss.

Department--the Department of Health and Hospitals.

Discharge--release from the premises of a medical care facility.

Evoked Otoacoustic Emissions (EOAE)--acoustic echoes, evoked in response to acoustic
stimuli, produced by the inner ear and measured by a microphone in the ear canal for the
detection of hearing loss.

Hearing Screening--using procedures approved by the office to identify infants in need of
diagnostic audiological assessment.

Infants at Risk--those infants who are at risk for hearing loss because they have one or more
risk factors as indicated in R.S. 46:2263.

Office--the Office of Public Health within the department.

Other Birthing Site--any site of birth other than a hospital.

Other Risk Factors--any other condition(s) in addition to the factors cited in R.S. 46:2263
added by the office upon recommendation of the advisory council.
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Other Screening Device--a device pre-approved in writing by the office, comparable to or
better than auditory brainstem response testing.

Program--The Hearing, Speech and Vision Program within the office.

Risk Registry--will be the data base kept by the office of all infants identified as high risk for
hearing loss.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 46:2261-2267.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of
Public Health, LR 19: 1430 (November 1993). amended LR 28:0000 (April 2002).

2203. Program for Identification of Hearing Loss in Infants
A. The program will include the following:

1. The office will require a newborn hearing screening report to be used by the hospitals to
report hearing screening results and risk status on all newborns to the risk registry. This form
will include written material regarding hearing loss and a toll-free hotline phone number
(VITDD).

2. The office will maintain a risk registry to include information reported on the newborn
hearing screening report.

3. The office will notify parents of infants at risk of available follow-up services.

4. The risk registry will include periodic notification to parents of recommended procedures
for infants and children at risk for progressive hearing loss.

5. The risk registry will include information on infants diagnosed with hearing loss.

6. The office will provide for a toll-free hotline service for parents and professionals to
utilize to obtain information about the program and related services. This hotline will be
accessible by voice or TDD.

B. Implementation
1. All birthing sites in Louisiana must be in compliance with this act by March 1, 2002

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 46:2261-2267.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of
Public Health, LR 19: 1431 (November 1993), amended LR 28:0000 (April 2002).

2205. Procedures for Hospitals

A. Hospitals shall complete the newborn screening report, using the at risk criteria provided
by the office on all live births.

B. Hospitals shall conduct hearing screening on all newborn before discharge.

C. Hospitals shall record the results of the hearing screening on the newborn hearing
screening report.

D. Hospitals shall disseminate copies of the newborn hearing screening report to the parent,
the office (within 14 calendar days of discharge), and the infant’s primary health care provider.
E. If an infant is born in one hospital and transferred to one or more hospital(s), the last
hospital to which the infant is transferred before being discharged into the care of a parent, or
guardian for purposes other than transport, must complete the newborn infant hearing report

and perform the hearing screening.

F. If an infant is to be placed for adoption and is to be transferred to another hospital for
adoption, the hospital at which the infant is born is to complete the newborn hearing screening
report and perform the hearing screening (unless 2205. E above applies). The parent copy of
the newborn hearing screening report shall be sent to the guardian.

G. Referrals for infants failing the hospital screening process must be made within seven
days of discharge to the infant’s primary health care provider and a licensed audiologist.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 46:2261-2267.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of
Public Health, LR 19: 1431 (November 1993) amended LR 28:0000 (April 2002).
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2207. Procedures for Other (Alternative) Birthing Sites

A. When the infant is born outside the hospital, the person filling out the birth certificate shall
complete the newborn hearing screening report.

B. Hearing screening shall be performed at the alternative birthing site before discharge.
The results of the screening shall be recorded on the newborn hearing screening report.

C. The person completing the newborn hearing screening report shall disseminate the copies
to the parent, primary health care provider, and the office (within 14 calendar days).

D. Referrals for infants who are unable to be tested at the birthing site or who fail the
alternative birthing site screening process must be made within seven days of discharge to the
infant’s primary health care provider and a licensed audiologist.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 46:2261-2267.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of
Public Health, LR 19: 1431 (November 1993) amended LR 28:0000 (April 2002).

2209. Hearing Screening Procedures

A. Personnel. Hearing screening will only be performed by:

1. Board eligible or board certified physicians with special training in auditory brainstem
response testing and/or otoacoustic emissions and in infant hearing testing. Evidence of training
must be submitted to the office.

2. Audiologists licensed by the Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech Pathology and
Audiology with special training in auditory brainstem response testing and/or otoacoustic
emissions testing and in infant hearing testing. Evidence of training must be submitted to the
office.

3. Persons trained and supervised by personnel meeting requirements for 2209.A.1 or 2
above.

A. A board-certified or board-eligible physician or licensed audiologist who is supervising
another individual performing hearing screening must at least be accessible by telephone while
the screenings are being performed, review a percentage of the screening documentation and
copies of the newborn hearing screening report and perform periodic direct observation of each
individual at least once per month as they perform hearing screenings. After an individual
supervised by an audiologist or physician has performed hearing screening under the above
supervision for one year, direct observation every three months is required.

NOTE: To minimize liability it is recommended that the standard for special training be by
an accredited medical or educational institution and include sufficient practicum for proficiency.
Any deviation from this recommended standard may increase liability.

B. Test Procedures. The following test procedures are the only acceptable methods for
use in infant hearing screening:
1. Auditory Brainstem Response (ABR) either automated or non-automated.
2. Evoked Otoacoustic Emission (EOAE)
3. Test levels, failure criteria and all other test parameters are set by protocols
established by the office, upon recommendations of the State Advisory Council.
C. Test Environment. The facility providing the hearing screening tests shall make all
efforts possible to insure testing is conducted in a quiet environment.
D. Calibration of Equipment, Hearing screening equipment shall be calibrated annually
and documentation maintained at the screening site.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 46:2261-2267.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Public
Health, LR 19: 1431 (November 1993) amended LR 28:0000 (April 2002).

2210. REFERRAL AND FOLLOW-UP
A. Referrals for infants failing screening must be made to the infant’s primary care physician
and a licensed audiologist within 7 days of discharge by the birthing center.
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B. Appropriate protocols and standards for diagnostic evaluations to determine hearing loss
shall be established by the office, upon recommendations of the State Advisory Council.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 46:2261-2267.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Public
Health, LR 19: 1431 (November 1993) amended LR 28:0000 (April 2002).

2211. Confidentiality of Information
All information on the individual newborn hearing screening report is considered confidential
and cannot be released by the office, the hospital or the primary health care facility without the
parent or guardian’s written informed consent.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 46:2261-2267.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of
Public Health, LR 19: 1431 (November 1993) amended LR 28:0000 (April 2002).

2213. Risk Registry and Tracking

A. The office will maintain a risk registry to include information on all live births and infants
identified as at risk for hearing loss.

B. The office will track at-risk infants who fail or do not receive hearing screening prior to
hospital discharge. Assistance will be provided for service referrals when necessary.

C. The office will track and notify parents of infants and children at risk for progressive loss
of the appropriate procedures for follow-up testing and monitoring of their child’s hearing until
age 5.

D. The office will develop a system of reporting diagnosis of hearing loss by primary
healthcare providers, audiologists, and parents for children up to age 5.

E. The office will disseminate statistical reports regarding the number of infants tested and
the number with diagnosed hearing loss to the Louisiana commission for the Deaf, the
Louisiana School for the Deaf, the Department of Education, and other interested parties on an
annual basis.

F. Infants and children diagnosed with hearing loss shall be referred to appropriate
agencies for rehabilitation and education services parental/caregiver consent. For infants and
toddlers, up to age 3 with diagnosed hearing loss, referral to Early Steps shall be made for early
intervention services.

G. Non-compliance and penalties:

1.. The State Advisory Council shall recommend to the office methods of monitoring
hospitals, physicians and audiologists for compliance with all sections of this statute.

2. The State Advisory Council shall report any hospital, physician or audiologist found
to be non-compliant to the appropriate licensing, regulatory or other appropriate agency.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 46:2261-2267.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of
Public Health, LR 19:1432 (November 1993) amended LR 28:0000 (April 2002).

David W. Hood
Secretary
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Appendix A3:

Hearing Aid Legislation

Enrolled as ACT No. 816

Regular Session, 2003

SENATE BILL NO. 408

BY SENATORS GAUTREAUX AND HINES AND REPRESENTATIVES FAUCHEUX, MURRAY AND
PEYCHAUD

AN ACT

To enact R.S. 22:215.24, relative to health insurance; to provide hearing aid coverage for minor children; and to
provide for related matters.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of Louisiana: Section 1. R.S. 22:215.24 is hereby enacted to read as follows:

§215.24. Hearing aid coverage for minor child R.S. 22:215.24 is all new law.

A. As used in this Section, "hearing aid" shall mean a non-disposable device that is of a design and
circuitry to optimize audibility and listening skills in the environment commonly experienced by children.

B. This Section shall apply to the following entities:

(1) Insurers and nonprofit health service plans, including the office of group benefits, that provide hospital,
medical, or surgical benefits to individuals or groups on an expense-incurred basis under health insurance policies or
contracts that are issued or delivered in this state.

(2) Health maintenance organizations as defined and licensed pursuant to Part XI1I of Chapter 2 of this Title
that provide hospital, medical, or surgical benefits to individuals or groups under contracts that are issued or
delivered in this state.

C.(1) Notwithstanding the provisions of Act No. 1115 which originated as House Bill No. 1606 of the 2003
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature to the contrary, an entity subject to this Section shall provide coverage
for hearing aids for a child under the age of eighteen who is covered under a policy or contract of insurance if the
hearing aids are fitted and dispensed by a licensed audiologist or licensed hearing aid specialist following medical
clearance by a physician licensed to practice medicine and an audiological evaluation medically appropriate to the
age of the child.

(2)(i) An entity subject to this Section may limit the benefit payable under Paragraph (1) of this Subsection
to one thousand and four hundred dollars per hearing aid for each hearing-impaired ear every thirty-six
months.

(ii) An insured or enrolled individual may choose a hearing aid that is priced higher than the benefit
payable under this Subsection and may pay the difference between the price of the hearing aid and the benefit
payable under this Subsection without financial or contractual penalty to the provider of the hearing aid.

(iii) In the case of a health insurer or health maintenance organization that administers benefits according to
contracts with health care providers, hearing aids covered pursuant to this Section shall be obtained from health care
providers contracted with the health insurer or health maintenance organization. Such providers shall be subject to
the same contracting and credentialing requirements that apply to other contracted health care providers.

D. This Section does not prohibit an entity subject to the provisions of this Section from providing
coverage that is greater or more favorable to an insured or enrolled individual than the coverage required under this
Section.

E. The provisions of this Section shall apply to any new policy, contract, program,
or plan issued by an entity subject to the provisions of this Section on or after January 1, 2004. Any such policy,
contract, program, or plan in effect prior to January 1, 2004 shall convert to the provisions of this Section on or
before the renewal date thereof but in
no event later than January 1, 2005. Any policy affected by the provisions of this Section shall apply to an insured or
participant under such policy, contract, program or plan whether or not the hearing impairment is a pre-existing
condition of the insured or participant.

F. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to individually underwritten, guaranteed renewable limited
benefit health insurance policies.
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Appendix B: Joint Committee on Infant Hearing

1. Joint Committee on Infant Hearing 2007 Position Paper Summary

2. Risk Factors Associated with Permanent Congenital, Delayed-onset or
Progressive Hearing loss in Childhood
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Appendix B1:

Joint Committee on Infant Hearing 2007 Summary

Following are the principles of the Joint Committee on Infant Hearing
(JCIH) 2007 Position Statement:

¢ Allinfants will have access to a newborn hearing screening test using physiologic
measures before 1 month of age.

¢ Allinfants who do not pass the initial hearing screening and the subsequent
rescreening should have appropriate diagnostic audiologic evaluation by an
audiologist trained in infant testing and a medical evaluation to confirm the presence
of hearing loss before 3 months of age.

¢ All infants with confirmed permanent hearing loss should receive intervention service
including amplification if warranted before 6 months of age.

¢ A simplified, single point of entry into an intervention system appropriate to children
with hearing loss is optimal.

e The EHDI system should be family-centered with infant and family rights and privacy
guaranteed through informed choice, shared decision making, and parental consent.

e Families should have access to information about all intervention and treatment
options and counseling regarding hearing loss.

¢ The child and family should have immediate access to high-quality technology,
including hearing aids, cochlear implants, and other assistive devices when
appropriate.

¢ Allinfants and children should be monitored for hearing loss in the medical home.
Continued assessment of hearing and communication development should be
provided by appropriate providers to all children with or without risk indicators for
hearing loss at specified intervals.

e Appropriate interdisciplinary intervention programs for deaf and hard of hearing
infants and their families should be provided by professionals knowledgeable about
childhood hearing loss. Intervention programs should recognize and build on
strengths, informed choices, traditions, and cultural beliefs of the families.
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Appendix B2:

RISK INDICATORS ASSOCIATED WITH PERMANENT
CONGENITAL, DELAYED-ONSET OR PROGRESSIVE
HEARING LOSS IN CHILDHOOD

(Joint Committee on Infant Hearing Position Statement, 2007)

The timing and number of hearing reevaluations for children with risk factors should be
customized and individualized depending on the relative likelihood of a subsequent

delayed-onset hearing loss.

Risk indicators that are in bold print are of greater concern for delayed-onset
hearing loss and will need close audiologic monitoring. The previous 2000 JCIH
position statement recommended every 6 months for the first three years.

Infants who pass the neonatal screening but have any of the other risk factor
should have at least 1 diagnostic audiology assessment by 24 to 30 months
of age.

Risk Indicators:

1. Caregiver concern regarding hearing, speech, language, or developmental delay.
2. Family history of permanent childhood hearing loss. If a blood relative of the infant
had a permanent hearing loss from birth or which began in early childhood and needed
a hearing aid or special schooling for the hearing-impaired. This DOES NOT include
hearing loss due to illness, ear infections, or aging.

3. Neonatal intensive care of more than 5 days or any of the following regardless of
length of stay: ECMO, assisted ventilation, exposure to ototoxic medications
(gentamicin and tobramicin) or loop diuretics (Furosemide/Lasix), and
hyperbilirubinemia that requires exchange transfusion.

4. In utero infections, such as CMV, herpes, rubella, syphilis, and toxoplasmosis.

5. Craniofacial anomalies, including those that involve the pinna, ear canal, ear tags,
ear pits, and temporal bone anomalies.

6. Physical findings, such as white forelock, that are associated with a
syndrome known to include a sensorineural or permanent conductive hearing loss.
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7. Syndromes associated with hearing loss or progressive or late-onset hearing
loss, such as neurofibromatosis, osteopetrosis, and Usher syndrome; other frequently
identified syndromes include Waardenburg, Alport, Pendred, and Jervell and Lange-
Nielson.

8. Neurodegenerative disorders, such as Hunter syndrome, or sensory motor
neuropathies, such as Friedreich ataxia and Charcot-Marie-Tooth syndrome.

9. Culture-positive postnatal infections associated with sensorineural hearing
loss, including confirmed bacterial and viral (especially herpes viruses and varicella)
meningitis.

10. Head trauma, especially basal skull/temporal bone fracture that requires
hospitalization.

11. Chemotherapy.
APPENDIX 1 Algorithm for Hearing Screening. Available at:

http://www.medicalhomeinfo.org/screening/Screen%20Materials/Algorithm.pdf
e PEDIATRICS Volume 120, Number 4, October 2007
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