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Payment Policy: 3-Day Payment Wind24 Hour Payment Ruleow

  
Reference Number: LA.PP.500c  

Product Types: ALL  

Effective Date: 08/2020 05/2023  

 

Coding Implications 

Last Review Date: 08/2020 05/2023 Revision Log 

 

See Important Reminder at the end of this policy for important regulatory and legal 

information. 

 

Policy Overview 

Louisiana Healthcare Connections covers certain services, procedures or devices provided to 

membermember/enrollees in accordance with the membermember/enrollee’s coverage 

documents, when rendered by participating providers and, in certain circumstances, by non-

participating provides, all in accordance with the treating provider’s scope of practice and this 

policy.  While this policy serves as a guideline and general reference regarding reimbursement 

for twenty-four hour payment rule, for the “3-day payment rule,” it is not intended to address 

every reimbursement situation.  In instances that are not specifically addressed by this policy or 

addressed by another policy or contract, we retain the right to use reasonable discretion in 

interpreting this policy and applying it (or not applying it) to the reimbursement of services 

provided to all or certain membermember/enrollees. 

 

Louisiana Healthcare Connections is adopting a reimbursement policy that is based, in large part, 

on the Medicare requirements for payment of outpatient diagnostic and related non-diagnostic 

services within the 3-day (or, with respect to non-IPPS hospitals [as defined below], the 1-day) 

window prior to and including the date of membermember/enrollee’s inpatient admission.  The 

3-day payment window applies to hospitals reimbursed according to Medicare’s Inpatient 

Prospective Payment System (IPPS), and the 1-day rule applies to non-IPPS hospitals, i.e., 

inpatient psychiatric facilities and units, inpatient rehabilitation hospitals and units, long-term 

care hospitals, cancer hospitals and children’s hospitals.   Medicare basically requires hospitals 

to bundle the technical component of all outpatient diagnostic services and related non-

diagnostic services (e.g., therapeutic) with the claim for an inpatient stay when services are 

furnished to a patient within 3 days (or, with respect to non-IPPS hospitals, within 1 day), prior 

to and including the date of an inpatient admission in compliance with Section 1886 of the Social 

Security Act.  For example, if a membermember/enrollee is admitted on a Wednesday, outpatient 

services provided by the hospital on Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday are bundled. 

 

The purpose of this policy is to ensure that payment for the technical component of all outpatient 

diagnostic services and related non-diagnostic services are bundled with the claim for an 

inpatient stay when services are furnished within 3 calendar days (or, with respect to a non-IPPS 

hospital, within 1 day) prior to and including the date of the inpatient admission.  The bundling 

requirement does not apply to those services excluded from time to time from this policy, such 

as, ambulance and outpatient maintenance renal dialysis services. 
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Application 

The policy applies to payment for outpatient services rendered by the admitting hospital, by an 

entity “wholly owned” or “wholly operated” by the admitting hospital, or by another entity under 

arrangements with the admitting hospital, to Louisiana Healthcare Connections 

membermembers/enrollees prior to and including the date of an inpatient admission.  The 3-day 

bundling requirement applies to hospitals reimbursed according to Medicare’s Inpatient 

Prospective Payment System (IPPS), and the 1-day bundling requirement rule applies to 

hospitals that are not reimbursed according to Medicare’s IPPS (which include, as of the 

effective date, inpatient psychiatric facilities and units, inpatient rehabilitation hospitals and 

units, long-term care hospitals, cancer hospitals and children’s hospitals). This policy applies to 

all hospitalizations that are paid using an all-inclusive payment methodology.  

 

Policy Description 

 

All hospitals (other than non-IPPS hospitals) are subject to a twenty-four hours3-day bundling 

requirement when they furnish preadmission diagnostic services to a member on the date of the 

inpatient admission or within the 3twenty-four hour scalendar days prior to the date of the 

inpatient admission, or when they furnish preadmission non-diagnostic services that are related 

to the membermember’s/enrollee’s inpatient admission, on the date of the inpatient admission or 

within twenty-four hours3 calendar days prior to the date of the inpatient admission. 

 

All non-IPPS hospitals are subject to the twenty-four hours1-day bundling requirement when 

they furnish preadmission diagnostic services to a membermember/enrollee on the day of the 

inpatient admission or within the twenty-four hours1 calendar day prior to the date of the 

inpatient admission, or when they furnish preadmission non-diagnostic services that are related 

to the membermember’s/enrollee’s inpatient admission, on the date of the inpatient admission or 

within twenty-four hours1 calendar days prior to the date of the inpatient admission. 

 

NOTE: The information in this policy may not reflect all Provider’s Contract. 

 

 

 

Reimbursement  

Hospital Services 

Outpatient hospital services are defined as diagnostic and therapeutic services rendered under the 

direction of a physician or dentist to an outpatient in an enrolled, licensed and certified hospital. 

The hospital must also be Medicare certified. Covered outpatient hospital services provided to 

Medicaid beneficiaries are reimbursable. 

 

Inpatient services shall not be billed as outpatient, even if the stay is less than 24 hours. Federal 

regulations are specific in regard to the definition of both inpatient and outpatient services. 

Billing outpatient services for a beneficiary who is admitted as an inpatient within 24 hours of 

the performance of the outpatient service is not allowed and the facility may be subjected to 

financial sanctions. 
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Outpatient services (including diagnostic testing) when the diagnosis code is similar/related to 

the diagnosis code on an inpatient admission and are performed either during or within 24 hours 

of the inpatient admission, regardless of hospital ownership, will not be reimbursed separately as 

an outpatient service. The inpatient hospital is responsible for reimbursing the hospital providing 

the outpatient services. The inpatient hospital may reflect the outpatient charges on its claim. 

 

Exceptions to this criterion is: 

 

 Outpatient therapy services performed within 24 hours before an inpatient admission or 

24 hours after the beneficiary’s discharge that are either related or unrelated to the 

inpatient stay; and 2.  

 Transfers from a hospital emergency department to a different hospital/provider for 

inpatient admission 

 

If one of the above exceptions are met, separate billing and payment for the outpatient hospital 

service are allowed 

 

If a beneficiary is treated in the emergency room and requires surgery, which cannot be 

performed for several hours because arrangements need to be made, the services may be billed as 

outpatient provided that the beneficiary is not admitted as an inpatient.  

 

Physicians responsible for a beneficiary’s care at the hospital are responsible for deciding 

whether the beneficiary should be admitted as an inpatient. Physicians should use a 24 hour 

period as a benchmark, i.e., they should order admission for beneficiaries who are expected to 

need hospital care for 24 hours or more, and treat other patients on an outpatient basis. However, 

the decision to admit a patient is a complex medical judgment, which can be made only after the 

physician has considered a number of factors. Admissions of particular beneficiaries are not 

covered or non-covered solely on the basis of the length of time the beneficiary actually spends 

in the hospital.  

 

Medicaid will reimburse up to 48 medically necessary hours for a beneficiary to be in an 

outpatient status. This time frame is for the physician to observe the beneficiary and to determine 

the need for further treatment, admission to an inpatient status or for discharge. If the beneficiary 

is admitted as an inpatient, the admit date will go back to the beginning of the outpatient 

services.  

 

NOTE: Outpatient ambulatory surgery and other applicable revenue codes associated with the 

surgery may now be billed as outpatient regardless of the duration of the outpatient stay. 

 

 

Outpatient diagnostic services (including clinical diagnostic laboratory tests) provided to a 

membermember/enrollee by a hospital on the date of an inpatient admission or within twenty-

four hours3 days (or with respect a non-IPPS hospital, twenty-four hours1 day) prior to the date 

of the inpatient admission are deemed to be inpatient services and included in the inpatient 

payment (e.g., per diem, DRG, or per-case payment).  This provision does not apply to services 

excluded from time to time from this policy.  As of the effective date, the following services are 
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excluded from being subject to this bundling requirement: ambulance services, maintenance 

renal dialysis services, and services furnished by skilled nursing facilities, home health agencies, 

and hospices. 

 

Outpatient diagnostic services provided to a membermember/enrollee by a hospital on the date of 

an inpatient admission or within twenty-four hours3 days (or with respect a non-IPPS hospital, 

twenty-four hours1 day) prior to the date of the inpatient admission are deemed to be inpatient 

services and must be bundled on the admitting hospital’s claim for the 

membermember’s/enrollee’s inpatient stay at the admitting hospital.   

 

Outpatient diagnostic services include, but are not limited to, the following revenue and/or CPT 

codes: 

 

Code  Description  

0254  Drugs incident to other diagnostic 

services  

0255  Drugs incident to radiology  

0341, 0343  Nuclear medicine, 

diagnostic/Diagnostic 

Radiopharmaceuticals  

0371  Anesthesia incident to Radiology  

0372  Anesthesia incident to other 

diagnostic services  

0471  Audiology diagnostic  

0481, 0489  Cardiology, Cardiac Catheter 

Lab/Other Cardiology with CPT 

codes 93451-93464, 93503, 

93505, 93530-93533, 93561-

93568, 93571-93572, G0275, and 

G0278 diagnostic  

0482  Cardiology, Stress Test  

0483  Cardiology, Echocardiology  

0918- 0919 Testing- Behavioral Health  

 

Diagnostic services billed on outpatient bill types will be denied when the line-item date of 

service (LIDOS) falls on the day of admission or any of the twenty-four hours3 days (or with 

respect to a non-IPPS hospital, the twenty-four hours1 day) immediately prior to the date of the 

admission. 

 

In addition to diagnostic services; non-diagnostic services, other than ambulance and 

maintenance renal dialysis services, provided by a hospital on the day of the inpatient admission 

or on any of the twenty-four hours3 days (or with respect to a non-IPPS hospital, the twenty-four 

hours1 day) immediately prior to the date of the admission and that are deemed related to the 

admission, are considered inpatient services, and must be bundled on the claim for the 

membermember’s/enrollee’s inpatient stay at the admitting hospital, unless the hospital attests 

(as provided below) to specific non-diagnostic services as being unrelated to the hospital 
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inpatient stay (i.e., the preadmission non-diagnostic services must be clinically distinct or 

independent from the reason for the membermember’s/enrollee’s admission).   

 

When outpatient diagnostic services and related non-diagnostic services must be bundled on the 

admitting hospital’s claim for the membermember’s/enrollee’s inpatient stay at the admitting 

hospital, the admitting hospital must convert CPT codes to ICD-9-CM procedure codes and must 

only include outpatient diagnostic and admission-related non-diagnostic services that are 

included within the applicable payment window.  

 

Outpatient non-diagnostic services provided during the payment window that are unrelated to the 

admission may be separately billed.  A hospital must maintain documentation in the 

membermember’s/enrollee’s medical record to support its claim that the preadmission outpatient 

non-diagnostic services are unrelated to the inpatient admission.  For such unrelated outpatient 

non-diagnostic services, the hospital must bill the unrelated outpatient non-diagnostic services 

separately from the admitting hospital’s claim for the inpatient admission and must include on 

the claim a condition code 51 (Attestation of Unrelated Outpatient Non-diagnostic Services) for 

the separately billed outpatient non-diagnostic services. 

 

Outpatient facility claims for non-diagnostic services will be denied when the following occurs:  

 

(1)  condition code 51 (Attestation of Unrelated Outpatient Non-diagnostic Services) is 

not included on the outpatient claim for non-diagnostic services provided during the 

payment window that are unrelated to the admission; and  

 

(2) the line-item date of service (LIDOS) falls on the day of admission or any of the 3 

daystwenty-four hours (or with respect to a non-IPPS hospital, the 1 daytwenty-four 

hours) immediately prior to the date of the admission. 

 

Professional Services 

When a related facility furnishes a service subject to the provisions of this policy and submits a 

claim in accordance with this policy (e.g., the PD modifier described below is appropriately 

included), the following will be paid: 

 

(1) the professional component for such a service with a technical and professional        

component split, or  

 

(2) the facility rate for such a service that does not have a technical and professional  

component split.   

 

Once the related entity has received confirmation of a membermember’s/enrollee’s inpatient 

admission from the admitting hospital, the related entity must append a CMS payment modifier 

to all claim lines for diagnostic services and for non-diagnostic services that have been identified 

as related to the inpatient stay that are furnished on the date of admission or within any of the 

twenty-four hour3 dayss (or with respect to a non-IPPS hospital, the twenty-four hour1 day) 

immediately prior to the date of the admission.   
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Physician non-diagnostic services that are unrelated to the hospital admission are not subject to 

the payment window and should be billed without the payment modifier. 

 

The payment modifier “PD” (Diagnostic or related non-diagnostic item or service provided in a 

wholly owned or operated entity to a patient who is admitted as an inpatient within twenty-four 

hours3 days), must be appended to the claim submitted by a related entity that is a physician 

practice/office for preadmission diagnostic and admission-related non-diagnostic services that 

are billed with HCPCS/CPT codes and that are subject to the provisions of this policy.  The 

related entity must manage its billing processes to ensure that the claims for physician services 

are appropriately submitted when a related inpatient admission has occurred.  The admitting 

hospital is responsible for notifying the related entity of an inpatient admission for a 

membermember/enrollee who received services from a related entity within any of the 3 

daystwenty-four hours (or with respect to a non-IPPS hospital, the 1 daytwenty-four hour) 

immediately prior to the date of the inpatient admission. 

 

Only unrelated non-diagnostic preadmission services are not subject to the above bundling and 

billing requirements.  To be “unrelated,” the preadmission non-diagnostic services must be 

clinically distinct or independent from the reason for the membermember’s/enrollee’s inpatient 

admission and must be furnished within any of the 3 daystwenty-four hours (or with respect to a 

non-IPPS hospital, the 1 daytwenty-four hour) immediately prior to the date of the admission.  

Note: non-diagnostic services furnished by a related entity that is a physician practice/office on 

the date of a membermember’s/enrollee’s inpatient admission to the admitting hospital are 

always deemed to be related to the admission and the technical portion for such services must be 

included on the bill for the inpatient admission. 

 

Documentation Requirements 

Admitting hospitals must include condition code 51 on the UB-04 when applicable, and related 

facilities are required to place modifier PD on diagnostic and related non-diagnostic items. and 

services that are subject to the 3-day (1-day) payment window policy.  Omission of the PD 

modifier will be regarded as an attestation that the services were not subject to the 3-day (1-day) 

payment window. 
 

 

Coding and Modifier Information 

This payment policy references Current Procedural Terminology (CPT®). CPT® is a registered 

trademark of the American Medical Association. All CPT® codes and descriptions are 

copyrighted 20182022, American Medical Association. All rights reserved. CPT codes and CPT 

descriptions are from current manuals and those included herein are not intended to be all-

inclusive and are included for informational purposes only.  Codes referenced in this payment 

policy are for informational purposes only.  Inclusion or exclusion of any codes does not 

guarantee coverage.  Providers should reference the most up-to-date sources of professional 

coding guidance prior to the submission of claims for reimbursement of covered services. 

 

 

 
 

Definitions  
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Admitting Hospital – the hospital at which inpatient admission occurs 

 

Hospital – collectively, the admitting hospital, entities “wholly owned” or “wholly operated” by 

the admitting hospital, and entities under arrangements with the admitting hospital 

 

Non-IPPS Hospital – an admitting hospital that is not paid under the Medicare hospital Inpatient 

Prospective Payment System 

 

Related Facility – an entity that is “wholly owned” or “wholly operated” by the admitting 

hospital, or an entity under arrangement with the admitting hospital. 

 

Wholly Operated – an entity for which the hospital has exclusive responsibility for conducting 

and overseeing the entity’s routine operations, regardless of whether the hospital also has 

policymaking authority over the entity.  See 42 CFR §412.2. 

 

Wholly Owned – an entity that for which a hospital is the sole owner of the entity.  See 42 CFR 

§412.2. 

 
Related Policies 

Not Applicable 
 
Related Documents or Resources 

Not Applicable 
 

References 

1. Current Procedural Terminology (CPT®), 202218 

2. HCPCS Level II, 201822 

3. International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM), 

202218 

4. ICD-10-CM Official Draft Code Set, 202218 

5. CMS Publication 100-04, Medicare Claims Processing Manual, Chapter 3, Section 40.3 

(Outpatient Services Treated as Inpatient Services) 

6. CMS Publication 100-04, Medicare Claims Processing Manual, Chapter 12, Section 90.7 

(Bundling of Payments for Services Provided in Wholly Owned and Wholly Operated 

Entities (including Physician Practices and Clinics): 3-Day Payment Window) 

7. CMS Publication 100-04, Medicare Claims Processing Manual, Chapter 12, Section 90.7.1 

(Payment Methodology: 3-Day Payment Window in Wholly Owned or Wholly Operated 

Entities [including Physician Practices and Clinics]) 

8. MLN Matters, MM7502 (Bundling of Payments for Services Provided to Outpatients Who 

Later Are Admitted as Inpatients: 3-Day Payment Window Policy and the Impact on Wholly 

Owned or Wholly Operated Physician Offices). Available at: http://www.cms.gov/Outreach-

and-Education/Medicare-Learning-Network-

MLN/MLNMattersArticles/Downloads/MM7502.pdf 
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http://www.cms.gov/Outreach-and-Education/Medicare-Learning-Network-
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Revision History Revision 

Date 

Approval 

Date 

Converted corporate to local policy. 08/15/2020  

UpdatedRevised policy to follow State guidelines for 24 hour 
payment.  Changed policy name from 3 Day Payment Window 
to 24 Hour Payment Rule to be in line with state guidelines. 

5/2023  

 

Important Reminder 

This paymentclinical policy has been developed by appropriately experienced and licensed 

health care professionals based on a review and consideration of currently available generally 

accepted standards of medical practice; peer-reviewed medical literature; government 

agency/program approval status; evidence-based guidelines and positions of leading national 

health professional organizations; views of physicians practicing in relevant clinical areas 

affected by this clinical payment policy; and other available clinical information. LHCC makes 

no representations and accepts no liability with respect to the content of any external information 

used or relied upon in developing this paymentclinical policy. This paymentclinical policy is 

consistent with standards of medical practice current at the time that this clinicalpayment policy 

was approved.  

 

The purpose of this paymentclinical policy is to provide a guide to medical necessity, which is a 

component of the guidelines used to assist in making coverage decisions and administering 

benefits. It does not constitute a contract or guarantee regarding payment or results. Coverage 

decisions and the administration of benefits are subject to all terms, conditions, exclusions and 

limitations of the coverage documents (e.g., evidence of coverage, certificate of coverage, policy, 

contract of insurance, etc.), as well as to state and federal requirements and applicable LHCC  

administrative policies and procedures.    

 

This paymntpaymentclinical policy is effective as of the date determined by LHCC. The date of 

posting may not be the effective date of this paymentclinical policy. This paymentclinical policy 

may be subject to applicable legal and regulatory requirements relating to provider notification. 

If there is a discrepancy between the effective date of this paymenpaymentclinical policy and any 

applicable legal or regulatory requirement, the requirements of law and regulation shall govern. 

LHCC retains the right to change, amend or withdraw this paymentclinical policy, and additional 

paymentclinical policies may be developed and adopted as needed, at any time. 

 

This paymentclinical policy does not constitute medical advice, medical treatment or medical 

care.  It is not intended to dictate to providers how to practice medicine. Providers are expected 

to exercise professional medical judgment in providing the most appropriate care, and are solely 

responsible for the medical advice and treatment of membermember/enrollees.  This 

paymentclinical policy is not intended to recommend treatment for membermember/enrollees. 
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MemberMember/enrollees should consult with their treating physician in connection with 

diagnosis and treatment decisions.  

 

Providers referred to in this paymentclinical policy are independent contractors who exercise 

independent judgment and over whom LHCC has no control or right of control.  Providers are 

not agents or employees of LHCC. 

 

This paymentclinical policy is the property of LHCC. Unauthorized copying, use, and 

distribution of this paymentclinical policy or any information contained herein are strictly 

prohibited.  Providers, membermember/enrollees and their representatives are bound to the terms 

and conditions expressed herein through the terms of their contracts.  Where no such contract 

exists, providers, membermember/enrollees and their representatives agree to be bound by such 

terms and conditions by providing services to membermember/enrollees and/or submitting 

claims for payment for such services.   

 

 

POLICY AND PROCEDURE APPROVAL 
The electronic approval retained in RSA Archer, Centene's P&P management software, 

is considered equivalent to an actual signature on paper.  

 

Senior Director of Network Accounts: _____Electronic Signature on File_ 
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modified, distributed, displayed, stored in a retrieval system, transmitted in any form or by any 
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Connections. You may not alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice contained 
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