Vital Records Service Fees
Vital Records fees are set by statute and are subject to change during any Legislative Session. They are not subject to waiver. Most fees are enumerated in LSA - R.S. 40:40. The current service fees for Vital Records are as follows:
A $0.50 state charge must be added to each mail-in or VitalChek order.
Internet, phone, or kiosk orders placed through VitalChek are subject to an additional Security Fee.
$15.00 per copy
|Birth Certificate plus Birth Card (short form)||$24.00/pair|
|Death Certificate||$7.00 per copy|
|Orleans Parish Marriage Certificate||$5.00 per copy|
|Evidentiary Document||$10.00 per copy|
|Clerk of Court issued Short-Form Birth Certification Card/Long-Form Birth Certificate combo (only sold as pair)||$48.00 per pair|
|Clerk of Court issued Long-Form Birth Certificate||$34.00 per copy|
|Clerk of Court issued Death Certificate||$26.00 per copy|
|Orleans Parish Marriage License||$27.50|
|Delayed Certificate Filing||$27.50*|
|Amendment of Birth Record||$27.50*|
|Amendment of Death Record||
|Amendment of Marriage License||$23.50|
|Putative Father Registry Certificate||$10.00|
*Includes one certified copy of the new record
Fees for mail-in services are payable by check or money order. A $0.50 state charge must be added to each mail or VitalChek order. Checks and money orders should be made payable to "Louisiana Vital Records."
Fees for walk-in services at the Vital Records Central Office and all Vital Records Service Centers are payable by cash, check or money order. Checks and money orders should be made payable to "Louisiana Vital Records."
Fees for kiosk services at specified kiosk locations are payable by debit/credit card or check. A security fee and shipping fee will be added to each order (shipping fee waived for will-call pickup at Vital Records Central Office in New Orleans). Checks should be made payable to "Louisiana Vital Records."
Louisiana law specifically provides that in instances where a document order is placed but no record is on file, the fee shall be retained to cover the expense of the search for the record [LSA R.S. 40:40(12)]. A full record search covers the year cited by the applicant and two years prior to and two years following that date.
Louisiana law specifically provides that a non-refundable fee of eighteen dollars ($18.00) shall be charged for any correction of a vital event record except amendment fees that are initiated by the requestor within 90 days of the date the record is registered [LSA R.S. 40:40(10)]. The fee is due at the time the document amendment is submitted. If the requestor abandons the case before the amendment is completed or is unable to meet administrative or judicial document amendment requirements, the fee is retained to cover the cost of processing the case to that point.
Inactive cases are closed out after six (6) months of inactivity and all documents are returned to the requestor.