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Return-to-Work Self-Certification for COVID-19* 
 

Persons with COVID-19 symptoms and/or a positive test who were directed to care for themselves at home may end self-
isolation when at least 24 hours have passed since recovery, meaning: 

• Fever free without the use of fever-reducing medications, and  

• Improvement in symptoms (e.g., cough, shortness of breath), and 

• At least 10 days* have passed since symptoms first appeared. 
 

Persons with laboratory-confirmed COVID-19 who have not had any symptoms may discontinue self-isolation when at least 10 
days** have passed since the date of their first positive COVID-19 diagnostic test and have had no subsequent illness. 
 
Persons suspected of having COVID-19 who have been tested and receive a negative test may discontinue isolation precautions 
provided they feel well. 
 
If the employee is sick with non-COVID-19 symptoms, or if the employee has tested negative for COVID-19***, the employee 
must still be symptom free for 24 hours before returning to the worksite. If teleworking or working from home, the employee 
does not have to wait the 24 hours before resuming work duties. 
 
If an employee is a close contact (defined as within 6 feet for 15 minutes) of a confirmed positive, that person may return to 
work after the 14-day quarantine period has passed, as long as no symptoms develop. 

 

 
 
 

Test Date:  /  / 2020  
 
Test Result (circle one): 

 
Positive 

 
Negative 

 
Not tested  

 
Date of Symptom Onset: 

 
   / / 

 
2020 

 

 
Date of Recovery (as defined above): 

 
   / / 

 
2020 

 

 
By signing this document, I verify that I have been symptom-free for the appropriate number of days and that the 
information reported above is correct. Therefore, I can be released from isolation and may resume work-related 
activities. 

 
 
 

Signature Date 
 
 

*This form is not required by the State of Louisiana to return to work but is intended as a guide to assist employers and employees on 
when it is safe to return to work. This form is not mandated by the State of Louisiana. 
**Employees of congregate settings (nursing homes, prisons) must wait 10 days to return to work, unless the employee is deemed 
essential and allowed to return while in the quarantine period according to CDC guidance. 
***The test must be a negative PCR test at least five days after exposure to a positive case or suspected illness. 
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