

# MOLLUSCAN SHELLFISH PROGRAM

#### OYSTER RELAY APPLICATION PROCEDURES

**INTRODUCTION**: This document is to serve as a guideline for the procedures that are needed to apply and relay Molluscan Shellfish from closed harvest areas to open areas in the State of Louisiana.

ANYONE WISHING TO RELAY MOLLUSCAN SHELLFISH IN THE STATE OF LOUISIANA FROM A CLOSED/ UNAPPROVED HARVEST AREA, MUST SECURE A PERMIT TO RELAY OYSTERS FROM THE LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, OFFICE OF PUBLIC HEALTH.

# STEP 1: OBTAIN THE NECESSARY FORMS

When applying for an application to relay shellfish, the applicant must submit all necessary forms during the 1<sup>st</sup> two weeks of each calendar month (Example January 1-14). The applicant will begin the actual relay the following 1st. two weeks of the following month (EX. February 1-14).

The remaining days of the month after submitting the initial application, is to allow Molluscan Shellfish field personnel time to perform a shellfish study. The crews will dredge approximately 20 oysters from the closed location(s)/lease(s), and place them in the approved/open proposed areas being used for bedding. After 14 days, the shellfish will be collected by the field crews and be submitted to the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) lab for testing.

The shellfish that were relayed from the closed area MUST remain down in the approved waters for the remainder of the month or no less than 14 days.

At NO TIME can oysters from the relayed area be harvested, sacked and placed on the market for human consumption during or before the 14 days.

There are 4 blank forms that must be completed and signed.

### 1. APPLICANT AND SURVEILANCE OFFICER FORM

By Louisiana Law, an approved surveillance officer MUST be in the direct line of sight during harvesting, transporting and bedding. The surveillance officer can be any person who is commissioned in law enforcement in the State of Louisiana. This form MUST be signed and dated by the surveillance officer.

#### 2. RELAY RULES

The rules pertaining to an oyster relay will accompany the permit packet. It should be read and acknowledged by the Surveillance Officer and applicant.

#### 3. APPLICATION FOR PERMIT TO RELAY SHELLFISH

This form must be completed and signed by the applicant. It will identify the closed harvest area(s) where the shellfish will be taken from and transported to for purging. Shellfish may be taken from a closed area from 2 leases and then be used to "bed" a maximum of 2 leases in an open/approved harvest area. This form will also identify which boats/vessels that will be used to perform the relay.

If the applicant does not own the lease(s), he or she MUST have a signed statement by the lease owner to signify that the applicant has approval to remove and relay molluscan shellfish on his/her lease(s).

NO SHELLFISH CAN BE HARVESTED OR RELAYED FROM AN AREA THAT IS CLASSIFIED AS PROHIBITED.

#### 4. SURVEILLANCE OFFICIER'S DAILEY TRIP REPORT

This form will be filled out by the Surveillance Officer and should be submitted daily to The Louisiana Department of Health at:

P.O. BOX 4489 BIN #10 BATON ROUGE, LA 70821-4489 OR

**EMAIL**: <a href="mailto:chris.lemaire@la.gov">chris.lemaire@la.gov</a> or <a href="mailto:jennifer.armentor@la.gov">jennifer.armentor@la.gov</a>

FAX: 225-342-7607

# **STEP 2: FEES**

#### 1. APPLICATION FEE

The fee to apply for a permit to relay Molluscan Shellfish is currently \$100.00. This application fee is non-refundable.

#### 2. CASH BOND

A \$5,000.00 cash performance bond is required when applying for a permit to relay Molluscan Shellfish from a closed/unapproved area to an open/approved area. This cash bond will be returned to the applicant once the oyster relay has been completed.

If there is a discovery of any violations during the relay by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries or the Department of Health, the \$5000.000 cash bond will be forfeited. See RELAY RULES for further information.

The payment of fees must be in the form of 2 separate cashier's check or money order made out to The Louisiana Department of Health

# **STEP 4: PERMIT**

Once all the documents have been completed and signed by all parties and have been submitted to LDH, a permit will be issued. The permit will be in the form of a packet and will include a map to show where the relay will take place. The 1<sup>st</sup> page of the permit is the **RELAY COVER LETTER**. It will be the official recognition of the relay and will include a signature by one of the administrative staff members in the Bureau of Sanitarian Services (Director of the Bureau of Sanitarian Services, Chief of Special Operations, or Molluscan Shellfish Administrator/designee). The permit will be issued in person, emailed, faxed or mailed. A copy of the permit packet will need to be placed on EACH boat that is approved to perform the relay. One of the staff members in the Molluscan Shellfish Program will email a copy to the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDF) enforcement division, LDWF shellfish biology division, and LDH molluscan shellfish field crews within their designated basins.

The Permit Cover Letter will contain a permit number. This number must be located on both sides of the permitted vessel in at least 6 inch letters and must be viewable.

An application to relay molluscan shellfish can be requested by contacting Judy Vercher (225-342-7643, judy.vercher@la.gov), Jennifer Armentor(225-342-7539, jennifer.armentor@la.gov) or Chris Lemaire (225-342-7540, chris.lemaire@la.gov)



# LOUISIANA OYSTER RELAY

#### APPLICATION CHECK LIST

# A. APPLICANT AND SURVEILANCE OFFICIER ACKNOWLEGMENT FORM Signed and Dated by Surveillance Officer

#### **B. RELAY RULES REVIEWED**

# C. APPLICATION FOR PERMIT TO RELAY SHELLFISH Information on

Closed Lease(s) Completed

Information on Approved/Open Lease(s) Completed

Signed Letter or Statement by lease owner (if needed)

Name, Registration No., or Document of Boats used during Relay

**Applicant Signature and Date** 

Name and Commission Number of Surveillance Officer

# D. SURVEILLANCE OFFICER'S DAILY TRIP REPORT

Copies Made

# E. FEES

\$100.00 Application Fee Cashier's Check or Money Order \$5000.00 Cash Bond Cashier's Check or Money Order