
License Fees and Fee Waivers 
  

Application Type EMR EMT AEMT PARAMEDIC 
Initial Municipal or 

Volunteer Fire 
$10 $15 $40 $50 

Initial Private or 
Hospital Based 

$10 $30 $40 $50 

Initial Out of State $10 $60 $80 $100 
Initial High School JumpStart 

Student 
Fee 
Waived 

 $30 N/A N/A 

Initial Military Fee 
Waived 

Fee 
Waived 

Fee 
Waived 

Fee Waived 

Renewal Municipal or 
Volunteer Fire 

$5 $10 $35 $45 

Renewal Private or Hospital Based $5 $25 $35 $45 

  

Waiver of Licensing Fee 
Active United States Uniformed Service Members 

• Applicants for an EMR, EMT, AEMT, or Paramedic license (initial or renewal) that demonstrate 
active status with the United States Uniformed Service, and otherwise meet the requirements 
of Louisiana licensing, shall be exempt from payment of the initial or renewal license fees. 

• This waiver is for the use of this license exclusively in the United States Uniformed Service and 
is not for use for private sector employment. 

Federal Government Employee 
• Applicants for EMR, EMT, AEMT or Paramedic license (initial or renewal) that are able to 

demonstrate employment by the federal government, shall be exempt from payment of the 
initial or renewal license fees. 

• This waiver is for the use of this license exclusively in the employment of the federal 
government and is not for use for private sector employment. 

High School and Secondary School Students 
• Applicants for an initial EMR license participating IN A HIGH SCHOOL Jump Start EMS program, 

and are under the age of 19 years old, shall be exempt from payment of the initial license fee. 

Volunteer EMR or EMT 
• Applicants for an EMR or EMT license (initial or renewal) who serve as bona fide volunteer 

community responders and otherwise meet the requirements, shall be exempt from payment 
of the initial or renewal license fees. 



• Individuals functioning as an EMR or EMT in conjunction with any type of compensated 
employment, even if the employer classifies the EMR or EMT functions as a volunteer, shall 
not be classified as a volunteer for the purposes of licensure. 

EMTs Employed at a Municipality 
• Applicants for an EMT license (initial) who serve as an employee of the state of Louisiana or 

another public entity, a municipal fire department, a fire protection district, or a municipal 
law enforcement agency who does not perform emergency medical services outside of the 
individual’s official governmental responsibilities for any form of compensation and otherwise 
meet the requirements, shall pay the reduced fee for an initial EMT license. 

• Applicants for an EMT license (renewal) who serve as an employee of the state of Louisiana 
or another public entity, a municipal fire department, a fire protection district, or a municipal 
law enforcement agency who does not perform emergency medical services outside of the 
individual’s official governmental responsibilities for any form of compensation and otherwise 
meets the requirements, shall pay the reduced rate to renew an EMT license. 
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