Affirmative Answers to the Legal Questionnaire

When completing a LA Bureau of EMS **initial** license application at the **EMT**, **AEMT**, **and Paramedic level** or upon answering affirmatively to any of the questions in the questionnaire on a license **renewal or revision** application **at any level**, the following information should be uploaded to the practitioner application for licensure:

- Any and all supporting documentation regarding the affirmative answers on the questionnaire.
- A letter addressing the EMS Certification Commission regarding the affirmative answers describing the information/incident disclosed and your involvement in the case. (dated and signed)
- For Charges/Criminal Conviction disclosures, a Louisiana State Police Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information Fingerprint Background Report from the last 30 days as well as any and all related case/court documents regarding your affirmative answers on the questionnaire.
- For Physical/Mental Limitations or Substance Abuse disclosures: A letter from your physician (on the physician's practice letterhead) stating the facts of your care and if you are cleared by your physician to work in the rigors and stress of the EMS field regarding your affirmative answers on the questionnaire.

LA Bureau of EMS applicants can request and receive a Louisiana Background Check Report by fingerprint by visiting the <u>Louisiana State Police (LSP) Headquarters in Baton Rouge</u>. The LSP Bureau of Identification and Information is located at <u>7919 Independence Blvd</u>, <u>Baton Rouge</u>, <u>LA</u>. The LSP Headquarters hours of operation are 8:00 AM – 4:00 PM.

The LSP Bureau of Identification and Information Report can also be requested via U.S.P.S. mail. The required information to request the report by mail can be downloaded from the LSP.org website, however, applicants will have to be fingerprinted by local law enforcement and subsequently forward the fingerprint card with all of the other required documentation. The application can take up to 21 days before it is processed by LSP.

The required information to request the report in person or via U.S.P.S. mail can be downloaded from the http://www.LSP.org website:

- Each applicant will need to complete and submit via in person or by U.S.P.S. mail:
- Right to Review Authorization Form
- Right to Review Disclosure Form
- Payment is required at the time of service. The individual may use a debit/credit card if requesting the report in person. Two money orders made payable to the Louisiana State Police or cashier checks in the amount of \$10 and \$26 will also be accepted in person or by mail.
- A valid driver's license