

State Name:	Louisiana	OMB Control Number: 0938-114
State Name:	Louisiana	OMB Control Number: 0938-11

Transmittal Number: LA - 18 - 0015

Cost Sharing Limitations

G3

42 CFR 447.56

1916

1916A

The state administers cost sharing in accordance with the limitations described at 42 CFR 447.56, and 1916(a)(2) and (j) and 1916A(b) of the Social Security Act, as follows:

Exemptions

Date Ne

The state may not impose cost sharing upon the following groups of individuals:

Date Received: 9-24-18
Date Approved: 12-20-18
Date Effective: 8-31-18
Transmittal Number: 18-0015

State: Louisiana

- Individuals ages 1 and older, and under age 18 eligible under the Infants and Children under Age 18 eligibility group (42 CFR 435.118).
- Infants under age 1 eligible under the Infants and Children under Age 18 eligibility group (42 CFR 435.118), whose income does not exceed the <u>higher</u> of:
 - 133% FPL; and

Groups of Individuals - Mandatory Exemptions

- If applicable, the percent FPL described in section 1902(l)(2)(A)(iv) of the Act, up to 185 percent.
- Disabled or blind individuals under age 18 eligible for the following eligibility groups:
 - SSI Beneficiaries (42 CFR 435.120).
 - Blind and Disabled Individuals in 209(b) States (42 CFR 435.121).
 - Individuals Receiving Mandatory State Supplements (42 CFR 435.130).
- Children for whom child welfare services are made available under Part B of title IV of the Act on the basis of being a child in foster care and individuals receiving benefits under Part E of that title, without regard to age.
- Disabled children eligible for Medicaid under the Family Opportunity Act (1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XIX) and 1902(cc) of the Act).
- Pregnant women, during pregnancy and through the postpartum period which begins on the last day of pregnancy and extends through the end of the month in which the 60-day period following termination of pregnancy ends, except for cost sharing for services specified in the state plan as not pregnancy-related.
- Any individual whose medical assistance for services furnished in an institution is reduced by amounts reflecting available income other than required for personal needs.
- An individual receiving hospice care, as defined in section 1905(o) of the Act.
- Indians who are <u>currently receiving or have ever received</u> an item or service furnished by an Indian health care provider or through referral under contract health services.
- Individuals who are receiving Medicaid because of the state's election to extend coverage to the Certain Individuals Needing Treatment for Breast or Cervical Cancer eligibility group (42 CFR 435.213).



Groups of Individuals - Optional Exemptions					
The state may elect to exempt the following groups of individuals from cost sharing:					
The state elects to exempt individuals under age 19, 20 or 21, or any reasonable category of individuals 18 years of age or over.					
Indicate below the age of the exemption:	State: Louisiana				
○ Under age 19	Date Received: 9-24-18				
○ Under age 20	Date Approved: 12-20-18 Date Effective: 8-31-18				
• Under age 21	Transmittal Number: 18-0015				
Other reasonable category					
The state elects to exempt individuals whose medical assistance for services furnished in a home and community-based setting is reduced by amounts reflecting available income other than required for personal needs.					
Services - Mandatory Exemptions					
The state may not impose cost sharing for the following services:					
Emergency services as defined at section 1932(b)(2) of the Act and 42 CFR 438.114(a).					
Family planning services and supplies described in section 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Act, including contraceptives and pharmaceuticals for which the state claims or could claim federal match at the enhanced rate under section 1903(a)(5) of the Act for family planning services and supplies.					
Preventive services, at a minimum the services specified at 42 CFR 457.520, provided to children under 18 years of age regardless of family income, which reflect the well-baby and well child care and immunizations in the Bright Futures guidelines issued by the American Academy of Pediatrics.					
Pregnancy-related services, including those defined at 42 CFR 440.210(a)(2) and 440.250(p), and counseling and drugs for cessation of tobacco use. All services provided to pregnant women will be considered pregnancy-related, except those services specificially identified in the state plan as not being related to pregnancy.					
Provider-preventable services as defined in 42 CFR 447.26(b).					
Enforceability of Exemptions					
The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exemptions from cost sharing contained in 42 CFR 447.56 are (check all that apply):					
■ To identify that American Indians/Alaskan Natives (AI/AN) are currently receiving or have ever received an item or service furnished by an Indian health care provider or through referral under contract health services in accordance with 42 CFR 447.56(a)(1)(x), the state uses the following procedures:					
∑ The state accepts self-attestation					
☐ The state runs periodic claims reviews					
☐ The state obtains an Active or Previous User Letter or other Indian Health Services (IHS) document					
☐ The Eligibility and Enrollment and MMIS systems flag exempt recipients					



	☐ Other procedure			
	Additional description of procedures used is provided below (optional):			
	To identify all other individuals exempt from cost sharing, the state uses the following procedures (check all that apply):			
	☐ The MMIS system flags recipients who are exempt			
	☐ The Eligibility and Enrollment System flags recipients who are exempt			
	☐ The Medicaid card indicates if beneficiary is exempt			
	The Eligibility Verification System notifies providers when a beneficiary is exempt			
	Other procedure			
	Additional description of procedures used is provided below (optional):			
Payments to	<u>Providers</u>			
✓ The state reduces the payment it makes to a provider by the amount of a beneficiary's cost sharing obligation, regardless of whether the provider has collected the payment or waived the cost sharing, except as provided under 42 CFR 447.56(c).				
Payments to	Managed Care Organizations			
The stat	te contracts with one or more managed care organizations to deliver services under Medicaid. Yes			
ben	state calculates its payments to managed care organizations to include cost sharing established under the state plan for eficiaries not exempt from cost sharing, regardless of whether the organization imposes the cost sharing on its recipient mbers or the cost sharing is collected.			
Aggregate L	<u>imits</u>			
	dicaid premiums and cost sharing incurred by all individuals in the Medicaid household do not exceed an aggregate limit of 5 cent of the family's income applied on a quarterly or monthly basis.			
	The percentage of family income used for the aggregate limit is:			

State: Louisiana

Date Received: 9-24-18 Date Approved: 12-20-18 Date Effective: 8-31-18

Transmittal Number: 18-0015



♠ 5%						
○ 4%	State: Louisiana Date Received: 9-24-18					
C 20/	Date Approved: 12-20-18					
○ 3%	Date Effective: 8-31-18					
○ 2%	Transmittal Number: 18-00	15				
○ 1%	Transmital Italia of To ob					
Other: %						
The state calculates family income for the purpose of the aggregate limit on the following basis:						
○ Quarterly						
Monthly						
	1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1					
The state has a process to track each family's incurred premiums and cost sharing rely on beneficiary documentation.	nrough a mechanism that does not	No				
Explain why the state's premium and cost sharing rules do not place beneficiaries at risk of reaching the aggregate family limit:						
To comply with the tracking requirement, the State conducted an analysis of its Medicaid beneficiaries to determine who might be at risk of exceeding the five percent aggregate cap. The State used this data to alter cost sharing policies to effectuate policies that would limit the risk of individuals exceeding the aggregate cap. Using state fiscal year 2018 (SFY18) data, the State determined that out of 1,634,418 Medicaid beneficiaries, that 158,138 beneficiaries who exceeded the five percent aggregate cap, incurred copayments during this period. Applying parameters on the data to reflect a tiered copay structure, the State established an income tier of \$0-\$800 per month, whereas beneficiaries are subject to \$0 drug copays and an income tier of greater than \$800 per month, whereas a copay would apply. Tiering by income, the State determined that 158,138 beneficiaries who previously exceeded the five percent aggregate cap would fall within the \$0 drug copay income band, leaving approximately zero individuals who previously exceeded the five percent aggregate cap, subject to any cost sharing. In the event that any beneficiary's cost sharing exceeds his/her five percent aggregate cap, the State will have a process in place to reimburse these beneficiaries. Beneficiaries who are not exempt from copayment or that do not fall within the \$0-\$800 monthly household income tier, would still be subject to established copayments.						
The state has a documented appeals process for families that believe they have inc the aggregate limit for the current monthly or quarterly cap period.	urred premiums or cost sharing over	Yes				
Describe the appeals process used:						
MCOs are contractually required to operate a grievance and appeal process. If MCO members are not satisfied with the outcome of the MCO appeal process, they may file an appeal with the State. Individuals enrolled in fee-for-service (FFS) may file an appeal directly with the State.						
Describe the process used to reimburse beneficiaries and/or providers if the far limit for the month/quarter:	nily is identified as paying over the ag	gregate				

The State will provide information to beneficiaries about copayments, the five percent aggregate family limit, and how to contact the State if they perceive that the five percent aggregate family limit has been exceeded, via its website at www.medicaid.la.gov, until January 1, 2020, when the State will operationalize individual, system-generated notices. The State has implemented a tiered copayment structure through December 31, 2019, that significantly narrows the risk for individuals to exceed the aggregate family limit. Effective January 1, 2020, the State will implement a Point of Sale edit that will calculate the five percent aggregate limit, flag individuals as exempt/non-exempt and turn off cost sharing when the five percent aggregate family limit has been met, eliminate all of the risk for individual to exceed the aggregate family



limit.

■ Describe the process for beneficiaries to request a reassessment of their family aggregate limit if they have a change in circumstances or if they are being terminated for failure to pay a premium:

The beneficiary notifies the State of a change in circumstance and their family aggregate limit is reevaluated based on the information provided.

The state imposes additional aggregate limits, consistent with 42 CFR 447.56(f)(5).

No

PRA Disclosure Statement

According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 0938-1148. The time required to complete this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance Officer, Mail Stop C4-26-05, Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850.

V.20160722

State: Louisiana

Date Received: 9-24-18
Date Approved: 12-20-18
Date Effective: 8-31-18

Transmittal Number: 18-0015