
 

Pre-Application for Eligibility  
Determination  

 
The Pre-Application Eligibility Determination Process 

assists individuals in determining if they are eligible 

for licensure before enrolling in an education program 

if they have a criminal record.  

 

The Louisiana legislature amended its laws in 2022 to provide a pre-licensing application 

eligibility determination for individuals previously convicted of a crime, see Act 486 of the 

2022 Reg. Sess.  Individuals with previous criminal records can request a determination of 

whether their conviction disqualifies them from licensure. You may apply at any time to 

obtain a determination regarding your criminal history before enrollment or completing 

training or education. 
 

 

How to Complete an Application for Criminal History 
Determination: 

• Create a personal account at  https://labems.ldh.la.gov 
 

o Click here to learn how to create a personal account 
 

• Apply for an Initial License 
 

o Complete the application as necessary. 
 

o For the “License Level”: Select “Student (non-licensed)” 
 

o For the “Agency Affiliation”: Select “in-state agency and select “EMS 

Commission” 
 

o Note: There is no fee for a “student (non-licensed)” application 
 

o Upload all required documents as noted below 
 

o Submit the completed application for review 
 

 
What to Disclose In Your Application for Criminal History 
Determination 
 

It is important to disclose all charges within the last 10 years. Any omissions, either 

intentional or unintentional, may invalidate a Determination. A charge dismissed after the 

successful completion of a plea in abeyance may not appear on a criminal history report.  
 

The following types of criminal incidents usually must be reported: 
 

•   any citations or summons, warrants(s), arrests, charges, arraignments, indictments, or    

      convictions and or have pled guilty, no contest, nolo contendere, best interest, or any other 

https://a.storyblok.com/f/150540/x/7ba8303a36/act-486.pdf
https://a.storyblok.com/f/150540/x/7ba8303a36/act-486.pdf
https://labems.ldh.la.gov/
https://ldh.la.gov/assets/oph/ems/2019/190731CreateAnAccount.pdf


      similar plea; 
 

• any active or pending criminal offense or actions; 
 

• any misdemeanor criminal offense or actions, in any jurisdiction; 
 

• any felony criminal offense or actions, in any jurisdiction. 
 

 

The following information must be disclosed in the EMS application through the Bureau of 

EMS Information Management System: 

 

 Name of Offense 

 Date of Offense 
 Location of Offense 

 Name of Authority/Court 

 Action Taken 

 Describe in your own words the event(s), history and disposition 
 

The following attachments must be uploaded into the EMS application through the Bureau of 

EMS Information 

Management System: 
 
 

• You must provide copies of arrest report(s), court minute entries, court judgment 

orders, copies of probation or District Attorney diversion/intervention programs, final 

disposition, and any/all relevant records for each entry.   
 

• You must provide a Louisiana State Police (LSP) and Federal Bureau of Investigation 

(FBI) fingerprint-based criminal background report from the Louisiana State Police 

Louisiana Applicant Process system utilizing Identogo. For additional information on 

how to request the criminal history report Criminal History Report Requirements. The 

criminal history report must be dated 30 days before the application submission.   
 

Additional notes: 
 

• The term “criminal offense” means any act, whether misdemeanor or felony, 

punishable by municipal, state, or federal law.  

 

• You must provide information regardless of any subsequent dismissal, failure to 

prosecute, nolle prosequi, dropped charges, pre-trial intervention, deferred 

adjudication, expungement, or pardon. 

 

• You must disclose motor vehicle offenses such as Driving While Impaired/Intoxicated 

(DWI) or Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or intoxicated.  However, you do not need 

to disclose minor traffic offenses such as parking or speeding violations. 
 

• Incomplete applications will not be reviewed until all requested information is received. 
 

 
EMS Certification Commission Review and Decision 
 

A review of the information submitted in a complete application will be conducted.  You may 

also be required to submit additional information.  You may be summoned to appear before 

https://ldh.la.gov/page/ems-credentialing


the Emergency Medical Services Commission for a hearing.  Upon determination, a letter 

identifying whether the information you have submitted for review would or would not be 

able to obtain the license, even if you completed all other licensing requirements. 
 

Additional Notes: 
 

• Determination will be based solely on the information provided by you 

disclosed in your application.  Any intentional or unintentional misrepresentations 

or omissions may influence the determination. 
 

• If you later apply for a license, you may be subject to an additional review of your 

criminal history.   Decisions may be impacted by a change in Louisiana statutes, rules, 

or policies governing the license, or because of the discovery of additional 

information not previously known to the Bureau of EMS. 


