



June 30, 2025

Courtney Miller, Director CMS/Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services Medicaid & CHIP Operations Group 601 East 12th Street, Room 355 Kansas City, Missouri 64106

RE: Louisiana Title XXI State Plan Transmittal No. 25-0005-A

Dear Ms. Miller:

The purpose of this SPA is to is to implement required coverage for incarcerated youth in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), as described in section 5121 of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2023 (CAA, 2023). Within the 30 days prior to release (or within one week of release, or as soon as practicable after release), the State will provide eligible children with any screenings, diagnostic services, or case management services that would otherwise be available to children under the CHIP State Plan (or waiver of such plan).

I have reviewed and approved the enclosed Louisiana Title XXI State Plan material.

I recommend this material for adoption and inclusion in the body of the State Plan. Should you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact Marjorie Jenkins at (225) 342-3881 or via email at Marjorie.Jenkins@la.gov.

Tribal notification around this State Plan action was issued to the Tribes on June 17, 2025, with the comment period ending on June 23, 2025. No comments were received in response to the notice.

Sincerely,

Bruce D) Greenstein

Seerctary

Attachment

BG:KS:MJ

4.1.9.3 ⋈ Services to Incarcerated Youth

Treatment of inmates of a public institution complies with sections 2102(d) and 2110(b)(7) of the Act, as follows:

- (1) The State does not terminate eligibility for any child enrolled in a separate CHIP solely because the child is an inmate of a public institution.
- (2) The State processes any application submitted by or on behalf of a child who is an inmate of a public institution and makes an eligibility determination for a separate CHIP.
- (3) The State elects to suspend CHIP coverage for the duration of a child's incarceration. The State will use a benefits suspension.
- (4) The State redetermines eligibility for any child prior to their release if it has been longer than 12 months since the child's last redetermination and restores separate CHIP coverage to eligible children upon their release.
- (5) Within 30 days prior to release (or within one week, or as soon as practicable, after release), the State provides children enrolled in a separate CHIP with any screenings, diagnostic services, and case management services otherwise available CHIP State Plan (or waiver of such plan).