#### **Can I Appeal a Medicaid Decision?**

Yes, you have the right to request a review of a Medicaid decision. This is called an appeal. You have the right to appeal:

- If all the services you requested were denied
- If part of the services you requested were denied
- If you were offered different services than you requested
- If the service provider did not submit for the full amount of services you requested. (In this case, a doctor's note showing the need for the requested services must be included with the appeal.)
- If services are not provided with reasonable promptness

## Is There Anything Besides Appealing That I Can Do to Get Services?

The provider that sent in your request for services can request a reconsideration, with additional information. This must be done within 30 days of the denial. You will get a new decision, and if services are denied again, you can appeal then.

### How do I appeal?

Complete an appeal request form online at: <a href="http://www.adminlaw.state.la.us/HH.htm">http://www.adminlaw.state.la.us/HH.htm</a>

or

send a letter to Medicaid saying you want to appeal a decision. You can send the letter to:

Division of Administrative Law Health and Hospitals Section P.O. Box 4189 Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4189 (Fax) 225-219-9823

or

call: 225-342-5800 or 225-342-0443 (Telephone appeals are allowed, but are not encouraged)

Use only one method to file your appeal. Do not duplicate the same appeal.

### Do I Have to Get Another Doctor's Statement?

To win the appeal, you may need to get a statement from your doctor about why the services are needed. The doctor's statement should include the number of hours of services needed.

# Can my Support Coordinator help with my appeal?

YES! Your Support Coordinator should have received training to assist you with an appeal. He/she can help you gather the necessary information within the allotted time.

#### What Deadlines Apply?

- The notice of denial will tell you when the appeal must be filed. You must appeal before or by that date.
- Appealing within 30 days of denial may keep services you are already receiving from being cut while the appeal is going on.
- You must get a final decision on your appeal within 90 days of the date you file it, unless you request or agree to additional time.

## Can Someone Help me with the Appeal?

Yes, you can have a friend, relative, attorney, or other person represent you in an appeal if you choose. You may contact the Disability Rights Louisiana for help at 1-800-960-7705.

\*All Fee-For-Service Medicaid appeals and MCO appeals after the internal MCO appeal process has been completed.

### **APPEAL FORM**

I want to appeal.	
Name of Medicaid Beneficiary appealing:	
Social Security Number of Medicaid Beneficiary:	
Would you like to request an expedited fair hearing?  If you have an emergency health issue, you can ask for a faster (expedited) fair expedited fair hearing, you may be contacted by the Louisiana Department of Hemergency health.	hearing. If you request an
Describe Items or Services requested (or enclose copy	of denial notice):
Signature of Beneficiary Date	

### **Submit form to:**

Division of Administrative Law Health and Hospitals Section P. O. Box 4189

Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4189 Fax: (225) 219-9823

Online: <a href="http://laserfiche.adminlaw.state.la.us/Forms/hSgLX">http://laserfiche.adminlaw.state.la.us/Forms/hSgLX</a>

### Louisiana Division of Administrative Law Contact Info

Physical Address: 1020 Florida Street Baton Rouge, LA 70802

Phone: 225-342-1800 Fax: 225-342-1812

E-mail: dhaddad@adminlaw.la.gov Website: www.adminlaw.la.gov

### **Disability Rights Louisiana Contact Info**

Main Office: 8325 Oak Street New Orleans, LA 70118

Phone: 800-960-7705

E-mail: info@disabilityrightsla.org Website: www.disabilityrightsla.org