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What to know after Rape or Sexual Assault

You are not alone!

Emergency room health professionals and counselors from
the Rape Crisis Center (Sexual Assault Response Team)
are here to help you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. These
services are firee and private.

You do not have to go through this alone. Ask the nurse or
doctor at this healthcare facility to contact a rape counselor
(sexual assault advocate). This counselor will talk to you about
all of your options. She can explain what choices you have
and help you make decisions that you are comfortable with.

The health care providers and rape counselors
will care for you with dignity and compassion.
These are some important things you should know:

» You do not have to report your assault to the police to get
a medical rape exam.

» The health care providers here will tell you about any
examinations, procedures or treatments before you choose
to have them. You have the right not to do any of them.

» You may have someone with you when you talk to the
police if you decide to report it.

» All of your information will be kept private.

The law does not allow a hospital or health care
provider to bill you for services related to rape.

Medical exams and related services are free. They include:

» Lab tests and screenings related to the exam;
» Medicine provided during the exam,;

» Services related to the exam.

If you get a bill or have questions about a bill,
call the Louisiana Department of Health at
(225) 342-9500. Press 7 when prompted.

If you have insurance, with your consent,
the provider may bill your health
insurance company.

» Louisiana law states that you do not have to pay anything.

» Your insurance company will only send an explanation of
what services you were billed for to an address you choose.
You may decide you do not want this.

» The provider may also bill Medicaid, Medicare or
Tricare if you are enrolled in one of these.

If you get a bill for services other than the medical rape
exam, you may be able to get these bills paid by the Crime
Victims Reparations Board. For information about what
costs are covered or how to apply for help, visit their
website at www.lcle.state.la.us/programs/cvr.asp or

call (888) 6-VICTIM (888-684-2846).

Important numbers

» National Sexual Assault Hotline
(800) 656-4673

» Crime Victims Reparations Board
(888) 684-2846

» Louisiana Department of Health
(225) 342-9500. Press 7 when prompted



