John Bel Edwards GOVERNOR



Dr. Courtney N. Phillips SECRETARY

State of Louisiana

Department of Health Office of Public Health Sanitarian Services

Instructions for Obtaining a License

Training Requirements

All applicants for the basic, combination, or maintenance license shall obtain approved training prior to applying to the Office of Public Health (OPH) Onsite Wastewater Program (OSWW) for licensure. Currently, the University of Louisiana – Lafayette (ULL) is the sole provider of this training, which is given four times annually at various locations around the state. Please contact their Division of Continuing Education at (337) 482-6386 for the Onsite Wastewater Installers Workshop schedule, registration, and tuition information. After each workshop, which is a halfday classroom period ending in an exam, ULL forwards a roster of students to OSWW, and OSWW maintains responsibility for grading the final workshop exams. By this means, OSWW maintains training records, and it is the new applicant's responsibility to complete and submit the necessary application form(s) and affidavit when applying to OSWW for a license. These forms can be obtained from your local parish health unit or our website listed at the bottom of this letter. Should the workshop exam score not meet the 70% minimum required by the Sanitary Code, the workshop attendee will be contacted by the Onsite Wastewater Program and advised on re-taking the course exam with a regional OPH representative. There is no additional charge for taking the exam over again, but it is necessary that the applicant pass the exam before being allowed to apply for a license.

Training is valid for five years (to the end of the fifth calendar year after taking the class) (*as per Title 51, Part 13, Subchapter C, §737.E.*). Also, you are responsible for keeping up with your training date but if you forget, OSWW maintains careful records on training, in collaboration with ULL. Therefore, please feel free to contact the Onsite Wastewater Program at (225) 219-0179 if you need to verify your previous training.

Insurance Requirements

A certificate of general liability insurance (COI) which is valid for the duration of the license (*as per Title 51, Part 13, Subchapter C, §737.H.*) is required. The Louisiana Department of Health (LDH), Office of Public Health (OPH), Onsite Wastewater Program (OSWW), name and address, Bin 10, Box 11, P.O. Box 4489, Baton Rouge, LA 70821, shall be listed on the policy as a certificate holder to ensure that this office is notified in a timely manner in the event of any interruption in coverage. The policy shall indicate minimum coverage limits of at least \$100,000 each occurrence/ \$300,000 aggregate per person. On policies that cover multiple installers the aggregate should state \$300,000 for each person (thus for two installers -\$100,000/\$600,000; three installers - \$100,000/\$900,000, etc.). You would need to request that the COI include your name. If you prefer, or if the Certificate of Insurance cannot be amended to include your name, then this office can accept the certificate of insurance with the company name. In this case you <u>must</u> supply a copy of the **original** article of incorporation of your company listing your

name as a member/officer and a copy of the status of good standing of the company with the LA Secretary of State.

License Types and Requirements

(Please be sure to fill out the forms in ink or type them.)

1. Basic License

This license is required by the Louisiana Sanitary Code (*Title 51, Part 13, Subchapter C, §737.A.*) for the installation and maintenance of septic tanks/field lines, septic tanks/oxidation ponds, septic tanks/sand filters, or limited use systems. The license application packet which needs to be submitted to LDH-OPH, OSWW for a basic license consists of:

-A completed and signed Basic Application form (*as per Title 51, Part 13, Subchapter C, §737.A.*) -A notarized affidavit certifying the applicant has obtained, read and understands the provisions of the Sanitary Code (*Title 51, Part 13* and the requirements for minimum distance to sources of contamination in *Part 12*); it must be signed by the applicant, two witnesses, and a notary. -A certificate of general liability insurance (*as per Title 51, Part 13, Subchapter C, §737.H.*) (see Insurance Requirements, above).

-A check or money order payable to LDH-OPH for one hundred dollars.

-Proof of successful completion of the onsite wastewater installers' examination.

2. Combination License

This license is required by the Louisiana Sanitary Code (*Title 51, Part 13, Subchapter C, §737.B.*) for the installation and maintenance of mechanical treatment plants. **This license may be obtained only in conjunction with a basic license, and is considered to be a separate license**. Please see the section on the Basic License, above; if the applicant meets all requirements for both combination and basic licenses, they can be obtained at the same time. The license application packet which needs to be submitted to LDH-OPH, OSWW for a combination license consists of:

- Basic license requirements - see section 1 above.

-A completed and signed Combination Application form (*as per Title 51, Part 13, Subchapter C, §737.B.*

-Endorsement(s) from licensed manufacturer(s) for the brand(s) of individual mechanical plant(s) to be installed and maintained specifying that the applicant is qualified to install and maintain said plants, in compliance with the requirements of this code. Endorsement document(s) **must be original(s)** and signed if a signature blank is provided by the manufacturer; copies will not be accepted (*as per Title51, Part 13, Subchapter C, §737, B*).

-A check or money order payable to LDH-OPH for one hundred dollars. (May include one check for two hundred dollars to cover the one hundred fee for the basic license and the one hundred fee for the combination license.)

3. Maintenance License

This license is required by the Louisiana Sanitary Code (*Title 51, Part 13, Subchapter C, §737.C.*) for the maintenance of mechanical treatment plants (when the endorsement specifies service or maintenance only), and does not apply to installations. The license application packet which needs to be submitted to the LDH-OPH, OSWW for a maintenance license consists of:

-A completed and signed Maintenance Application form (*as per Title 51, Part 13, Subchapter C, §737.C.*)

- -A notarized affidavit certifying the applicant has obtained, read and understands the provisions of the Sanitary Code (*Title 51, Part 13* and the requirements for minimum distance to sources of contamination in Part 12); it must be signed by the applicant, two witnesses, and a notary. (Only **one** affidavit required **per applicant**.)
- -Endorsement(s) from the licensed manufacturer(s) for the brand(s) of plant(s) the Maintenance provider wishes to maintain (*as per Title 51, Part 13, Subchapter C, §737.C*).
- -A certificate of general liability insurance (*as per Title 51, Part 13, Subchapter C, §737.H.*) (see Insurance Requirements, above). (Only **one** COI required **per applicant**.)
- -A check or money order payable to LDH-OPH for one hundred dollars (Fee can be combined with payment for other licensing fees.)

<u>Selecting the appropriate packet</u> from the Related Items on the OSWW web page, Installer License Application Packets:

- 1. Need only a Basic license, then select the Basic License Application packet. (The fee is \$100.)
- 2. Need both Basic and Combination licenses, then select the Combination License Application packet. (The fee for the Basic and Combination licenses is \$200.)
- 3. Need a Maintenance License, then select the Maintenance License Application. (The fee is \$100 for the maintenance only license but if you are getting all three licenses, the Basic, Combination and the Maintenance licenses, the total fee is \$300.)

It is important to check the wording on your endorsement to help you select the appropriate application packet. For instance, if your endorsement states you are able to install and maintain the mechanical treatment plant, then you will need the combination license. However, if the endorsement states you are only able to maintain the plant, then you will need the maintenance license. If you have multiple endorsements and you have them worded as the two examples above, then you will need all three of the licenses.

Packets are to be submitted by December 1st or appropriate late fees will be applied beginning December 1st. Remember only one affidavit and one Certificate of Insurance is required per applicant (with each new application or renewal) regardless of the number of licenses pursued.

All licenses expire, each year on January 31st.

Mail application packets to: LDH OPH CEHS Onsite Wastewater Program, Bin 10 Box 11 P.O. Box 4489 Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4489

Contact information:

Onsite Wastewater Program Phone Number: (225) 219-0179 Website - http://www.privatewaterandsewage.dhh.louisiana.gov