
 

Health Standards Section 

Initial Licensing Checklist for Behavioral Health Service Provider (BHSP) 

Name of provider: Groups Recover Together 

INITIAL LICENSING APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS 
 

Criteria (Each of these must be attached in order for your application to be processed): Yes No NA 

FNR Approval Letter, only for CPS and/ or PSR services and/ or residential substance 

abuse that treats anyone other than women and adolescents.  

   

A letter of intent detailing the type of BHS provider operated by the licensee and the types of 
services or specializations that will be provided by the BHS provider (e.g. addiction treatment 
program, mental health program, residential provider, outpatient provider, opioid treatment 
program)  

   

A completed BHS provider licensure application.     

The non-refundable licensing fee established by statute, copy of the check and completed 
Transmittal Form.  
Mail Payment and Payment Transmittal Form to:  
DHH Licensing Payments, P.O. Box 734350, Dallas, TX 75373 
 

   

The LDH plan review approval letter from Office of State Fire Marshal, (OSFM). (will have 

DH-##-###) 

   

Attestation for compliance with each of the OSFM DH plan review Cautionary codes.     

The on-site inspection report with approval for occupancy by the OSFM.    

The health inspection report with recommendation for licensure from the Office of Public 

Health, (OPH).  

NOTE: All providers offering any ASAM Level service or Opioid Treatment Program must 

register as a “Substance Abuse Facility” with OPH. 

Providers offering the following services shall be registered with OPH as “Mental Health 

Rehab Counseling Office”: Mental Health Services Program/ Clinic, Psychosocial 

Rehabilitation Services Program, Crisis Intervention Program, Community Psychiatric 

Support and Treatment Program, Mental Health Intensive Outpatient Programs (MHIOPs), 

Mobile Crisis Response. 

   

A current (within 90 days prior to the submission of the application packet) statewide criminal 

background check, including sex offender registry status, on all owners and managing 

employees. All criminal background checks be completed by a Louisiana State Police 

Authorized Agency.  

NOTE: All other staff must have the appropriate criminal background check completed per the 

regulations and available onsite for the Initial Licensing Survey.  

   

Except for governmental entities, proof of financial viability. Provide verification and 

continuous maintenance of all of the following pursuant to R.S. 40:2153: 

   

1) A line of credit issued from a federally insured, licensed lending institution in the 
amount of at least $50,000; 

   

2) Proof of professional liability insurance of at least $500,000 or proof of self-insurance 

of at least $100,000, along with proof of enrollment as a qualified health care provider 

with the Louisiana Patient's Compensation Fund (PCF): a. if the BHS provider is self-

insured and is not enrolled in the PCF, professional liability limits shall be $1 million 

per occurrence/$3 million per annual aggregate. 

NOTE: the LDH-HSS shall specifically be identified as the certificate holder on any 

policies and any certificates of insurance issued as proof of insurance by the insurer or 

producer (agent). 

Specifically: LDH Health Standards Section, PO Box 3767, Baton Rouge, La. 70821 

   

3) Proof of workers' compensation insurance; and 
NOTE: the LDH-HSS shall specifically be identified as the certificate holder on any 
policies and any certificates of insurance issued as proof of insurance by the insurer or 
producer (agent). 

Specifically: LDH Health Standards Section, PO Box 3767, Baton Rouge, La. 70821 

   



4) Proof of general liability insurance of at least $500,000. 
NOTE: the LDH-HSS shall specifically be identified as the certificate holder on any 
policies and any certificates of insurance issued as proof of insurance by the insurer or 
producer (agent). 

Specifically: LDH Health Standards Section, PO Box 3767, Baton Rouge, La. 70821 

   

An organizational chart and names, including position titles of key administrative personnel 

and governing body. Sample Org.  

   

A legible floor sketch or drawing of the premises to be licensed with documented room 

dimensions and identified service areas.  

   

If operated by a corporate entity, such as a corporation or a limited liability company, current 

proof of registration and status with the Louisiana Secretary of State. 

   

Disclosure of Ownership form.     

Documentation for opioid treatment programs, such as a copy of the OBH FNA letter.    

Any other documentation or information required by the department for licensure.    

For a residential substance use disorder facility, submission of the attestation in accordance 

with §5712 of this Rule.  

NOTE: By answering the questions on page 2 of the application, this serves as your 

attestation.  

   

  Please email all documents (Except actual payment as noted above) to: HSS-

BHSProviders@la.gov 
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