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Reference Number: LA.CP.MP.508c Coding Implications
Date of Last Revision: 041/232022 Revision Log

See Important Reminder at the end of this policy for important regulatory and legal
information.

Background Information- Personal care services (PCS) include assistance and/or supervision
necessary for members/enrollees with mental illness to enable them to accomplish routine tasks
and live independently in their own homes. Louisiana Health Care Connections provides

coverage for PCS services based on the application of medical necessity criteria and submission
of all required documentation.

Description

ive-Provider and Direct care Staff Qualifications
A. The Provider Agency Mmust aAdhere to the following cGriteria:
1. Belicensed by LDH as a Home and Community Based Service provider/Personal
Care Attendant agency per Revised Statute 40:2120.1 et seq. and LAC 48:1.

Chapter 50.

A

2. Arrange for and maintain documentation that all persons, prior to employment,
pass criminal background checks through the Louisiana Department of Public
Safety, State Police. If the results of any criminal background check reveal that
the potential employee (or contractor) was convicted of any offenses against a
child/youth or an elderly or disabled person, the provider shall not hire and/or
shall terminate the employment (or contract) of such individual. The provider
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shall not hire an individual with a record as a sex offender nor permit these
individuals to work for the provider as a subcontractor. Criminal background
checks must be performed as required by R.S. 40:1203 et seq., and in accordance
with R.S. 15:587 et seq. Criminal background checks performed over 30 days
prior to date of employment will not be accepted as meeting this requirement.

3. Arrange for and maintain documentation that all persons, prior to employment,
are free from TB in a communicable state as defined by the LAC 51:11.Chapter 5
to reduce the risk of such infections in recipients and staff. Results from testing
performed over 30 days prior to date of employment will not be accepted as
meeting this requirement.

4. Establish and maintain written policies and procedures inclusive of drug testing
staff to ensure an alcohol and drug-free workplace and a workforce free of
substance use (See Appendix D located in the LDH Behavioral Health Provider

manual).

5. Maintain documentation that all direct care staff, who are required to complete
First Aid and CPR training, complete a training with a curriculum based on
guidelines published by the American Heart Association (AHA) within 90 days
of hire, which shall be renewed within a time period recommended by the AHA
(Located in the LDH Behavioral Health Provider manual).}

6. Review the Department of Health and Human Services’ Office of Inspector
General (OIG) List of Excluded Individuals and Entities (LEIE) and the LDH
State Adverse Actions website prior to hiring or contracting any employee or
contractor that performs services that are compensated with Medicaid/Medicare
funds including, but not limited to, licensed and unlicensed staff, interns and
contractors.

i. Once employed, the lists must be checked once a month thereafter to
determine if there is a finding that an employee or contractor has abused,
neglected or extorted any individual or if they have been excluded from
participation in the Medicaid or Medicare Program by Louisiana
Medicaid or the Department of Health and Human Services’ Office of
Inspector General. The provider is prohibited from knowingly employing
or contracting with, or retaining the employment of or contract with,
anyone who has a negative finding placed on the Louisiana State Adverse
Action List, or who have been excluded from participation in the
Medicaid or Medicare Program by Louisiana Medicaid or the Department
of Health and Human Services’ Office of Inspector General.

ii. _Providers are required to maintain results in personnel records that
checks have been completed. The OIG maintains the LEIE on the OIG
website (https://exclusions.oig.hhs.gov) and the LDH Adverse Action
website is located at https://adverseactions.ldh.la.gov/SelSearch.-
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7. Ensure and maintain documentation that all unlicensed persons employed by the

organization complete a documented training in a recognized Crisis Intervention
curriculum prior to handling or managing crisis responses, which shall be
updated annually.

Maintain documentation of verification of completion of required trainings for all

staff.

B. Allowed Provider Types and Specialties:

1. PT 24 Personal Care Attendant Agency:

a. PS5A (PCS-LTC) or 5D (PCS-LTC/EPSDT)

b. Provider Subspecialty 8E CSoC/Behavioral Health

2. PT 24 Personal Care Attendant Agency, PS 8E CSoC/Behavioral Health

C. The Direct Care Staff must meet the following qualifications:

1.

Be at least 18 years of age.

2.

Have a high school diploma, general equivalency diploma or trade school diploma

in the area of human services (See Appendix B located in the LDH Behavioral
Health Services Provider Manual.), or demonstrate competency or verifiable work
experience in providing support to persons with disabilities.

Pass criminal and professional background checks through the Louisiana

Department of Public Safety, State Police prior to employment.

Pass a TB test prior to employment in accordance with the LAC 51:11.Chapter 5;

OR be free from Tuberculosis (TB) in a communicable state as defined by the
LAC 51:11.Chapter 5.-

Pass drug screen testing as required by agency’s policies and procedures.

Complete a basic clinical competency training program approved by OBH prior to

providing services. Psychiatrists and LMHPs are exempt from this training.
(Located in the LDH Behavioral Health Provider manual)l.

Complete First Aid and CPR training with a curriculum based on quidelines

published by the American Heart Association (AHA). Psychiatrists,
APRNSs/CNSs/PAs, RNs and LPNs are exempt from this training (Located in the
LDH Behavioral Health Provider manual)}.-

Pass a motor vehicle screen.

Not be excluded from participation in the Medicaid or Medicare Program by

Louisiana Medicaid or the Department of Health and Human Services’ Office of
Inspector General.
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10. Not have a finding on the Louisiana State Adverse Action List.

11. Possess and provide documentation of a valid social security number.

12. Comply with law established by R.S. 40:2179 et seg. and R.S. 40:2120 et seq.,

and meet any additional gualifications established under Rules promulgated by

LDH in association with these statutes.

Il Provider Responsibilities for the provision of care
A. Providers must submit a prior authorization. Providers must submit sufficient

documentation to determine medical necessity. Failure to do so may result in a partial or

non-authorization for services.

B. Services should be delivered with member/enrollee involvement in the planning and

provision of care and delivered in the manner that includes the following:
1 Delivered in a culturally and linquistically competent manner in accordance with

member’s/enrollee’s preferences and needs
2 Respectful of the member/enrollee receiving services
3 Appropriate to members/enrollees of diverse racial, ethnic, religious, sexual and

gender identities and other cultural and linguistic groups
4 Appropriate for age, development, and education-

C. Report any changes in the member’s/enrollee’s condition or behavior that impact the

member’s/enrollee’s health and safety to LHCC and if applicable, the community case

manager.

D. Participate in team meetings as requested by the member’s/enrollee’s case manager.

E. Providers must abide by all staffing and training requirements and ensure that staff and

supervisors possess the minimum requisite education, skills, qualifications, training,

supervision, and coverage as set forth by their respective licensing authorities and in

accordance with all applicable Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) policies.
G—

F. Providers shall have the capacity and resources to provide all aspects of any service they

are enrolled to provide in the specified service area.

G. PCS providers must develop a back-up staffing plan in the event the assigned direct

service worker is unable to provide support due to unplanned circumstances or

emergencies that may arise during the direct service worker’s shift. PCS providers must

discuss available options for back-up coverage with the member/enrollee or his/her

authorized representative and complete the required staffing plan. In all instances when a

direct service worker is unable to provide support, he/she must contact the provider and

family/member/enrollee immediately. Actions shall then be taken according to the
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member’s/enrollee’s back-up staffing plan. PCS providers must assess on an ongoing
basis whether the back-up plan is current and being followed according to the plan. The
provider shall collaborate with the member/enrollee, his/her authorized representative,
case manager if applicable, and protective services if applicable to assure that any back-
up staffing issues are resolved appropriately The plan must include:

1 Person or persons responsible for back up coverage (including names, relationships,
and contact phone numbers)

2 A toll-free telephone number with 24-hour availability that allows the recipient to
contact the provider if the worker fails to show up for work

3 Provider and member/enrollee signatures and dates

H. Providers shall not refuse to serve any member/enrollee who chooses their agency, unless
there is documentation to support an inability to meet the member’s/enrollee’s needs, or
all previous efforts to provide service and supports have failed and there is no option but
to refuse services. LHCC must be notified immediately of the circumstances surrounding
the refusal. The refusal request must be made in writing by the provider to LHCC, and to
the member/enrollee detailing why the provider is unable to serve the member/enrollee.
This requirement may only be waived by LHCC.

I. _If the provider proposes involuntary transfer, discharge of a member/enrollee, or if a
provider closes in accordance with licensing standards, the following steps must be taken:
The provider shall give written notice to the member/enrollee, a family member/enrollee
and/or the authorized representative, if known, and the case manager, if
applicable, at least 30 calendar days prior to the transfer or the discharge.

1. Written notice shall be made via certified mail, return receipt requested
and shall be in a language and manner that the member/enrollee understands.

2. A copy of the written discharge/transfer notice shall be put in the
member’s/enrollee’s record.z

——When the safety or health of members/enrollees or provider staff is endangered,
written notice shall be given as soon as possible before the transfer or discharge to
the member/enrollee, a family member and/or the authorized representative, if
known, and the case manager.

3.
4. The written notice shall include the following:
a. A reason for the transfer or discharge;
b. The effective date of the transfer or discharge;
C. An explanation of a member’s/enrollee’s right to personal and/or third
parties’ representation at all stages of the transfer or discharge process;
d. Contact information for the Advocacy Center;
e. Names of provider personnel available to assist the member/enrollee and
family in decision making and transfer arrangements;
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f. The date, time and place for the discharge planning conference;
0. A statement regarding the member’s/enrollee appeal rights;
h. The name of the director, current address and telephone number of the
Division of Administrative Law;
i. Written statement regarding the member’s/enrollee right to remain with
the provider and not be transferred or discharged if an appeal is filed

timely.

6. Provider transfer or discharge responsibilities shall include:

a. Holding a transfer or discharge planning conference with the
member/enrollee, family, case manager (if applicable), legal representative
and advocate, if such is known;

b. Developing discharge options that will provide reasonable assurance that
the member/enrollee will be transferred or discharge to a setting that can
be expected to meet his/her needs;

c. Preparing an updated service plan, as applicable, and preparing a written
discharge summary that shall include, at a minimum, a summary of the
health, behavioral issues, social issues and nutritional status of the
member/enrollee;

d. Providing all services required prior to discharge that are contained in the
final update of the service plan, as applicable, and in the transfer or
discharge plan.

J. Providers shall conduct self-audits, including conducting home visits, to ensure staff
follow internal policies and procedures, and comply with service requirements
established by LDH and LHCC.

K. Utilize the LDH-designated electronic visit verification system (EVV) to “check in” and
“check out” when direct service workers begin and end service delivery for a
member/enrollee in accordance with LDH-established EVV policies and procedures. The
policies and procedures may be accessed at https://Idh.la.gov/page/3819; Providers shall
have available computer equipment, software, and internet connectivity necessary to
participate in required prior/post authorization, data collection, and electronic visit
verification activities.

111 _Required Documentation
A. Service Plan- Providers must develop a service plan in collaboration with the

member/enrollee/member’s family to include the specific activities to be performed,

including frequency and anticipated/estimated duration of each activity, based on the

member’s/enrollee’s goals, preferences, and assessed needs.

1. The service plan must be developed prior to service delivery and updated at least
every six (6) months, or more frequently based on changes to the member’s/enrollee’s
needs or preferences.
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2. The PCS provider shall provide the plan to the member/enrollee prior to service

delivery and when the plan is updated.

B. Service Logs- Service logs document the PCS provided and billed for services delivered
by the direct service worker. Direct service workers must complete a standardized service
log at each visit to reflect services provided, and variations from the approved service
plan and reason. The service log must be Completed daily as tasks are performed (service
logs may not be completed prior to the performance of a task) and signed and dated by
the direct service worker and by the member/enrollee or responsible representative after
the work has been completed at the end of the week also must contain:

1. Name of the member/enrollee;

2. Name of provider and direct service worker provider the service;
3. Assistance provided:;

4. Date of service contact.:

IV _Disaster Preparation and Emergency Preparedness. Providers must ensure each
member/enrollee has a documented individualized emergency plan in preparation for, and
response to, emergencies and disasters that may arise. This plan must identify specific
resources available through the provider, natural resources, and the community. The provider
must assess on an ongoing basis whether the emergency plan is current and being followed
according to the plan. The emergency plan must be signed and dated by the member/enrollee,
authorized representative, and provider. If the emergency plan is activated, the provider bears
responsibility for performance of those tasks agreed to in the plan.

V Types of Assistance provided by Personal Care Services

A. Provides minimal assistance with, supervision of, or prompting the member/enrollee to
perform activities of daily living (ADLSs) including eating, bathing, grooming/personal
hygiene, dressing, transferring, ambulation, and toileting.

B. Assistance with, or supervision of, instrumental activities of daily living (IADLS) to meet
the direct needs of the member/enrollee (and not the needs of the member’s/enrollee’s
household), which includes:

Light housekeeping, including ensuring pathways are free from obstructions

Laundry of the member’s/enrollee’s bedding and clothing, including ironing

Food preparation and storage

Assistance with scheduling (making contacts and coordinating) medical

Appointments.

5. Assistance with arranging transportation depending on the needs and preferences of
the member/enrollee

6. Accompanying the member/enrollee to medical and behavioral health appointments

and providing assistance throughout the appointment

el [l I
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7.

Accompanying the member/enrollee to community activities and providing assistance

8.

throughout the activity
Brief occasional trips outside the home by the direct service worker on behalf of the

member/enrollee (without the member/enrollee present) to include shopping to meet
the health care or nutritional needs of the member/enrollee or payment of bills if no
other arrangements are possible and/or the member’s/enrollee’s condition
significantly limits participation in these activities

Medication reminders with self-administered prescription and nonprescription

medication that is limited to:
a. __ Verbal reminders
b.  Assistance with opening the bottle or bubble pack when requested by the
member/enrollee
c.  Reading the directions from the label
d.  Checking the dosage according to the label directions
e.  Assistance with ordering medication from the drug store

*NOTE: PCS workers are NOT permitted to give medication to members/enrollees. This

includes taking medication out of the bottle to set up pill organizers.

10. Assistance with performing basic therapeutic physical health interventions to increase

functional abilities for maximum independence in performing activities of daily
living, such as range of motion exercise, as instructed by licensed physical or
occupational therapists, or by a reqgistered nurse.

111 PCS services are medically necessary when the following indications are met:

A. Members/enrollees must be at least 21 years of age.

B. Member/enrollee has Transitioned from a nursing facility or been diverted from nursing

C.

facility level of care through the My Choice Louisiana program.

Services are recommended by the member’s/enrollee’s treating licensed mental health

D.

professional (LMHP) or physician within their scope of practice.

Members/enrollees must be medically stable. The member/enrollee appears to be in no

acute medical or physical distress, and reports no acute or chronic health symptoms or

problems for which medical treatment beyond routine medical care is required or

anticipated. Those with a chronic, but stable illness, managed with medication and

routine monitoring, such as diabetes, hypertension, or a well-controlled seizure disorder,

may be considered medically stable.

Lmitati  thi I oo
G. Requires at least limited assistance with one or more ADLSs.

1. The interRAI assessment defines Limited Assistance for most ADLs as the receipt of

physical help or a combination of physical help and weight-bearing assistance during
the assessment’s look-back period.z
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H. Able to participate in his/her care and be able to direct their care independently, or

through a responsible representative.

IV Criteria that do not support Medical Necessity:
A. Members/enrollees who are enrolled a Medicaid-funded program which offers a personal
care service or related benefit or receiving Long Term Personal Care Services (LT-PCS).
B. Any care needs that exceed that which can be provided under the scope and/or service
limitations of this personal care service.
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C. Exelusions-Members/enrollees who are enrolled a Medicaid-funded program which
offers a personal care service or related benefit or receiving Long Term Personal Care
Services (LT-PCS).

D. Any care needs that exceed that which can be provided under the scope and/or service
limitations of this personal care service.

E. PCS does not include administration of medication; insertion and sterile irrigation of
catheters; irrigation of any body cavities which require sterile procedures; complex
wound care; or skilled nursing services as defined in the State Nurse Practice Act.

F. Services must be provided in home and community-based settings, and may not be
provided in the following settings.

1. Inahome or property owned, operated, or controlled by an owner, operator,
agent, or employee of a licensed provider of personal care services.

2.  In the direct service worker’s home.

3. Inanursing facility, Intermediate Care Facility for the Developmentally Disabled,
Institute for Mental Disease, or other licensed congregate setting.

G. There shall be no duplication of services including the following:
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1

PCS may not be provided while the member/enrollee is attending or admitted to a

program or setting that provides in-home assistance with ADLs or IADLs or while
attending or admitted to a program or setting where such assistance is provided.
TADLs may not be performed in the member’s/enrollee’s home when the

member/enrollee is absent from the home. Exceptions may be approved by the
Medicaid managed care medical director on a case-by-case, time-limited basis.

PCS may not be billed during the time the member/enrollee has been admitted to a

hospital, nursing home, or residential facility. Services may be provided and billed on
the day the member/enrollee is admitted to the hospital and following the
member’s/enrollee’s discharge.

H. PCS shall not supplant care provided by natural supports.

I. PCS does not include room and board, maintenance, upkeep, and/or improvement of the

member’s/enrollee’s or family’s residence.

J. PCS may not be provided outside the state of Louisiana unless a temporary exception has

been approved by LHCC.

K. Direct service workers may not work more than 16 hours in a 24-hour period.

L. The following individuals are prohibited from being reimbursed for providing services to

a member/enrollee:

1

Biological, legal or step first, second, third or fourth degree relatives

2

First-degree relatives include parents, spouses, siblings, and children

3

Second-degree relatives include grandparents, grandchildren, aunts, uncles, nephews,

and nieces
Third-degree relatives include great-grandparents, great-grandchildren, great aunts,

great uncles, and first cousins
Fourth-degree relatives include great-great grandparents, great-great grandchildren,

and children of first cousins:
Curator, tutor, legal quardian, authorized representative, and any individual who has

V_ Billing

power of attorney

A. The service unit is 15 minutes and is reimbursed at a flat rate, with the exception of the

per diem rate for which the unit is a per day rate.

B. Reimbursement for services may be withheld or denied if the provider fails to use the

EVYV system or does not use the system in compliance with LDH’s policies and

procedures for EVV.
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C. Transportation is not a required component of PCS although providers may choose to

furnish transportation for members/enrollees during the course of providing PCS. If
transportation is furnished, the provider must accept all liability for their employee/direct
service worker transporting a member/enrollee. It is the responsibility of the provider to
ensure the employee/direct service worker has a current, valid driver’s license,
automobile liability insurance, and pass a motor vehicle screen prior to transporting
members/enrollees.

Coding Implications

This clinical policy references Current Procedural Terminology (CPT®). CPT® is a registered
trademark of the American Medical Association. All CPT codes and descriptions are copyrighted
2020, American Medical Association. All rights reserved. CPT codes and CPT descriptions are
from the current manuals and those included herein are not intended to be all-inclusive and are
included for informational purposes only. Codes referenced in this clinical policy are for
informational purposes only and may not support medical necessity. Inclusion or exclusion of
any codes does not guarantee coverage. Providers should reference the most up-to-date sources
of professional coding guidance prior to the submission of claims for reimbursement of covered
services.

None
HCPCS Description
Codes

S5125 Personal care services (billable for < 28 units/day) — per 15 minutes
S5126 Personal care services (billable for > 28 units/day) — per diem

|GD|_1Q M Dlalgnesns_ Codes H Ilalt' S prl ell tCoverage- Criteria
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Date Date

Original approval date 1/22

Defined staff and provider qualifications. 14/23

Description of provider responsibilities for the provision of care,
required documentation, member disaster preparation and emergency
preparedness, type of allowed and prohibited types in service delivery
and care.

Description of medical necessity of the services and when criteria that do
not support medical necessity

Updated billing reminders for providers.

Policy reviewed-and-updated

References

1. LDH Behavioral Health Provider Manual.
2. LDH Personal Care Provider Manual

3. Revised Statute 40:2120.1 et seq
2:4.LAC 48:1. Chapter 50

Important Reminder

This clinical policy has been developed by appropriately experienced and licensed health care
professionals based on a review and consideration of currently available generally accepted
standards of medical practice; peer-reviewed medical literature; government agency/program
approval status; evidence-based guidelines and positions of leading national health professional
organizations; views of physicians practicing in relevant clinical areas affected by this clinical
policy; and other available clinical information. LHCC makes no representations and accepts no
liability with respect to the content of any external information used or relied upon in developing
this clinical policy. This clinical policy is consistent with standards of medical practice current at
the time that this clinical policy was approved.

The purpose of this clinical policy is to provide a guide to medical necessity, which is a
component of the guidelines used to assist in making coverage decisions and administering
benefits. It does not constitute a contract or guarantee regarding payment or results. Coverage
decisions and the administration of benefits are subject to all terms, conditions, exclusions and
limitations of the coverage documents (e.g., evidence of coverage, certificate of coverage, policy,
contract of insurance, etc.), as well as to state and federal requirements and applicable LHCC
administrative policies and procedures.

This clinical policy is effective as of the date determined by LHCC. The date of posting may not
be the effective date of this clinical policy. This clinical policy may be subject to applicable legal
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and regulatory requirements relating to provider notification. If there is a discrepancy between
the effective date of this clinical policy and any applicable legal or regulatory requirement, the
requirements of law and regulation shall govern. LHCC retains the right to change, amend or
withdraw this clinical policy, and additional clinical policies may be developed and adopted as
needed, at any time.

This clinical policy does not constitute medical advice, medical treatment or medical care. Itis
not intended to dictate to providers how to practice medicine. Providers are expected to exercise
professional medical judgment in providing the most appropriate care, and are solely responsible
for the medical advice and treatment of members/enrollees. This clinical policy is not intended
to recommend treatment for members/enrollees. Members/enrollees should consult with their
treating physician in connection with diagnosis and treatment decisions.

Providers referred to in this clinical policy are independent contractors who exercise independent
judgment and over whom LHCC has no control or right of control. Providers are not agents or
employees of LHCC.

This clinical policy is the property of LHCC. Unauthorized copying, use, and distribution of this
clinical policy or any information contained herein are strictly prohibited. Providers,
members/enrollees and their representatives are bound to the terms and conditions expressed
herein through the terms of their contracts. Where no such contract exists, providers,
members/enrollees and their representatives agree to be bound by such terms and conditions by
providing services to members/enrollees and/or submitting claims for payment for such services.

©20230 Louisiana Healthcare Connections. All rights reserved. All materials are exclusively
owned by Louisiana Healthcare Connections and are protected by United States copyright law
and international copyright law. No part of this publication may be reproduced, copied,
modified, distributed, displayed, stored in a retrieval system, transmitted in any form or by any
means, or otherwise published without the prior written permission of Louisiana Healthcare
Connections. You may not alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice contained
herein. Louisiana Healthcare Connections is a registered trademark exclusively owned by
Louisiana Healthcare Connections.
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