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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
Dallas Regional Office 
1301 Young Street, Suite 833 
Dallas, Texas  75202 
 
Division of Medicaid & Children’s Health, Region VI 
 
CERTIFIED MAIL – RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED 
 
December 23, 2014 
 
DISALLOWANCE LA/2014/001/MAP 
 
Ms. Ruth Kennedy, Medicaid Director 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 
Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH)  
628 North 4th Street 
Baton Rouge, LA. 70821-9030 
  
Dear Ms. Kennedy: 
 
This letter serves as notice of a disallowance in the amount of $311,576,411 Total Computable 
(TC), $189,999,295  Federal Financial Participation (FFP) due to Louisiana’s collection of 
impermissible provider-related donations. On May 9, 2014, CMS notified your agency that it had 
disapproved the proposed State Plan Amendments (SPA) 13-23, 13-25, and 13-28 as a result of 
provisions in the related cooperative endeavor agreements (CEAs) that required substantial 
advance lease payments by the participating hospitals that were linked to increased Medicaid 
payments to the same privately-owned hospitals.    
 
Section 1903(w) of the Social Security Act (the Act) generally places limitations on the use of 
provider-related donations and taxes as funding sources for expenditures claimed by states as the 
basis for federal financial participation (FFP).  Among these limitations, as set forth in 
implementing regulations at 42 C.F.R. § 433.54, FFP is not available to the extent that it would 
be based on the use of such financing sources when there is a “hold harmless arrangement” under 
which providers (or the provider class) could be effectively repaid for a provider-related tax or 
donation through any direct or indirect payment, offset, or waiver.  A hold harmless arrangement 
is defined to include circumstances in which an increased Medicaid payment is conditional on 
the receipt of a donation.   
 
Supplemental and Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) payments made under the disapproved 
SPAs are linked to CEAs that provide, among other things, for non-bona fide provider-related 
donations from privately owned hospitals that the state refers to as “advance lease payments.”  
The CEAs provide for annual facility and equipment leases along with the advance lease 
payments.  These advance lease payments are not usual and customary industry payment 
arrangements and are linked to the increased Medicaid payments.  CMS has determined that 
these are not reasonable and necessary lease payments, but are, in fact, non-bona fide provider-
related donations.   
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The state indicated that its base lease payments are based on fair market value appraisals done by 
independent third-party professionals in the field of hospital valuation, and thus appear to 
comport with normal business practices.  The state did not provide similar independent analysis 
to justify the substantial advance lease payments. Additionally, information submitted by the 
state indicates that the lease payments themselves are in excess of the fair market value of the 
leased property.  The state describes the advance lease payments as “an upfront, good faith 
gesture on the part of private partners required by the state in an effort to objectively express 
each private partner’s interest in and commitment to consummating the underlying relationship 
contemplated in the CEA.”  However, we are not aware of any other examples of advance lease 
payments of this magnitude in the State’s ordinary course of business.  As such, the unjustified 
advance lease payments are more aptly characterized as non-bona fide provider-related 
donations.   
 
Furthermore, the substantial advance lease payments from select hospitals are directly linked to 
higher Medicaid payments to the same private hospitals; this established a prohibited hold 
harmless arrangement.  Only providers that agree to participate in a CEA are eligible to receive 
the additional Medicaid and DSH payments under the proposed SPAs. The hospitals that sign the 
CEA agreements receive supplemental inpatient hospital payments capped at their Medicaid 
charge levels and DSH payments at 100% of net uncompensated care cost, whereas other private 
hospitals are paid less for inpatient care and at lower percentages for uncompensated care.  The 
payments were made in lump sums that assumed that the private hospitals participating in the 
CEAs would provide similar levels of Medicaid and uninsured care as was previously provided 
by the public charity care hospital system.   
 
This letter constitutes your notice of disallowance in the amount of $311,576,411 TC, 
$189,999,295 FFP.  Please make a decreasing adjustment on line 10(b) of the next quarterly 
expenditure report (CMS-64) in the amount of $311,576,411 TC, $189,999,295 FFP and reference 
LA/2014/001/MAP.  Also, you must adjust your state’s letter of credit in accordance with the 
Annual Grant Award (AGA) Pilot Project Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) for the final 
disallowed amount plus any interest computed pursuant to section 1903(d)(5).  Under the terms of 
the MOU, you must adjust, if you have not already done so, your next cash draw request in the 
Payment Management System for any disallowed expenditures appealed.  Your adjustment must 
appear as a recognizable, separate entry on your request. 
 
This disallowance is my final decision. Under section 1116(e) of the Act, the state has the 
opportunity either to request reconsideration of this disallowance from the Secretary or to appeal 
this disallowance to the Departmental Appeals Board. This decision shall be the final decision of 
the Department unless, within 60 calendar days after the state receives this decision, the state 
delivers or mails (the state should use registered or certified mail to establish the date) a written 
request of reconsideration to the Secretary or a written notice of appeal to the Departmental 
Appeals Board.  
 

Written requests for reconsideration should be delivered or mailed to the CMS Associate 
Regional Administrator at 1301 Young St. Suite 832, Dallas TX. 75202 (the state should use 
registered or certified mail to establish the date). Requests for reconsideration by the Secretary 
should include: (1) a copy of the disallowance letter; (2) a statement of the amount in dispute; (3) 
a brief statement of why the disallowance should be reversed or revised, including any 
information to support the state’s position with respect to each issue; (4) additional information 
regarding factual matters or policy considerations; and (5) a statement of your intent to return or 
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retain the funds.  See 42 C.F.R. § 430.42(b)(2) published at 77 Fed. Reg. 31499, 31508 (May 29, 
2012).  The state should include in its request for reconsideration all of the information it 
believes is necessary for the Secretary’s review of its request.  If the state requests 
reconsideration from the Secretary and receives an unfavorable reconsideration of the 
disallowance from the Secretary, it may appeal the disallowance to the Departmental Appeals 
Board within 60 calendar days after the date that the state receives the unfavorable 
reconsideration.  
 
Written requests for appeal should be delivered or mailed to:  

 
U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services 
Departmental Appeals Board, MS 6127 
Appellate Division 
330 Independence Avenue, S.W. 
Cohen Building, Room G-644 
Washington, D.C. 20201 

 
The state may appeal the disallowance to the DAB within 60 calendar days of the date you 
received this letter or, if applicable, within 60 calendar days after the date that the state receives 
the unfavorable reconsideration.  If the state chooses to appeal this disallowance, written appeals 
request must include: (1) a copy of this disallowance decision; (2) a copy of the reconsideration 
decision, if applicable; (3) an expression of its intention to appeal the disallowance; (4) the 
amount in dispute; and (5) a brief statement of why the disallowance is wrong.  In addition, the 
state should reference Disallowance Number LA-2014-001-MAP in the appeal request.  The 
Board will notify the state of further procedures.   Please also send a copy of your appeal to my 
attention at the following address Mr. Bill Brooks, Associate Regional Administrator; Centers 
for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Region 6; 1301 Young Street, Room 833; Dallas, Texas 
75202.  
 
A notice of appeal may also be submitted to the DAB by mail, by facsimile (fax) if under 10 
pages, or electronically using the DAB’s electronic filing system (DAB E-File). Submissions are 
considered made on the date they are postmarked, sent by certified or registered mail, deposited 
with a commercial mail delivery service, faxed (where permitted), or successfully submitted via 
DAB E-File.  To use DAB E-File to submit your notice of appeal, you or your representative 
must first become a registered user by clicking "Register" at the bottom of the DAB E-File 
homepage, https://dab/efile.hhs.gov/; entering the information requested on the "Register New 
Account" form; and clicking the "Register Account" button.  Once registered, you or your 
representative should login to DAB E-File using the e-mail address and password provided 
during registration; click "File New Appeal" on the menu; click the "Appellate" button; and 
provide and upload the requested information and documents on the "File New Appeal-Appellate 
Division" form.  Detailed instructions can be found on the DAB E-File homepage. 
 
If the state appeals the disallowance under section 1116(d) of the Act, section 1903(d) of the Act 
provides you the option of retaining the funds were previously paid to the state, which are  now 
being disallowed by this notice, pending a final administrative decision.  If the final decision 
upholds the disallowance and you elect to retain the  funds during the appeals process, the proper 
amount of the disallowance plus interest computed pursuant to section 1903(d)(5) of the Act will 
be offset in a subsequent grant award.  You may exercise your option to retain the disputed funds 
by notifying me, in writing, no later than 60 days after the date this letter is received. In the 

https://dab/efile.hhs.gov/
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absence of notification that the state elects to retain the funds, the Secretary will recover 
$311,576,411 pending the final decision of the Departmental Appeals Board. 
 
If you have any question please contact Demetria Carter at 225-342-0203 or Michael Jones at 
214-767-6279 or, via email, at demetria.carter@cms.hhs.gov and michael.jones@cms.hhs.gov. 
  
     Sincerely, 
 
 
            
     Bill Brooks 
     Associate Regional Administrator 
     Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health 
 
 
cc via Email:  Jeff Reynolds/DHH 
            Jen Steele/DHH 
                   Pam Diez/ DHH 
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