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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 

Office of Aging and Adult Services 

and 

Office of Behavioral Health 

Programs and Services Amendments Due to the Coronavirus Disease 

2019 (COVID-19) Public Health Emergency 

 

 On January 30, 2020, the World Health Organization declared 

a public health emergency of international concern and on 

January 31, 2020, U.S. Health and Human Services Secretary Alex 

M. Azar II declared a public health emergency, effective as of 

January 27, 2020, for the United States in response to the 

recent coronavirus disease 2019 (hereafter referred to as COVID-

19) outbreak.  On March 11, 2020, Governor John Bel Edwards 

declared a statewide public health emergency to exist in the 

State of Louisiana as a result of the imminent threat posed to 

Louisiana citizens by COVID-19. Likewise, the presidential 

declaration of a national emergency due to COVID-19 has an 

effective date of March 1, 2020.  

 In response to these public health emergency declarations 

and the rapid advancement of COVID-19 throughout Louisiana, the 

Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the 

Office of Aging and Adult Services (OAAS), and the Office of 

Behavioral Health (OBH) promulgated an Emergency Rule which 

amended the provisions of Title 50 of the Louisiana 
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Administrative Code in order to adopt temporary measures to 

provide for the continuation of essential programs and services 

to ensure the health and welfare of the citizens of Louisiana in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure 

Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. (Louisiana Register, Volume 46, 

Number 4).  This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue 

the provisions of the Emergency Rule adopted on March 19, 2020.  

This Emergency Rule shall be in effect for the maximum period 

allowed under the Act or the duration of the COVID-19 public 

health emergency declaration, whichever comes first. 

 Effective July 16, 2021, the department amends Title 50 of 

the Louisiana Administrative Code to continue the following 

provisions of the Emergency Rule adopted on March 19, 2020 

throughout the duration of the COVID-19 public health emergency 

declaration: 

Nursing Facilities – Reimbursement Methodology – Reimbursement 

Adjustment (LAC 50:II.20006) 

 The per diem rate paid to non-state nursing facilities 

shall contain an add-on of $12 for the period of the COVID-19 

public health emergency declaration. 

Nursing Facilities – Reimbursement Methodology – Leave of 

Absence Days (LAC 50:II.20021) 

 For each Medicaid recipient, nursing facilities shall be 

reimbursed for up to seven hospital leave of absence days per 
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occurrence and 15 home leave of absence days per calendar year. 

 For dates of service during the COVID-19 public health 

emergency declaration, the state may allow the reimbursement 

paid for leave of absence days to be equal to 100 percent of the 

applicable per diem rate. 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with Intellectual 

Disabilities – Emergency Awareness – Payment Limitations (LAC 

50:VII.33101) 

 For dates of service during the COVID-19 public health 

emergency declaration, the state may waive the annual 45 day 

limit on the client’s leave of absence, the limitation of 30 

consecutive days, and the inclusion of the leave in the written 

individual habilitation plan for recipients that return to the 

facility for at least 24 hours prior to any discharge/transfer. 

 Payments to providers for these days will not include any 

enhanced rate add-ons (i.e., Complex Care, Pervasive Plus), and 

providers will appropriately submit them as leave days when 

billing for payment. 

Services for Special Populations - Personal Care Services (LAC 

50:XV.Subpart 9) 

 Relaxation of long term-personal care services (LT-PCS) 

provisions during the COVID-19 public health emergency 

declaration: 

  Recipients of long term-personal care services (LT-
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PCS) may receive more weekly service hours than what is assigned 

for his/her level of support category; 

  The state may increase the maximum number of LT-PCS 

hours received per week; 

  Recipients may receive LT-PCS in another state without 

prior approval of OAAS or its designee; 

  Recipients may receive LT-PCS while living in a home 

or property owned, operated or controlled by a provider of 

services who is not related by blood or marriage to the 

recipient; 

  Individuals may concurrently serve as a responsible 

representative for more than two recipients without an exception 

from OAAS;  

  The following individuals may provide services to the 

recipient of LT-PCS:  the recipient’s spouse; the recipient’s 

curator; the recipient’s tutor; the recipient’s legal guardian; 

the recipient’s responsible representative; or the person to 

whom the recipient has given representative and mandate 

authority (also known as power of attorney); 

  The state may allow exceptions to the requirements 

that services must be provided in accordance with the approved 

plan of care and/or supporting documentation; 

  The state may allow exceptions to LT-PCS prior 

authorization requirements; 
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  The state may increase and/or modify reimbursement 

rates for LT-PCS; 

  Recipients may orally designate/authorize or make 

changes to the responsible representative during the emergency.  

However, once the emergency declaration is over, the recipient 

must submit a written designation on the appropriate OAAS form 

to designate a responsible representative; 

  The state may offer recipients the freedom to choose 

another LT-PCS provider if the designated provider is not able 

to provide services; 

  The state may modify the minimum age requirement for 

direct care workers; and 

  The state may allow exceptions to the requirement that 

the place(s) of service must be documented in the plan of care. 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers – Adult Day Health 

Care Waiver (LAC 50:XXI.Subpart 3) 

 With approval from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) as applicable, the following provisions of the 

Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) Waiver are relaxed during the 

COVID-19 public health emergency declaration: 

  Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) Waiver participants are 

allowed to receive ADHC services in his/her home by licensed 

and/or certified ADHC staff (i.e. RN, LPN, PCA and/or CNA); 

  The current assessments/re-assessments remain in 
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effect past the annual (12 month) requirement; 

  Participants are not discharged if services are 

interrupted for a period of 30 consecutive days as a result of 

not receiving or refusing ADHC services; 

  Participants are not discharged for failure to attend 

the ADHC center for a minimum of 36 days per calendar quarter; 

  The state may elect to make retainer payments to ADHC 

providers when the ADHC center is closed; 

  Individuals may concurrently serve as a responsible 

representative for more than two participants without an 

exception from OAAS; 

  The state may allow exceptions to prior authorization 

requirements;  

  The state may increase and/or modify reimbursement 

rates for ADHC providers; and 

  The state may allow exceptions to the requirements 

that services must be provided in accordance with the approved 

plan of care and/or supporting documentation. 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers – Community Choices 

Waiver (LAC 50:XXI.Subpart 7) 

 With approval from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) as applicable, the following provisions of the 

Community Choices Waiver (CCW) are relaxed during the COVID-19 

public health emergency declaration: 
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  Community Choices Waiver (CCW) participants are 

allowed to receive personal assistance services (PAS) in another 

state without prior approval of OAAS or its designee; 

  Participants may receive PAS while living in a home or 

property owned, operated or controlled by a provider of services 

who is not related by blood or marriage to the participant 

without prior approval of OAAS or its designee; 

  The current assessment/re-assessment remains in effect 

past the annual (12 month) requirement; 

  CCW participants are not discharged if services are 

interrupted for a period of 30 consecutive days as a result of 

not receiving and/or refusing services; 

  Participants are not discharged from CCW self-directed 

services for failure to receive those services for 90 days or 

more; 

  Individuals may concurrently serve as a responsible 

representative for more than two participants without an 

exception from OAAS; 

  Participants may receive an increase in his/her annual 

services budget; 

  The following individuals may provide services to the 

participant:  the participant’s spouse; the participant’s 

curator; the participant’s tutor; the participant’s legal 

guardian; the participant’s responsible representative; or the 
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person to whom the participant has given representative and 

mandate authority (also known as power of attorney); 

  Participants may receive Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) 

services in his/her home by licensed and/or certified ADHC staff 

(i.e. RN, LPN, PCA and/or CNA); 

  The state may elect to make retainer payments to  

ADHC providers when the ADHC center is closed; 

  The state may allow exceptions to the requirements 

that services must be provided in accordance with the approved 

plan of care and/or supporting documentation; 

  The state may allow exceptions to prior authorization 

requirements; 

  Participants may receive more than two home delivered 

meals per day; 

  The state may allow monitored in-home caregiving 

(MIHC) providers to monitor participants via frequent telephone 

contacts and/or telehealth; 

  The state may modify the minimum age requirement for 

direct care workers; and 

  The state may increase and/or modify reimbursement 

rates for CCW providers. 

Behavioral Health Services - Home and Community-Based Services 

Waiver (LAC 50:XXXIII.Subpart 9) 

 With approval from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
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Services (CMS) as applicable, the following provisions of the 

Coordinated System of Care (CSoC) Waiver are relaxed during the 

COVID-19 public health emergency declaration: 

  Coordinated System of Care (CSoC) Waiver participants 

are allowed to receive CSoC waiver services in another state; 

  The current level of care evaluation/re-evaluation 

remains in effect beyond the semi-annual requirement; 

  CSoC participants are not discharged for failing to 

receive a face-to-face visit from the wraparound facilitator for 

60 consecutive calendar days or more; 

  Services may be provided telephonically or through 

videoconferencing means in accordance with LDH-issued guidance; 

  Providers and wraparound facilitators are required to 

document all service activities in accordance with guidance 

issued by LDH and the CSoC contractor; and 

  Plan of care reviews and timelines may be extended. 

 Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 

(CMS), if it is determined that submission to CMS for review and 

approval is required. 

 Interested persons may submit written comments to Tara A. 

LeBlanc, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 91030, 

Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030.  Ms. LeBlanc is responsible for 
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responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule.  A copy 

of this Emergency Rule is available for review by interested 

parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 

Secretary 


