Request A Birth or Death Certificate

What type of certificate are you requesting?

 

 

                    Birth Certificate                                                                                             Death Certificate

 

 

The Louisiana Vital Records Registry ONLY maintains birth and death records that occurred in Louisiana. If you need a certified copy of a birth or death certificate from another state, you must contact that state's vital records office.

Under Louisiana law, birth records are strictly confidential until 100 years after the year of birth and death records are strictly confidential until 50 years after the year of the death. Birth records older than 100 years and death records older than 50 years are available at the Louisiana State Archives.