Ambulance Standards 

The Louisiana Department of Health, Office of Public Health, Bureau of EMS has the responsibility of licensing EMS providers, practitioners, and vehicles functioning in the State of Louisiana that are subject to licensing statutes. Emergency Medical Services providers (ambulance services) are licensed by the Louisiana Department of Health, Office of Public Health, Bureau of EMS.  This includes both ground and air ambulance services. In addition, all emergency medical vehicles (ambulances, air ambulances, emergency medical response and sprint vehicles) are required to be licensed by LDH.

 "Ambulance" means any authorized emergency vehicle, equipped with warning devices, designed and operated as a part of a regular course of conduct or business to transport a sick or injured  individual or which is advertised or otherwise held out to the public as such.  "Ambulance" shall not mean a hearse or other funeral home vehicle utilized for the transportation of the dead.  "Ambulance service" or "ambulance provider" means any person, firm, association, or government entity owning, controlling, or operating any business or service which furnishes, operates, conducts, maintains, advertises, engages in, proposes to engage in, or professes to engage in the business or service of transporting, in ambulances, individuals who may need medical attention during transport.

The mission of the Ambulance Standard section of the Bureau of EMS is to enforce regulatory compliance of EMS agencies within the State of Louisiana.  This is accomplished through periodic surveys/inspections of the providers that are licensed and/or certified to operate in Louisiana.  All inspectors have earned, or are in the process of earning, certification from the Council on Licensure, Enforcement, and Regulation (CLEAR).

The Bureau of EMS also investigates complaints received regarding allegations of abuse, neglect, exploitation, and extortion, and noncompliance with federal and/or state regulations, which fall under the purview of the state survey agency.

 

Licensure  

Initial Licensure- EMS Provider   

Emergency Medical Services providers shall be licensed by the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH).  LDH is the only licensing authority for EMS providers in the State.  It shall be unlawful to operate as an EMS Provider without possessing a current, valid license issued by LDH.

A completed initial license application packet for an EMS provider shall be submitted to, and approved by, LDH prior to an applicant functioning as an Emergency Medical Services provider.  

An initial licensing packet includes the following:

  • Completed Emergency Medical Services Provider licensure application; (Initial License Application)
  • Non-refundable licensing fee of $150 plus $75 per vehicle ambulance, sprint, or aircraft; 
  • Written declaration of the service area and a map of the service area;
  • Attach copies of all pertinent municipal and parish licenses and permits including Certificates of Need if they apply;
  • List of all ambulance stations – include complete geographical address including zip code;
  • List of all EMS Practitioners and/or employees that are certified or licensed personnel, including National Certification number and expiration (if applicable), Louisiana license number and expiration date, driver’s license number and expiration date, CPR type and expiration date, pilot’s license number and expiration date (EMS Practitioner Credentials);
  • List name of medical director and that such director is a physician licensed to practice medicine by the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners;
  • List of all vehicles: ambulance and sprint vehicles include VIN, make, year, model, type, license plate number, unit (fender) number;
  • Certificates of Insurance: Medical Malpractice, Automobile Liability, General Liability - We do not accept Louisiana Automobile Insurance Identification Cards;
  • Copy of current medical protocols signed by the physician/medical director accompanied by a cover letter from the appropriate parish or component medical society or societies for use in their service area.  An electronic copy may be submitted;
  • A copy of their standard operating procedures.  An electronic copy may be submitted;
  • A copy of the services current equipment and supply checklist;
  • Attach a copy of your current CLIA Waiver certificate, Louisiana CDS license, and United States Drug Enforcement Administration Controlled Substance registration;
  • Attach a copy of the Articles of Incorporation;
  • Attach a copy of the Act of Sale or other Act of Transfer;
  • Copy of the applicant’s criminal background check from the Louisiana State Police, and proof of United States or legal resident alien status from the United States Department of Homeland Security;
  • For air ambulance services only:  FAA Part 135 Certificate, FAA Aircraft Certificate of Registration*, FAA Certificate of Airworthiness*, FAA pilot’s license (for each pilot) (*denotes that one is required for each aircraft).

The applicant must be prepared to be operational for an initial inspection within 90 days after payment of the application fee.  If the applicant is unable to do so, the application will be closed.

Prior to the initial license being issued to the provider, an initial licensing inspection shall be conducted on-site at the ambulance provider to assure compliance with licensing standards and appropriate federal, state or local statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, and regulations.

Until the initial license is issued to the provider by the department, no patient shall be provided ambulance services.

 

Re-Licensure- Emergency Medical Services Provider 

An ambulance service must be renewed annually.  In order to renew a license, the EMTS provider shall submit a completed license renewal application packet to the department at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the existing current license.

The license renewal application packet shall include:

  1. A completed EMS Provider license renewal application
  2. A non-refundable licensing fee of $100 plus $75 per vehicle ambulance, sprint, or aircraft
  3. List of all EMS Practitioners and/or employees that are certified or licensed personnel, including National Certification number and expiration (if applicable), Louisiana license number and expiration date, driver’s license number and expiration date, CPR type and expiration date, pilot’s license number and expiration date (EMS Practitioner Credentials);
  4. List of all ambulance stations – include complete geographical address including zip code
  5. List of all vehicles: ambulance and sprint vehicles include VIN, make, year, model, type, license plate number, unit (fender) number
  6. Certificates of Insurance: Medical Malpractice, Automobile Liability, General Liability- We do not accept Louisiana Automobile Insurance Identification Cards
  7. If there have been any changes in the medical protocols since the last renewal send an electronic copy of current medical protocols, signed by the physician/medical director and accompanied by a cover letter from the appropriate parish or component medical society or societies for use in their service area.
  8. Send a current electronic copy of the standard operating procedures if there have been any changes since the last renewal
  9. For air ambulance services only:  FAA Part 135 Certificate, FAA Aircraft Certificate of Registration*, FAA Certificate of Airworthiness*, FAA pilot’s license (for each pilot) (*denotes that one is required for each aircraft). A copy of their standard operating procedures.  An electronic copy may be submitted;
  10. A copy of the services current equipment and supply checklist;

Failure to submit to the department a completed license renewal application packet prior to the expiration of the current license will result in the voluntary non-renewal of the EMS provider license.

 

EMS Provider Fleet Addition or Temporary Vehicle 

Fleet Addition 

All additions to your fleet (ground, air, or sprint), whether permanent or temporary must be reported to the department and “permitted” for use prior to the vehicle being used to run calls and transport patients. 

Submit the following:

  1. Completed Request for Inspection Form
  2. Copy of the certificate of registration from the office of Motor Vehicles or the Federal Aviation Administration
  3. Proof of commercial automobile or aircraft liability insurance on the vehicle
  4. $75.00 per vehicle inspection fee

Temporary Vehicles 

Any vehicle borrowed, leased or rented by the service for less than 90 days shall not be subject to a vehicle inspection fee.  All vehicles shall be subject to compliance with the minimum licensing regulations for EMS providers and are issued a temporary notice of approval for use.  The temporary approval shall be carried in the vehicle at all times.

Submit the following:

  1. Request to Utilize Temporary Vehicle form

 

Bureau of EMS Payment Procedure 

All documents and payments (in the form of a money order or company check) must be mailed to the same location:

Bureau of EMS

Attn: Compliance Coordinator

7273 Florida Blvd.

Baton Rouge, LA 70806

Significant Changes in Operation 

EMS Provider Physical Address of the Headquarters   

Please submit the following to complete this process:

  1. A "Letter of Intent" describing the specifics of the change (address changed from and to) that has occurred and the effective date of that change
  2. A completed license application 
  3. The fee of $100

 

EMS Provider Agency Name Change Process 

Please submit the following to complete this process:

  1. A "Letter of Intent" describing the specifics of the change that has occurred and the effective date of that change
  2. A completed license application 
  3. The fee of $25
  4. A copy of the documents or articles of incorporation from the Secretary of State's Office indicating the change

 

Substation changes   

Phone number, 24-hour contact procedure, address or phone number of any substation or the addition of any substations, insurance coverage

 

EMS Provider Key Administrative Personnel Change 

Any change regarding the facility's key administrative personnel shall be reported in writing to the department within five working days of the change.

Key administrative personnel include the following:

  1. Administrator
  2. Director of Operations
  3. Medical Director

Key administrative personnel changes should be reported by completing and submitting the Key Personnel Change Form. 

 

EMS Provider Cessation of Business 

  1. If at any time the ambulance service is no longer operational, for any reason other than man-made or natural disaster, the license shall be deemed to be invalid and shall be returned to the department within five working day.
  2. The agency owner shall be responsible for notifying the department of the location of all records and a contact person.
  3. All emergency vehicles no longer in use shall have all audible and visible warning signals and markings indicating their emergency status removed.

 

EMS Provider Change in Service Area 

Expansion of Service Areas 

An ambulances service area is that territory which the ambulance provider renders services, has vehicles posted or domiciled, and is legally authorized by the local governing body(ies) to provide services.

  1. If an ambulance provider wishes to expand into additional service areas, he must notify the department at least 72 hours in advance.
  2. The provider shall also provide a copy of all necessary local permits and licenses or other legal clearances.
  3. Within 90 days of moving into a new territory, the ambulance service shall furnish the department with a copy of the necessary protocol approvals by the appropriate parish or component medical society in accordance with RS 40:1234E.1.

Withdrawal from a Service Area 

  1. If an ambulance service withdraws from a territory, it must notify the department at least 30 days in advance.
  2. It must provide the department with evidence that it has notified the appropriate local authorities that it will no longer be providing ambulance service in the area.

 

Bureau of EMS Change of Ownership Information: EMS Provider 

Providers must complete this document when they have a change in their ownership structure. This document would be used for both a change of ownership (CHOW) as defined by state and/or federal regulations, or a change of ownership information (CHOI) that does not meet the state and/or federal regulations CHOW definition.

For the Bureau of EMS to make a CHOW/CHOI determination, all providers must submit the following documents:

  1. *Letter of Intent (including d/b/a and entity name of the previous and the new owner, the effective date of transfer of ownership, address and phone number)
  2. *A diagram showing the ownership structure “before” and “after” the change
  3. *Copy of the executed Bill of Sale
  4. Initial License Application  

If this action is a CHOI, the documents above are the only documents you need to submit. There is no fee for CHOI.

If this action is a CHOW, the following documents are also needed:

  1. *Licensing Fee: Click here for the link for the Bureau of EMS’ EMS Provider Fee Schedule

Additional Documents Required:

  1. Service Area description including map
  2. Notarized certificate of insurance verifying proof of required automobile or aircraft liability insurance (Medical Malpractice, automobile and general liability)
  3. A copy of all medical protocols signed by the physician/medical director with their prescribed approvals by the parish or component medical society, and/or the LERN (electronic copies are acceptable);
  4. Proof that the provider has a Medical Director and such director is a physician licensed to practice by the LSBME and who has responsibility and authority to ensure quality of care and provide guidance for all medical aspects of EMS;
  5. Copies of key personnel certifications and professional licensure(s), inclusive of the director of operations and the medical director;
  6. For providers of advanced life support, verification that the provider possesses a LA controlled substance license and a U.S. DEA controlled substance registration;
  7. List of all units: Ambulance and Sprint Vehicles include VIN, make, year model, type, GVW, license plate number, unit (fender) number, and mileage.
  8. For ground transportation providers, a copy of the certification of registration from the Office of Motor Vehicles
  9. For air ambulances provider, a copy of the FAA Part 135 Commercial air Taxi Certificate;
  10. List of all ambulance stations:  include complete geographical address, including zip code;
  11. Proof that the ambulance holds a CLIA certificate commensurate with the level of testing performed;
  12. Documentation that the applicant is in compliance with the criminal history check requirements of R.S. 40:12031-12035;
  13. A copy of all necessary local permits and licenses to operate in a service area.
  14. A copy of the services current equipment and supply checklist.

 

Complaints

Click here to complete the Complaint Form

Listing of EMS Providers 

Click here for a Directory of EMS Providers

  

Forms & Documents

Click the links below for printable/editable forms:

Ambulance  Equipment and Supply List

Ambulance Vehicle Maintenance Report

Sprint Vehicle Maintenance Report

Sprint Equipment and Supply List

Initial License Application

License Renewal Application

Request for Inspection

Credential Checklist

Licensing Survey Report

Request to Utilize Temporary Vehicle