Safe Drinking Water Fee - Act 605

Act 605 of the 2016 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature was enacted authorizing an increase in the Safe Drinking Water fee beginning on January 1, 2017.  The current fee will be increased from $3.20 per connection per year for community water systems to $12.00 per connection per year minus five percent per connection to be retained by the water system.  There were no changes made to the annual flat rate of $100 for non-community water systems.

In addition to the increase in the fee for community water systems, the Act included changes to the billing and remittance of the fee to the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH).  Beginning January 1, 2017, the fee shall be collected from each consumer by the community water system in no less than quarterly installments and remitted to the LDH in quarterly payments minus five percent per connection to be retained by the water system.  LDH will send quarterly invoices to water systems with the new fee in place.

With the increase of the SDW fee, additional services will be provided to water systems at no additional costs.  Beginning January 1, 2017, the Safe Drinking Water Program will reinstate the bacteriological sample collection program for all public water systems statewide.  Additionally, the Safe Drinking Water Program will begin to collect and analyze the total trihalomethanes (TTHMs) and haloacetic acids (HAA5) samples for water systems statewide.

RTCR Sample Collection(Water System)- List of water systems choosing to collect their own monthly bacteriological samples

RTCR Sample Collection(State)- List of water systems choosing to have the State collect monthly bacteriological samples