Information About Birth Records

The Louisiana Vital Records Registry maintains birth records ONLY for births that occurred in Louisiana. If you need a certified copy of a birth certificate from another state, you must contact that state's vital records office.

Under Louisiana law, birth records are strictly confidential until 100 years after the year of birth. Birth records older than 100 years are available at the Louisiana State Archives.