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Louisiana State Loan Repayment Program 
for Health Care Professionals 

 

Statutory Authority  
 
Section 338I of the United States Public Health Service (PHS) Act, 42 U.S.C. 254q-1, 
authorizes the Secretary of Health and Human Services, through the Health Resources and 
Services Administration, to make grants to States, which are funded through federal grant 
funds, which are matched $1 for $1 by the states with non-federal funds. These grants are to 
assist the states in the repayment of educational loans of health professionals who agree to 
provide primary health services in federally designated Health Professional Shortage Areas 
(HPSAs). The term HPSA, as used in this document, means a federally designated HPSA 
under Section 332 of the PHS Act, as amended.   
 

Background, Purpose and Mission  
 
The federal State Loan Repayment Program (SLRP) grants were established in 1987.  All 50 
states are eligible to apply for the SLRP funds.  The grant awards to states range from $50,000 
to $1,000,000, and the average grant award is $250,000. 
 
The purpose of the Louisiana SLRP is to encourage health professionals to serve in a HPSA. 
The mission of the program is to alleviate and ultimately overcome the state's problem of a 
substantial deficit of primary care health professionals in underserved rural and urban areas.  
 

Administration of Program   
 
The Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals’ (DHH) Bureau of Primary Care and Rural 
Health (Bureau) is responsible for administering the Louisiana SLRP. The Bureau will contract 
only with professionals who are licensed by the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 
the Louisiana State Board of Nurse Examiners, the Louisiana Board of Dentistry, the Louisiana 
State Board of Examiners of Psychologists, the Louisiana Licensed Professional Counselors 
Board of Examiners or the Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners.  

 
Health Professional Shortage Areas   
 
Since 1976, the PHS has been charged with designating HPSAs throughout the United States. 
including: 
 

 Population groups (i.e. Medicaid population, low income population, etc.). 
 

 Public, non-profit and private medical facilities throughout the United States that have a 
shortage of various types of health professionals. 
 

 Parishes, census tract groupings and facilities are also designated as HPSAs at the 
request of the DHH Bureau of Primary Care and Rural Health, according to the 
definitions and procedures of Section 332 of the PHS Act, as amended [Title 42, U.S. 
Code, Section 254e] and Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Part 5. 
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Louisiana has approximately 235 primary care, 158 dental, and 168 mental HPSA designations, 
which include rural parishes, as well as urban areas and facility designations. SLRP placement 
sites must be located in discipline-specific designated HPSA. To find your HPSA go to: 
http://datawarehouse.hrsa.gov/tools/analyzers/geo/ShortageArea.aspx . 
NOTE:  Refer to Appendix E for maps of designated HPSAs in Louisiana.   
 

 Primary Care: In this designation type, the number of hours per week each primary 
care physician in the parish sees patients is compared to the number of possible 
patients in the area for a geographic designation. In Louisiana, most of the primary care 
HPSA designations meet the high needs criteria, which means the qualifying ratio of 
possible patients to physicians needed to be designated as a HPSA is 3,000 possible 
patients to one full-time physician. Non-priority areas require a ratio of 3,500:1 to 
qualify. There are also “Population Group” and “Facility” HPSAs in this category. 

 

 Mental Health: In the mental health designation, the number of hours worked by 
psychiatrists is compared to the number of possible patients in the area most of the 
time. The criteria are met for high needs areas with a ratio of 20,000:1 for a geographic 
designation. Other non-high needs areas must meet a ratio of 30,000:1 to qualify. This 
category also includes the “Population Group” and “Facility” HPSAs. 

 

 Dental Health: The dental health designation requires that the number of hours each 
dentist works, the age of the dentist and the number of dental assistants the dentist 
employs is taken into consideration and then compared to the number of possible 
patients in the area. The dental HSPA which meets the criteria requires a 4,000:1 ratio 
in a high needs area for a geographic designation. Other non-high needs areas need a 
ratio of 5,000:1 to qualify. “Population Group” and “Facility” HPSAs are also included in 
this category. 

 

Eligibility Requirements 
 
Eligible Health Professionals: The following health professionals are eligible to receive a 
SLRP award: 
MD/DO  Doctors of Allopathic/Osteopathic Medicine – Family Practice (FP), General 

Practice (only those who have completed residency training), Internal Medicine 
(IM), Pediatrics (PD), Obstetrics/Gynecology (OB/GYN) and General Psychiatry 

DDS/DMD General Practice Dentists or Pediatric Dentists 
NP   Primary Care Certified Nurse Practitioners 
CNM    Certified Nurse-Midwives 
PA   Primary Care Physician Assistants 
RDH    Registered Clinical Dental Hygienists 
HSP  Health Service Psychologist (Ph.D. or equivalent for Clinical and    
            Counseling) 
LCP              Licensed Psychologists (Clinical/Counseling Psychologists -Ph.D. or   
            equivalent) 
LCSW    Licensed Clinical Social Workers (Master’s or Doctoral degree in Social   
            Work) 
PNS   Psychiatric Nurse Specialists 
LPC  Licensed Professional Counselors (Master’s or Doctoral degree with a major 

study in Counseling) 
MFT   Marriage and Family Therapists (Master’s or Doctoral degree with a major  
                      study in Marriage and Family Therapy) 

http://datawarehouse.hrsa.gov/tools/analyzers/geo/ShortageArea.aspx
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Note:  General practitioners (physicians who have not completed residency training 
programs) are not eligible for funding. 
 
Eligible Health Professionals-the following criteria must be met by applicants to be eligible 
for SLRP funds: 
 

 Professionals who are United States citizens/nationals must have a current license by 
the appropriate licensing agency to practice in Louisiana. 

 

 Professionals must agree to serve a minimum of three years in a federally designated 
HPSA appropriate for their discipline. 

 

 Professionals must work full-time (40 hours/week), with a minimum of 32 hours per 
week providing clinical services in an outpatient/ambulatory care setting located in a 
federally designated HPSA. There is an exception for obstetrics/gynecologists or nurse 
midwives who work at least 21 of those hours (per week) providing clinical services in 
an outpatient/ambulatory care setting. The professional must not have a work week that 
is compressed into less than 4 days per week. The professional shall not work more 
than 12 hours in any 24-hour period during their “regular” work week. Time spent on-call 
and travel time to a practice site will not count toward the 40 hours of work per week.  
Hours worked over the required 40 hours per week will not be applied toward any other 
work week. 

  

 Professionals whose educational loans are from certified educational lenders, whether 
governmental or commercial, must have been incurred during completion of their 
education.  Also, the loan funds must have been applied toward tuition, education, and 
reasonable living expenses for their own graduate/medical/undergraduate degrees. 

 

 Professionals who have not breached a health professional service contract with the 
federal, state, or local government, or other entities. 

 

 Professionals who have completely satisfied any other obligation for health professional 
service that is owed under an agreement with the federal government, state 
government, the local governing body, or other entities prior to the beginning of service 
under this program. 

 

 Professionals who have not had a lien levied against their property for a debt to the 
United States government. 
 

 Professionals who have not defaulted on their educational loans at any time, unless 
corrective actions have been made and loans are now in good standing. Professionals 
must agree to share confidential information (name and social security number) 
with Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance (LOFSA) for the sole 
purpose of verifying loans are in good standing. 

 

 Professionals who have not had a debt “written off” as uncollectible [pursuant to 31 
U.S.C. 3711(a)(3)], or had any federal service or payment obligation waived. 
 

 Professionals under contract to work for a public and/or non-profit facility must agree to 
accept Medicare, all applicable Medicaid managed health plans, and to treat patients 
regardless of their ability to pay. 
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 Professionals must offer a sliding fee scale (i.e., a discount fee schedule) to low-income, 
un-insured and under-insured people; must provide care at no cost for those unable to 
pay and must not discriminate against individuals based on their ability to pay or the 
type of payment offered.  The sliding fee scale used must be based on the federal 
poverty guidelines and apply to at least those who are at or below the most recent 200% 
federal poverty level. The poverty guidelines can be viewed at 
https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines.  Professionals must charge the usual and 
customary prevailing rates for the area in which their professional services are provided.  
(See the following on how to develop a sliding fee scale: 
http://nhsc.hrsa.gov/downloads/discountfeeschedule.pdf). The facility must have a 
posted sliding fee scale sign easily seen in the check-out area.  One (1) year of 
data for the site must be provided in order for the site to be eligible. This must be 
provided on the Louisiana SLRP Site Information Form by the facility at application and 
then updated at the end of the 2nd and 4th quarters throughout the duration of the 
contract.  The site is not eligible if this cannot be provided. 
 

 Individuals in the Reserve Component of the U.S. Armed Forces or National Guard.  
 

 Professionals who are willing to spend no more than seven (7) weeks a year away from 
the practice site for vacations, holidays, continuing professional education, illness or any 
other reason; professionals with absences greater than seven (7) weeks in a service 
year must extend their service commitment date. 
 

 Professionals who agree to use these funds to repay qualifying educational loans. 
Public Law 111-148, the Patient Protection and Affordable Health Care Act (HIPPA-A), 
makes payments under the National Health Service Corps Loan Repayment Program 
and certain State Loan Repayment Programs tax exempt from federal tax. Up to six 
percent (6%) of these funds can be set aside to pay for the professionals’ Louisiana 
state income tax, however, any funds not needed for taxes will be paid towards 
educational loans.  
 

 Professionals who are current on child support applications and those who are no 
longer in arrears with past child support payments. 
 

 Professionals will be required to register as a vendor through Louisiana’s LAGov 
system.  This will require logging into the system and supplying your information to 
receive a purchase order (PO) number that will be used to track your contract.  More 
instruction will be given to the applicants chosen. 
 

Ineligible Health Professionals—the following are ineligible to receive a SLRP award: 
 

 Non-citizens or non-nationals of the United States, including permanent resident aliens 
and other aliens.  

 

 Professionals who have an outstanding contractual obligation to provide a health 
professional service to the Federal Government (e.g., an active military obligation, 
National Health Service Corps (NHSC) Loan Repayment Program, NHSC Scholarship 
Program, Nursing Educational Loan Repayment Program or Nursing Scholarship 
Program obligation), or a state or other entity, unless that service obligation will be 
completely satisfied before the SLRP contract has been signed. Be aware that certain 
bonus clauses in some employment contracts may impose a service obligation. If the 

https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines
http://nhsc.hrsa.gov/downloads/discountfeeschedule.pdf
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SLRP participant’s military training and/or service, in combination with the participant's 
other absences from the service site, exceed 35 workdays per service year, the SLRP 
service obligation should be extended to compensate for the break in “full-time” service. 

 

 Professionals who have breached an obligation for health professional service to the 
federal government, state government, or local government or another entity. 
 

 Professionals who owe an obligation for health professional service to the federal 
government or a state government, or another entity under an agreement with such 
federal, state, or other entity is ineligible for the loan repayment program, unless the 
obligation will be completely satisfied prior to the beginning of this program.  

 

 Professionals who are obligated under another loan or scholarship payback program, 
regardless of source. Once a person has fulfilled other obligations, that person may 
apply for a SLRP.  Professionals applying must meet all other eligibility requirements for 
a period that begins after the other obligation(s) end.  

 

 Professionals who are delinquent on their child support payment obligation. 
 

 Professionals who have a judgment lien against their property for a debt to the United 
States.  

 

 Professionals who have a loan(s) in default status at time of application. 
 

 Physicians who have not completed residency training programs. 
                                    

 Students or residents who are not licensed and able to work full-time at an approved 
HPSA site at the time they apply. 

 

 Professionals who are not working full-time (40 hours per week) at a public and/or non-
profit facility that treats everyone regardless of ability to pay. 

 

Application Requirements and Priorities 
 
Application Process Requirements 
 

1. Submit an application along with other required forms and all necessary documentation 
between April 1, 2016 and June 30, 2016 in order to be considered for funding for the 
next federal grant cycle.  Most contracts for that grant cycle will begin in October 2016 
for this funding cycle. 
 
NOTE: Application submission does not guarantee funding.  If total applicant 
need is greater than the amount of SLRP funding available, the SLRP priorities 
outlined in this policy will be used to determine which applicants will receive 
SLRP funds. 
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2. All applications must include the following:  

 a copy of a current employment contract***;  

 a copy of the resume; 

 a copy of current professional license;  

 a copy of Louisiana Medicaid Provider Identification Number or a copy of 
the application for this number;  

 a completed Site Information Form;  

 proof of non-profit and/or public status of site;  

 a signed Agreement for all Participating SLRP Sites form;  

 a signed Attestation of No Other Obligation form;  

 a signed Certification Regarding Environmental Tobacco Smoke form;  

 a signed Consent for Release of Information Waiver of Confidentiality form; 

 a signed Release from Liability form;  

 documentation of employer’s sliding fee scale (copy of scale in use along 
with the Sliding Fee Scale policy);  

 documentation of employer’s sliding fee scale public notice signage;  

 IRS Form W-9;  

 Electronic Funds Transfer form with voided check; and  

 a valid copy of the current education loan statement with remaining 
principle balance showing. 

 
***For public employee(s), a letter of agreement with the governmental agency and 
verification of employment will be accepted in lieu of an employment contract. 
NOTE:  A maximum of two professionals per practice site will be approved per 
grant year.  If more than two professionals per site apply, the facility will be 
contacted for additional information in the funding decision regarding the 
professionals from that site. 
 

3. Following notification of funding and receipt of the SLRP contract in the mail, the 
applicant should return the signed SLRP contract with the understanding that once the 
contract is signed by the Secretary of DHH, or his/her designee, and approved through 
the DHH contract approval process, the applicant is agreeing to accept repayment of 
his/her educational loans in exchange for providing outpatient primary care health care 
services for an agreed upon period of obligation in a federally designated HPSA. 
 
NOTE: Neither the applicant nor the State is bound by the contract until:  

a) The secretary of DHH, or his/her designee, has signed the SLRP contract; and 
b) The contract has been approved by the Louisiana Division of Administration, 

Office of State Procurement.  
 
Priorities 
 
Similar to the participant selection policies and procedures of the NHSC, the Louisiana SLRP 
will utilize the criteria described below to determine how individuals are selected to participate 
in the program.  Review of applications received from April 1, 2016 through June 30, 2016 will 
occur in August with notifications of funding completed in September 2016.  Applying for this 
program does not guarantee automatic funding. 

  
NOTE: Most contracts will begin October 1, 2016 and will be prioritized according to the 
criteria requested in this application. Funding will continue until the total grant funds for 
the 2016 grant cycle are exhausted. 
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The following criteria will be considered as priorities when reviewing SLRP 
applications: 

 
1. Priority will be given to applicants who work in facilities with the highest percentage of 

underserved patients, including those who have a Medicaid managed health plans and 
Medicare, those who are uninsured and indigent or underinsured and unable to find 
treatment.  Some of these types of priority facilities would include public health units, 
Federally Qualified Health Centers and their satellite sites, School-Based Health Centers, 
state operated facilities or other eligible facilities which are subsidized by the state/federal 
government. A Louisiana SLRP Site Application Form must be completed at application 
[see attachment Section D – Practice (Work Location) Information] and after the 2nd and 
4th quarters of every year of contract eligibility. This must include one (1) year of data for 
the site. The site is not eligible if this cannot be provided.  

 
2. Priority will be given to individuals who agree to serve in HPSAs with the highest degree of 

shortage, rural, and whose service will have the greatest impact on underserved 
populations in these high-needs parishes (see maps of Louisiana HPSAs—Appendix E).   

 
3. Priority will be given to individuals who agree to accept referrals and provide health care 

services to a significant portion, of at least 25% HIV/AIDS patient-base. 
 

4. Priority will be given to applicants who agree to treat targeted populations who are 
designated as underserved in their service area, e.g. migrant farm workers, homeless, etc. 

 
5. Priority will be given to individuals who will be available for service (to work full-time at an 

eligible facility) at the earliest dates.  
 

6. Consideration will be given to an applicant’s individual circumstances, such as the 
individual's cooperation, the placement site's cooperation and the loan obligations/ financial 
status of the individual.  

 
7. Applicants who submit incomplete application packets will not be considered.  

 

Benefits for Participants  
 
Grant Award Amounts/Length of Contracts 
 
Payments to obligated health professionals for remittance to educational loan creditors may 
receive: 
 

a. Up to $30,000 annually (or the amount of the principle balance of the educational 
loan if less than the total eligible to receive) if the primary care physician, dentist, or 
psychiatrist agrees to work in an outpatient capacity at an approved facility for an 
initial period of three (3) years; OR 

 
b. Up to $15,000 annually (or the amount of the principle balance of the educational 

loan if less than the total eligible to receive) if the primary care health care 
professional (all those eligible except physicians and dentists as noted on page 2) 
works in an approved facility for an initial period of three (3) years. 

 
Participants, who complete their original commitment, continue to meet all criteria previously 
stated in this application, and who have additional educational loans may be considered for a 
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two-year extension for up to $24,000. The number of extensions offered annually will be 
limited. The number will be determined by the review committee annually after consideration of 
the program budget occurs. The SLRP participant’s compliance with program requirements 
during their initial contract period will factor into the decision of this offer. 
 
Taxable Income 
 
Loan repayments are taxable by the Louisiana state income tax. Loan repayment funds of not 
more than six percent (6%) can be set aside to defray this income tax liability. Funds that were 
set aside that were not needed to pay the taxes on this money must then be applied to certified 
educational debt. 
 
Disbursement of Funds 
 
Funds will be disbursed to the contractor quarterly upon receipt of a quarterly service report. 
The quarterly service report will serve as both an invoice and a monitoring tool. These reports 
are due by the 15th of the month following the end of the quarter. Quarterly payments will be 
disbursed for the duration of the SLRP contract, as long as the contractor meets his/her 
service obligations under the terms of his/her contract and there is an unpaid loan balance.   
 
Repayment of Loans  
 
To enhance the provision of the health care services, the program will repay the governmental 
or commercial educational loans obtained by the health professional for: 
 
 1. Government and commercial loans for actual costs paid for tuition related to the 

undergraduate or graduate education of the participant leading to a degree in the health 
profession in which the participant will satisfy his/her SLRP service commitment; 

 
 2.   Other reasonable educational expenses required by the health professional school, 
       including fees, books, and laboratory expenses, incurred by the participant;                 

 
NOTE: Reasonable educational expenses are the costs of education, exclusive of tuition, 
such as fees, books, supplies, clinical travel, educational equipment, and materials, which 
do not exceed the school's estimated standard student budget for educational expenses 
for the participant's degree program and for the year(s) of that participant's enrollment. 

  
 3. Reasonable living expenses will be determined by the SLRP office in accordance with 

published university standards. Health professional schools that make direct loans to their 
students are considered commercial lenders for the purposes of the program. 
 

NOTE: Reasonable living expenses are the costs of room and board, transportation, and 
commuting costs and other costs that do not exceed the school's estimated standard 
student budget for living expenses at that school for the participant's degree program and 
for the year(s) of that participant's enrollment. 
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Service Obligations  
 
Following are the obligations which must be agreed upon by the health professional:  
 

1. To serve a minimum of three (3) years with two (2) additional years possible; 
 

2. To provide primary health care services at an eligible site, i.e., public and/or non-profit 
entity located in a federally designated HPSA that is appropriate for his/her discipline 
(i.e., primary care professionals must be placed in a primary care HPSA, dental 
professionals must be placed in dental HPSAs, and mental health professionals in 
mental HPSAs); 
 

3. To be contracted with a pubic and/or non-profit facility that agrees to accept Medicare 
and any applicable Medicaid managed health plans; provide a sliding fee 
scale/discounted fee rate if a person is at or below current 200% of federal poverty level 
or is unable to pay the full charge and is uninsured. Employer must post a sign in a 
conspicuous place in the waiting room of the practice that states, “We accept all 
patients regardless of ability to pay.” 
 

4. To charge for their professional services at the usual and customary prevailing rates in  
the area in which such services are provided, except if a person is unable to pay such 
charges, such person shall be charged at a reduced rate (i.e., discounted/sliding fee 
scale) or not charged any fee;  

 
5. To provide primary health services to any individual seeking care and agree not to 

discriminate on the basis of the patient’s ability to pay for such care or on the basis that 
payment for such care will be made pursuant to Medicare (established in Title XVIII of 
the Social Security Act) or any applicable Medicaid health plan. 

 
6. To accept assignment under Medicare (section 1842(b) (3) (B) (ii) of the Social Security 

Act) for all services for which payment may be made under Part B of Title XVIII; 
 

7. To enter into an appropriate agreement with the State agency that administers the State 
plans for Medicaid under Title XIX to provide service to individuals entitled to medical 
assistance under the plan;  
 

8. To provide health care services and encounters as defined below:  
 

 Provide full-time primary health care service or clinical practice in a public or non-
profit private entity located in a current federally designated HPSA that is appropriate 
for their discipline (e.g., dental professionals must be placed in dental HPSAs, etc.). 
For physicians, the practice will include ambulatory care, as well as hospital care 
appropriate to meet the needs of patients and to assure continuity of care. 

 

 For all health professionals, "full-time clinical practice" is defined as a minimum of 40 
hours per week of patient care at an approved service site, with no more than eight 
(8) of those hours per week devoted to practice-related administrative activities. The 
practice will include hospital treatment coverage appropriate to meet the needs of 
patients of the approved service site and to ensure continuity of care. 
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 With the exception of obstetrician/gynecologist (OB/GYN) physicians, family practice 
physicians who practice obstetrics on a regular basis, and/or certified nurse 
midwives (CNM), all health professionals must spend at least 32 of the minimum 40 
hours per week providing direct patient care. These services must be conducted 
during normally scheduled clinic hours at the approved service site. The remaining 
hours must be spent providing inpatient care to patients of the approved site and/or 
in practice-related administrative activities. 

 

 For OB/GYN physicians, family practice physicians who practice obstetrics on a 
regular basis, and CNMs, at least 21 of the minimum 40 hours per week must be 
spent providing direct patient care. These services must be conducted during 
normally scheduled clinic hours at the approved service site. The remaining hours 
must be spent providing inpatient care to patients of the approved site and/or in 
practice-related administrative activities, not to exceed eight hours per week. 

 

 No more than seven (7) weeks (35 workdays) per year can be spent away from the 
practice for vacation, holidays, continuing professional education, illness, or any 
other reason. Absences greater than seven (7) weeks will extend the service 
commitment end date. 
 

 The 40 hours per week may be compressed into no less than four (4) days per 
week, with no more than 12 hours of work to be performed in any 24-hour period.  
Time spent in “on-call” status will not count toward the 40-hour week. Hours worked 
over the required 40 hours per week will not be applied to any other work week. 

 

 Provide DHH with a signed quarterly service report for monitoring purposes, which 
states the number of hours worked and totals the number of encounters rendered.  
The report also shall stipulate the number of encounters for each of the following 
types of patients: Medicare, all applicable Medicaid managed health plans, Sliding 
Fee Scale/Discounted Fee, and Uninsured/Unable to Pay, AND the following, if 
these patients were a factor in the amount of award received or initial funding in the 
program: HIV/AIDS, Substance Abuse, Homeless, Migrant, and Elderly (65 and 
over).  One (1) year of data for the site must be provided in order for the site to 
be eligible. This must be provided for the facility at application and then updated at 
the end of the 1st and 3rd quarters throughout the duration of the contract.  The site 
is not eligible if this cannot be provided. 

 
9. Submit to DHH a copy of the appropriate loan statement, which shows the current 

principle balance of the loan(s), by April 15th and October 15th of each year. 
 

10. Notify the Bureau of Primary Care and Rural Health of any changes in status. This may 
include, but is not limited to, changes in mailing address, phone number, employment, 
employer policies related to target patient type, loan default status, and licensure status.  

 
NOTE: The contractor MUST have written approval from the LA DHH Bureau of Primary 
Care and Rural Health before relocating to another employment site. 
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Service Site Requirements 
 
Participating in Louisiana SLRP requires the provision of full-time clinical services at an eligible 
SLRP service site for the period agreed upon in the program contract. These sites are specific 
health care practice opportunities identified by the SLRP in certain federally designated HPSAs 
that have experienced special difficulty recruiting or retaining health professionals because of 
the site's geographic isolation, severe economic need, or the chronically poor health status of 
the population to be served.  
 
Approval of SLRP contracts is contingent upon verification that the service site accepts all 
applicable Medicaid managed health plans, Medicare, and sliding fee scale/discount fee 
patients. The site must also provide proof of non-profit/public status to the applicant for 
inclusion in the SLRP application. This can be done using the IRS form 501(c)3 form or Board 
Resolution Statement. 
 
Compensation During Service  
 
SLRP participants shall negotiate their compensation packages (salary and fringe benefits) 
directly with the service sites. The amount of funding received through SLRP should not be 
considered by the employer when negotiating the professional’s compensation package. 

 
Loan Information 
 
Documenting Loans 
 
Applicants must provide lender information and a copy of loan statement(s) with current 
balance along with their application. The most current principle balance of each educational 
loan should be determined as accurately as possible and reported by the applicant on the 
application form. The applicant should not include loans that have been paid off.  
 
Consolidated and Refinanced Loans 
 
Program participants may select from their qualifying loans those they wish to have included 
for repayment by the program, based on what they consider most advantageous. If an 
applicant has consolidated or refinanced loans, the applicant must provide a copy of the 
original loan documentation to establish the educational purpose and contemporaneous nature 
of such loans. If an eligible educational loan is consolidated or refinanced with any debt 
other than another eligible educational loan of the applicant, no portion of the 
consolidated or refinanced loan will be eligible for loan repayment.  
 
Financial Obligations Not Qualifying For Repayment 
 
Loans with no supporting documentation and/or loans not obtained from a government entity or 
certified commercial educational lending institution, e.g., loans from friends and relatives or 
credit card debt, are not qualified for repayment by the program. 
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Breaching the Loan Repayment Contract Agreement 
 
Effects of Breaching the Contract 
 
DEFAULT: SLRP Contractors who fail to begin or complete his/her SLRP service obligation, or 
otherwise breach the terms and conditions of the obligation, are in default of his/her contract 
and are subject to the financial consequences outlined below in this attachment.  Examples of 
default are: 
 

 Failure to begin or complete service term 
 

 Failure to accept any applicable Medicaid managed health plans, Medicare assignment 
or implement a sliding fee schedule for low-income, uninsured people 

 

 Failure to provide documentation of qualifying loans upon request/demand 
 

 Failure to apply SLRP funds to either (a) the repayment of qualifying educational loan 
balances or (b) the State income tax owed on the SLRP payments disbursed through 
this contract, up to the six percent (6%) of the contract amount 

 

 Failure to maintain eligibility as a Medicaid or Medicare provider 
 
If a health professional is unable to complete the service obligation at the initial placement, 
assistance will be provided to find another eligible placement.  If a contractor chooses not to 
find and accept a placement transfer/reassignment, then DHH must place the Contractor in 
default of the SLRP contract. 
 
Financial Consequences 
 
If the Contractor breaches a SLRP obligation, the contractor will be subject to pay an amount 
equal to the sum of the following: 
 

 The total amount paid by the SLRP to, or on behalf of, the participant for loan 
repayment for any period of obligated service not served; 

 

 An amount equal to the number of months of obligated service not completed multiplied 
by $7,500;  

 

 Interest on the above amounts at the maximum legal prevailing rate, as determined by 
the treasurer of the United States, from the date of breach. 

 
NOTE: The minimum amount that the Louisiana DHH is entitled to recover will not be 
less than $31,000. 
 
Cancellations, Waivers, Bankruptcy, Suspensions and Defaults 
 
The only permissible basis for canceling a SLRP contract is the death of the SLRP participant.  
States cannot cancel a SLRP contract in order to allow an individual to participate in the NHSC 
LRP or for any other reason except the participant’s death.   
 
Waiver of the SLRP obligation is a permanent status. In order to qualify for a waiver of the 
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SLRP obligation, a participant must document a medical condition or a personal situation that 
makes compliance with the obligation permanently impossible or an extreme hardship, such 
that enforcement would be against equity and good conscience. The documentation of this 
medical condition or personal situation will be reviewed by the Secretary of the Louisiana DHH.  
The Secretary is the only one who can grant a waiver of the SLRP obligation.   
 
Suspensions of the SLRP contract obligations may be made for up to one year in the event of 
temporary physical or mental disability of the contractor or other justifiable causes. 
Documentation of the medical condition or personal situation which would make completion of 
the obligation temporarily impossible or an extreme hardship, such that enforcement would be 
against equity and good conscience, would be presented to the Secretary of DHH. The 
Secretary is the only one who can grant a suspension of the SLRP obligation.  
 
Defaults occur when participants fail to begin or complete their SLRP service obligation or 
otherwise breach the terms and conditions of the obligation. Participants who are in default of 
their contracts are subject to the financial consequences outlined in their contracts and in this 
policy in the prior section entitled Financial Consequences. 

 
Application Information 
 
General Application Information 
 
Participants must complete a SLRP application form giving all information requested in the 
application. Applications must be submitted between April 1, 2016 and June 30, 2016 in order 
to be accepted. Applications will be reviewed in August. Notifications of funding status will be 
sent by September 30, 2016. Most contracts will start October 1, 2016. The application should 
also include all the additional forms requested in the application and in this policy to be 
considered complete (see list following the application submission address).  Incomplete 
application packets submitted will not be considered.    
 
 
Application Submission Address 
 
The completed application must be submitted to the LA Department of Health and Hospitals at 
the following address:  

Attn: Beth Butler 
LA DHH Bureau of Primary Care & Rural Health, 8th floor 

P.O. Box 3118 
Baton Rouge, LA   70821.3118 
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Application Review Checklist 
 
The fully completed, signed application must be submitted along with the following forms and 
information:  
 

 Copy of executed employment contract for length of years requesting SLRP 
participation, OR a letter verifying employment, if an employment contract is not 
available  
 

 Resume 
 

  Copy of current professional license 
 

 Documentation of the current principle balance of the applicant’s certified educational 
debt.  This should include name and account number for each loan 

 

 Signed Agreement for All Participating SLRP Sites Form 
 

 Signed and notarized Attestation of No Other Obligation Form 
 

 Signed Certification Regarding Environmental Tobacco Smoke Form 
 

 Signed Release from Liability Form 
 

 Signed Consent for Release of Information Waiver of Confidentiality Form 
 

 Documentation of employer’s sliding fee scale/discount fee policy 
 

 Documentation of employer’s sliding fee scale/discount fee schedule- actual scale 
 

 Photo of employer’s sliding fee scale/discount fee policy posted in the checkout/lobby 
 

 Photo of employer’s sign posted in the checkout/lobby that states “We accept all 
patients regardless of ability to pay.” 
 

 Copy of current Louisiana Medicaid Provider ID Number or a copy or application for this 
number 

 

 Completed IRS Form W-9-Request for Taxpayer ID Number that matches applicant 
address 

 

 Completed Electronic Funds Transfer Form with voided blank check 
 

 Signed completed Site Information Form.  The information on this form must be 
compiled with one complete year of data. 
 

 Proof of site’s non-profit and/or public status 
 

 
Contract Information  
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The process to be used by the State to obligate individuals is best described as the negotiation 
of a professional services contract, or a social services contract depending on the type of 
professional applying. The terms of the contract will indicate that the services to be provided 
are primary, dental or mental health care services in an approved federally designated HPSA. 
In return, DHH will provide reimbursement for valid educational loan debts. Loan repayment 
benefits are taxable income by the State of Louisiana. A Form 1099 will be issued each 
January to loan repayment participants.  
 

Service Report Information 
 
SLRP participants are required to complete a Quarterly Service Report Form by the 15th of the 
month following the end of the quarter.  It can be submitted by mail to DHH, Bureau of Primary 
Care and Rural Health, Bienville Building 8th Floor, Beth Butler, Program Coordinator, P.O. Box 
3118, Baton Rouge LA 70821.3118, or faxed to 225.342.5839, or scanned and emailed to 
beth.butler@la.gov. The participant must also send loan statements verifying payments made 
with the Quarterly Service Reports for the 1st and 3rd quarters.  Submitting this information after 
the due dates will delay the issuance of a participant's reimbursement and could be grounds 
for refusal of payment, especially at the end of the state fiscal year in June.   
 

SLRP Contact Person and Contact Information 
 
LA Dept. of Health and Hospitals 
Beth Butler, Program Coordinator 
Bureau of Primary Care and Rural Health, Bienville Building, 8th floor 
628 North 4th Street or PO Box 3118 
Baton Rouge, LA   70821.3118 
Office: 225.342.4702 
Fax: 225.342.5839 
E-mail: beth.butler@la.gov 
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Appendices 

 
Appendix A  Health Professional Application for Loan Repayment Program 
 
Appendix B  Supporting Documentation and Forms  
 

(1) Agreement for All Participating SLRP Sites Form 
 

(2) Attestation of No Other Obligation Form 
 

(3) Certification Regarding Environmental Tobacco Smoke Form 
 

(4) Release from Liability Form 
 

(5) Consent for Release of Information Waiver of Confidentiality Form 
 

(6) IRS Form W-9—Request for Taxpayer ID Number 
 

(7) Electronic Funds Transfer Form 
 

(8) Site Information Form 
 

Appendix C  Sample Contract  
 

Appendix D  Sample Sliding Fee Scales  
 
Appendix E  Maps—check the Web site for current maps: 

http://new.dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/570/n/252 
 
 (1) Health Professional Shortage Area Maps 

(a) Primary Care 
(b) Dental Health 
(c) Mental Health 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

http://new.dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/570/n/252
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Appendix A- Health Professional Application for Loan Repayment Program 
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APPLICATION FOR LOUISIANA STATE LOAN REPAYMENT PROGRAM (REV. 04/13) 

 

Section A - Personal Data 
 
 
1. Applicant Name:       2. Social Security Number or TIN: 
 
                                                                         d                                                                            g 
  
3. Home Address:      4. Mailing Address (if different from Home): 
 
                                                                         d                                                                           d 
 
                                                                         d                                                                           d 
 
5. Main Phone Number:       6. Alternate Phone Number: 
 
                                                                                                                                                    S 
z 
7. E-mail:                                                           8. Date of Birth:                                                d 
 
9. Are you a U.S. citizen/national?   Yes    No 10. City and State of Birth:                       
s  
Questions 11 - 14 are optional and are needed for federal/state reporting purposes. 
  

11. Race/Ethnicity—please check one.   White   Black   Native American   Asian  Hispanic 
 

12. Did you participate in an Area Health Education Center health career program?    Y   N 

 

13.      Did you grow up in Louisiana?   Y   N    
 

           If yes, in a rural area (under 25,000 population)?   Y   N 
 
Section B - Health Profession Choice and Education 
 
1.  Health Profession (choose one): 
  M.D.-Family Medicine     M.D.-Pediatrician  
  M.D.-General Internal Medicine  M.D.-IM (with sub-specialty training) 
  M.D.-OB/GYN     Certified Nurse Midwife 
  General Dentistry (DDS or DMD)  Licensed Dental Hygienist 
  Pediatric Dentist    Health Service Psychologist 
  M.D.-Psychiatrist    Licensed Clinical/Counseling Psychologist 
  Primary Care Physician Assistant  Licensed Clinical Social Worker 
  P. C. Certified Nurse Practitioner  Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist 
  Psychiatric Nurse Specialist  Licensed Professional Counselor 
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2.  Educational Information: 
 

Undergraduate Degree:                                                             Graduation Date:                       
 
Undergraduate School Name/Location:  _____________________________________________d 

 
Graduate Degree:                                                                     Graduation Date: _______________                     

 
Graduate School Name/Location:                                                                                     
 
Medical/Dental School Specialty:                                             Graduation Date:   
 
Medical/Dental School Name:             
 
Medical/Dental School Address (City, State, Zip):                                                                                

d 
Residency Program Specialty Type:     Start and End Dates:     
 
Residency Program Location (City, State, Zip):          
 
Fellowship Program Specialty Type:     Start and End Dates:     
 
Fellowship Program Location (City, State, Zip):          

 
3.  Are you (check if applicable)         Board Certified?      Board Eligible?     
 
4.   Louisiana License Number:                                                  Date Issued:                                     d 
 
5.   National Provider Identifier (NPI) Number:  __________________________________________ 
 
6.  Medicare Identification Number:                                                                                                       d 
 
7.  Medicaid Identification Number:                                                                                                      _d 
 
 
Section C - Educational Debt—List below, in priority order, the first four educational loans received 
during undergraduate and graduate professional study.  Educational loans considered part of this 
loan repayment plan may be consolidated—but not with other non-educational loans.  Current 
loan balance statements must be submitted with this application.  

Loan 1—Loan Program Name and Address: 

 

 
Account Number:                                                d 
 
Current Principle Balance:                                  d 
 
 Academic period covered by loan: 

Loan 2—Loan Program Name and Address: 
 
Account Number:                                                d 
 
Current Principle Balance:                                  d 
 
 Academic period covered by loan: 

Loan 3—Loan Program Name and Address: 
Account Number:                                                d 
 
Current Principle Balance:                                  d 
 
Academic period covered by loan: 
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1.  Applicant agrees to provide outpatient primary care for three (3) years—check to verify     Yes 
 
2. Are any of the loans listed above or any other part of your medical education being repaid  

through another loan repayment program?   No  Yes 
 
 If yes, please provide the name of the loan repayment program: 
 
                                                                                                                                                        d 
 
3.  Are any of the loans listed above or any part of your medical education being repaid through 
 any type of service obligation?   No  Yes 
 
 If yes, please provide the name and address of entity to which the obligation is owed: 
 
                                                                                                                                                     _d 
 
 Has this obligation been satisfied?         No       Yes (if yes, attach documentation) 

 
 Date obligation was repaid:                                                              d 
 
4.  Are you now or have you ever been declared in default on any educational loans?  No   Yes 
 
 If yes, please explain:                                                                                                               d 
 
                                                                                                                                                       D 
 
5.  Are you now or have you ever been declared in default/breach of any federal contract/agreement  
     or health care service agreement/obligation?   No    Yes  
 
 If yes, please explain:                                                                                                               d 
 
                                                                                                                                                       f 
 
6. Are you responsible for making Child Support payments?   Yes   No Are you current with these 
 
    payments?   Yes  No If no, please explain:          
 
7. Is there an Income Assignment Order in place for Child Support Payments?    Yes   No 
 
 
8. The Bureau of Primary Care and Rural Health checks defaulted student loan status by providing 

LOFSA with each applicant’s name and social security number.  The information is provided in a 

password protected spreadsheet.  Do you give the Bureau permission to share this information 

with LOFSA?   Yes   No    
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Section D – Practice (Work Location) Information-Please include 1 year of cumulative data. 

 
LOUISIANA SLRP SITE INFORMATION FORM 

 

 OFFICE USE ONLY-DATE REC’D: 

Name and Address of Practice Site: 
 
 
 

Name and Address of Employer (if different): 

Contact Name and Title:  
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Telephone: 
Contact Fax: 

Telephone Number at Practice Site: 
Fax Number at Practice Site: 
Employer’s telephone: 
Employer’s fax: 

Type of Practice:    Public     Non-profit        Both 

(provide proof of checked practice type with 
application) 

Type of Facility:   FQHC   RHC   Private   State  

 other ________________________________ 

Employer’s Medicaid ID#: 
Employer’s Medicare ID# 

What is the SLRP Clinician’s routine work schedule?  Include office hours, hospital privileges, call coverage, duties, 
patient load and an explanation of any special work related responsibilities for the position. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

How many patients were seen at this location last year? 
 
 

How many of these patients were uninsured? 
 

How many of these patients were in Medicaid managed 
health plans? 
 
 

How many of these patients were Medicare? 

Does this practice site currently have in place a sliding fee scale/indigent care policy for patients below 200% of the 

Federal poverty level?   YES   NO If yes, what percentage of uninsured patients was eligible for reduced fees last 
year?                When was the policy established? __________ When was the policy last updated? ___________   

Are signs posted to inform patients of this policy?    Yes   No  (provide examples of signage/notices in place) 

Besides posted signs, how does the site ensure that patients are aware of the availability of the sliding fee 
scale/indigent care policy?  Please give details and samples if applicable. 
 

 

 

 

IMPORTANT NOTE:   
The applicant will be notified of the decision whether or not to support this request by the end of September.  The 
clinician’s contract for SLRP will not begin until October 1, 2016 if the clinician is awarded funds. 

 
For additional information, contact Beth Butler at 225.342.4702 or beth.butler@la.gov . 

Signature: 
 

Date Application Mailed: 

mailto:sheree.taillon@la.gov
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NOTE:  A COPY OF YOUR EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT MUST BE INCLUDED WITH THIS APPLICATION. 
 
Section E - Other Information about the Louisiana State Loan Repayment Program 
 
1. Any individual who owes an obligation of professional health care service to the 

federal government, any other state government agency or any other entity under an 
agreement with said entity is ineligible to receive payment under this program until 
obligation has been completely satisfied. This obligation must be satisfied prior to 
beginning service under this program. 
 

2. The following forms, with original signatures, must be included with this application: 
Agreement for All Participating SLRP Sites Form; Attestation of No Other Obligation 
Form (complete all sections and have form notarized); Certification Regarding 
Environmental Tobacco Smoke Form; Release from Liability Form; Consent for 
Release of Information and Waiver of Confidentiality Form; and Site Information Form. 
These can be found on pages 26-34 of this guidance. 
 

3. State Loan Repayment Program funds are not taxable by the federal government.  
However, these funds are TAXABLE by the State of Louisiana. You will receive a 
Form 1099 from the LA Department of Health and Hospitals each year you receive 
funds through the program. You are allowed to withhold 6% of monthly payments to 
pay state income taxes.  Whatever is not paid on taxes will be applied to your 
educational loan. 

 
4. Every April and October of each SLRP contract year, you will be responsible to verify 

the balance of your loans by sending the State Loan Repayment Program Monitor a 
copy of your current educational loan principle balance. You are required to submit 
the Site Information Form at this time as well. 

 
5. Each quarter that you are eligible for assistance through the State Loan Repayment 

Program you must submit a quarterly report of your practice activities. This report acts 
as your invoice for that quarter’s loan repayment assistance. These reports are due 
by the 15th of the month following the reporting quarter. If these reports are not 
received by the 15th of the following month, the state reserves the right not to 
honor that quarter’s payment.  Allow 3 weeks from the 15th of the month following 
the end of the quarter for your payment to be issued. 

 
6. Application for participation in the Louisiana SLRP does not guarantee that funds will 

be available. If the applicants’ total needs are greater than the amount of SLRP funds 
available, the SLRP Priorities as described in the SLRP Policy will be used to 
determine which applicants will receive SLRP awards.   
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CERTIFICATION: In signing and returning this application to the Louisiana LA Department of 
Health and Hospitals (DHH) Bureau of Primary Care and Rural Health, I hereby certify that I have 
read and understand the information contained in this application and the entire Louisiana State 
Loan Repayment (SLRP) policy. I also certify that as indicated by my signature below, I am in 
agreement with the terms and conditions set forth in this application and in the SLRP policy, 
including the terms of waivers, suspensions, cancellations, defaults, and repayments. I also 
certify that I will review all the terms of the SLRP contract if I am awarded funding, including the 
dates of the contract period. I am also indicating that I am in agreement with completing my 
service obligation to meet the conditions of the SLRP contract, as outlined in the SLRP policy. 
These conditions will be outlined in the contract and its Attachments 1-7 also.  I am affirming 
that all statements made by me during this application process are complete and accurate to the 
best of my knowledge. I am indicating by my signature my agreement to participate in this 
program by entering into an agreement in the form of a contract with Attachments 1-7 with 
Louisiana DHH for repayment of my educational loans, which are listed in Section C of this 
application, in exchange for my services.   
 
These services will be provided as outlined in the SLRP contract and in Attachment 1 of the 
contract, if I am approved for funding and my SLRP contract is approved. I understand that 
returning this application does not mean automatic approval. I am aware that if the applicants’ 
needs for this application period exceed the amount of funding available, the applications will be 
funded according to the priority facility list found in the SLRP policy, as well as the priority 
placed by the review committee. I also understand that if I am awarded funding, a contract will 
be mailed to me for my review/signature. I understand that the contract will not be in effect until 
it is returned to DHH and approved by the Division of Administration, Office of State 
Procurement. I also understand that once final approval has been granted, all terms and 
conditions of the contract will be in full effect and binding for me and the State of Louisiana, 
including the terms of default, as outlined in the Louisiana SLRP Policy and in Attachments 3 
and 4 of the SLRP contract. 
 
 
 
 
                                                                         D                                                   d 
Applicant Signature  Date      
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Appendix B— Supporting  
Documentation and Forms 

(1) Agreement for All Participating SLRP Sites Form 
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AGREEMENT FOR ALL PARTICIPATING SLRP SITES 
 
We, _________________________________________________________________________________ 

Practice Site Name and Address 

 
Read each statement below and initial as to your compliance with the SLRP regulations. 
 
 Use a sliding fee schedule and/or other documentable method to reduce fees that assures no financial 

barriers to care exist for people who are at or below 200% of federal poverty level with no insurance.  We also 
accept assignment of Medicare patients and those enrolled in Medicaid managed health plans. 

 

 We prominently post a sign that states, “We accept all patients regardless of ability to pay.” 
 

 We do not discriminate based upon race, color, sex, national origin, disability or religion. 
 

 We provide culturally appropriate ambulatory primary care, dental and/or mental health services. 
 

 We use a credentialing process which, at a minimum, includes reference review, licensure verification and a 
query of the National Practitioner Data Bank of those clinicians for whom the NPDB maintains data. 

 

 We adhere to sound fiscal management policies and adopt clinician recruitment and retention policies to help 
the patient population, the site and the community obtain maximum benefits. 

 

 We will pay SLRP clinicians a salary and benefit package, including professional liability coverage, at least 
equal to any that would be offered to any other comparably trained and experienced clinician. The package 
we offer the SLRP employee will not factor-in the SLRP funding the employee is receiving. 

 

 We currently require SLRP clinician(s) to maintain a full-time (40 hours/week- unless OB/Gyn or Certified 
Nurse Midwife) practice, a minimum of 32 of those hours being available to patients in an outpatient setting, 
for at least 45 weeks per year. 

 

 We will communicate to the SLRP any change in site or clinician status that might adversely affect the site or 
clinician continuing an established relationship with the Louisiana State Loan Repayment Program. 

 

 We will maintain and make available for review by SLRP representatives, all personnel and practice records 
associated with a SLRP clinician, including documentation which contains information that DHH may need to 
determine if the clinician has complied with criteria. 

 
Signature below is assurance that this application contains true and correct information and that the site agrees to comply 
with all of the above requirements of this agreement. 

 
Name of Site Official: __________________________________________________________________ 
 
Signature of Site Official: ___________________________Title:_________________   Date: _________ 
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Appendix B— Supporting Documentation and Forms 
 (2) Attestation of No Other Obligation Form 
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ATTESTATION OF NO OTHER OBLIGATION 
 

 

I, ________________________, hereby declare and certify, under penalty of the authority of  

          Applicant’s Name 

Section 338 of the Public Health Service Act (42 USC 254-1), that I am not under any obligation from any other 

loan, scholarship or contract involving any stipend, allowance or any other incentive to provide health professional 

service to the federal government, a State or local government, an employer or any other entity, unless such 

obligation is completely satisfied prior to the beginning of this contract with the Louisiana State Loan Repayment 

Program. 

 

________________________________   _________________________ 

             Applicant’s Signature               Date 

 

**************************************************************************** 

 

I, _______________________ of ___________________ Parish hereby declare and certify, under 

          Applicant’s Name                 Parish of Residence 

 

penalty of the authority of Section 338 of the Public Health Service Act (42 USC 254-1), that 

 

 ________________________ has not offered _____________________ any loan, scholarship or 

       Applicant’s Employer                                      Applicant’s Name  

 

contract involving any stipend, allowance or any other incentive to provide health professional service to  

 

the residents of __________________ Parish unless such obligation has been completely satisfied prior 

                   Parish of Employment 

 

to the beginning of this contract for the Louisiana State Loan Repayment Program. 

 

Signed or attested before me this ______ day of ____________________. 

 

________________________ 

Notary Public 
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Appendix B— Supporting Documentation and Forms 
(3) Certification Regarding Environmental Tobacco Smoke Form 
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CERTIFICATION REGARDING ENVIRONMENTAL TOBACCO SMOKE 
 

Public Law 103-227, also known as the Pro-Children Act of 1994 (Act), requires that smoking not be permitted in 

any portion of any indoor facility owned or leased or contracted for by an entity and used routinely or regularly for 

the provision of health, day care, early childhood developmental services, education or library services to children 

under the age of 18, if the services are funded by federal programs either directly or through State or local 

governments, by federal grant, contract services that are provided in indoor facilities that are constructed, 

operated, or maintained with such federal funds. The law does not apply to children’s services provided in private 

residences; portions of facilities used for inpatient drug or alcohol treatment; service providers whose sole source 

of applicable federal funds is Medicare or Medicaid managed health plans; or facilities where WIC coupons are 

redeemed. Failure to comply with the provisions of the law may result in the imposition of a civil monetary 

penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation and/or the imposition of an administrative compliance order on the 

responsible entity. 

 

By signing this certification, the offeror/contractor (for acquisitions) or applicant/grantee (for grants) certifies that 

the submitting organization will comply with the requirements of the Act and will not allow smoking within any 

portion of any indoor facility used for the provision of services for children as defined by the Act. 

 

The submitting organization agrees that it will require that the language of this certification be included in any 

sub-awards which contain provisions for children’s services and that all sub-recipients shall certify accordingly. 

 

_______________________________________   ________________________ 

   Signature of Organization Representative            Title 

 

 

 

______________________________________   ________________________ 

                    Organization Name               Date 
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Appendix B— Supporting Documentation and Forms 
 (4) Release from Liability Form 
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RELEASE FROM LIABILITY  
 
 

I, __________________________________, hereby release from liability the Louisiana  
                   Applicant’s Name 
Department of Health and Hospitals, its Secretary, Director, agents and employees for acts performed 
in good faith without malice in connection with evaluation of my application, credentials and 
qualifications, and hereby release from liability any and all individuals and organizations, who, in good 
faith and without malice provide information to the Department of Health and Hospitals or to its 
authorized representatives concerning my professional competence, ethics or character. I further 
release from liability the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals, its Secretary, Director, agents 
and employees for the delivery of information to any third party as authorized herein. 
 
________________________    _____________________ 
     Applicant’s Signature                     Date 
 
 
 
________________________    ______________________ 
                 Witness             Date 
 
________________________    ______________________ 
                 Witness             Date 
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Appendix B— Supporting Documentation and Forms 
(5) Consent for Release of Information Waiver of Confidentiality Form 
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CONSENT FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION AND WAIVER OF 

CONFIDENTIALITY  
 
 

I, ___________________________, understand that the following information contained in my 
                Applicant’s Name 
 
records may or may not be confidential. However, I give my consent for  
 
___________________________________ to release to the Louisiana Department of Health  
           Certified Educational Lender 
 
and Hospitals information regarding my educational loan(s). 
 
The information is to be disclosed for the specific purpose of applying for repayment of the loan(s) 
under the Louisiana State Loan Repayment Program for health care professionals. This consent is 
deemed to be continuous unless revoked by me in writing. 
 
 
________________________    ______________________ 
      Applicant’s Signature           Date 
 
 
 
________________________    ______________________ 
                Witness  Date       
 
________________________    ______________________ 
                Witness            Date 
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Appendix B— Supporting Documentation and Forms 
(6) IRS Form W-9—Request for Taxpayer ID Number 
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Form    W-9 
(Rev. January 2011) 

Department of the Treasury 
Internal Revenue Service 

 

Request for Taxpayer 

Identification  Number and Certification 

 

Give Form to the 

requester. Do not 

send to the IRS. 

P
ri

n
t 

o
r 

ty
p

e
 

S
e
e
 S

p
e

c
if

ic
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n
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c
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n
s
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n
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a
g
e
 2

. 

Name (as shown on your income tax return) 

Business name/disregarded entity name, if different from above 

Check appropriate box for federal tax 

Classification (required): Individual/sole proprietor  C Corporation  S Corporation  P 

Limited liability company. Enter the tax classification (C=C corporation, S=S corporation, P=partnership) ▶ 

Other (see instructions) ▶ 

 
artnership Trust/estate 

 
 

 
Exempt payee 

 

Address (number, street, and apt. or suite no.) Requester’s name and address (optional) 

City, state, and ZIP code 

List account number(s) here (optional) 

Part I Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) 

 Social security number 

    
– 

   
– 

    

 
 Employer identification number  

   

– 
       

Part II Certification 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Enter your TIN in the appropriate box. The TIN provided must match the name given on the “Name” line 
to avoid backup withholding. For individuals, this is your social security number (SSN). However, for a 
resident alien, sole proprietor, or disregarded entity, see the Part I instructions on page 3. For other 
entities, it is your employer identification number (EIN). If you do not have a number, see How to get a 
TIN on page 3. 

Note. If the account is in more than one name, see the chart on page 4 for guidelines on whose 
number to enter. 

 

 
 

Under penalties of perjury, I certify that: 
1.  The number shown on this form is my correct taxpayer identification number (or I am waiting for a number to be issued to me), and 
2.  I am not subject to backup withholding because: (a) I am exempt from backup withholding, or (b) I have not been notified by the Internal Revenue 

Service (IRS) that I am subject to backup withholding as a result of a failure to report all interest or dividends, or (c) the IRS has notified me that I am 
no longer subject to backup withholding, and 

3.  I am a U.S. citizen or other U.S. person (defined below). 
Certification instructions. You must cross out item 2 above if you have been notified by the IRS that you are currently subject to backup withholding 
because you have failed to report all interest and dividends on your tax return. For real estate transactions, item 2 does not apply. For mortgage 
interest paid, acquisition or abandonment of secured property, cancellation of debt, contributions to an individual retirement arrangement (IRA), and 
generally, payments other than interest and dividends, you are not required to sign the certification, but you must provide your correct TIN. See the 
instructions on page 4. 

Sign 
Here 

 

Signature of 

U.S. person ▶ Date ▶ 

 

General Instructions 
Section references are to the Internal Revenue Code unless otherwise 
noted. 

Purpose of Form 
A person who is required to file an information return with the IRS must 
obtain your correct taxpayer identification number (TIN) to report, for 
example, income paid to you, real estate transactions, mortgage interest 
you paid, acquisition or abandonment of secured property, cancellation 
of debt, or contributions you made to an IRA. 

Use Form W-9 only if you are a U.S. person (including a resident 
alien), to provide your correct TIN to the person requesting it (the 
requester) and, when applicable, to: 

1. Certify that the TIN you are giving is correct (or you are waiting for a 
number to be issued), 

2. Certify that you are not subject to backup withholding, or 
3. Claim exemption from backup withholding if you are a U.S. exempt 
payee. If applicable, you are also certifying that as a U.S. person, your 
allocable share of any partnership income from a U.S. trade or 

business is not subject to the withholding tax on foreign partners’ 
share of effectively connected income. 
 

Note. If a requester gives you a form other than Form W-9 to request 
your TIN, you must use the requester’s form if it is substantially similar 
to this Form W-9. 
Definition of a U.S. person. For federal tax purposes, you are 
considered a U.S. person if you are: 
• An individual who is a U.S. citizen or U.S. resident alien, 
• A partnership, corporation, company, or association created or 
organized in the United States or under the laws of the United States, 
• An estate (other than a foreign estate), or 
• A domestic trust (as defined in Regulations section 301.7701-7). 
Special rules for partnerships. Partnerships that conduct a trade or 
business in the United States are generally required to pay a withholding 
tax on any foreign partners’ share of income from such business. 
Further, in certain cases where a Form W-9 has not been received, a 
partnership is required to presume that a partner is a foreign person, 
and pay the withholding tax. Therefore, if you are a U.S. person that is a 
partner in a partnership conducting a trade or business in the United 
States, provide Form W-9 to the partnership to establish your U.S. 
status and avoid withholding on your share of partnership income. 
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The person who gives Form W-9 to the partnership for purposes of 

establishing its U.S. status and avoiding withholding on its allocable 
share of net income from the partnership conducting a trade or business 
in the United States is in the following cases: 

• The U.S. owner of a disregarded entity and not the entity, 

• The U.S. grantor or other owner of a grantor trust and not the trust, 
and 

• The U.S. trust (other than a grantor trust) and not the beneficiaries of 
the trust. 

Foreign person. If you are a foreign person, do not use Form W-9. 
Instead, use the appropriate Form W-8 (see Publication 515, 
Withholding of Tax on Nonresident Aliens and Foreign Entities). 

Nonresident alien who becomes a resident alien. Generally, only a 
nonresident alien individual may use the terms of a tax treaty to reduce 
or eliminate U.S. tax on certain types of income. However, most tax 
treaties contain a provision known as a “saving clause.” Exceptions 
specified in the saving clause may permit an exemption from tax to 
continue for certain types of income even after the payee has otherwise 
become a U.S. resident alien for tax purposes. 

If you are a U.S. resident alien who is relying on an exception 
contained in the saving clause of a tax treaty to claim an exemption 
from U.S. tax on certain types of income, you must attach a statement 
to Form W-9 that specifies the following five items: 

1. The treaty country. Generally, this must be the same treaty under 
which you claimed exemption from tax as a nonresident alien. 

2. The treaty article addressing the income. 

3. The article number (or location) in the tax treaty that contains the 
saving clause and its exceptions. 

4. The type and amount of income that qualifies for the exemption 
from tax. 

5. Sufficient facts to justify the exemption from tax under the terms of 
the treaty article. 

Example. Article 20 of the U.S.-China income tax treaty allows an 
exemption from tax for scholarship income received by a Chinese 
student temporarily present in the United States. Under U.S. law, this 
student will become a resident alien for tax purposes if his or her stay in 
the United States exceeds 5 calendar years. However, paragraph 2 of 
the first Protocol to the U.S.-China treaty (dated April 30, 1984) allows 
the provisions of Article 20 to continue to apply even after the Chinese 
student becomes a resident alien of the United States. A Chinese 
student who qualifies for this exception (under paragraph 2 of the first 
protocol) and is relying on this exception to claim an exemption from tax 
on his or her scholarship or fellowship income would attach to Form 
W-9 a statement that includes the information described above to 
support that exemption. 

If you are a nonresident alien or a foreign entity not subject to backup 
withholding, give the requester the appropriate completed Form W-8. 

What is backup withholding? Persons making certain payments to you 
must under certain conditions withhold and pay to the IRS a percentage 
of such payments. This is called “backup withholding.”  Payments that 
may be subject to backup withholding include interest, tax-exempt 
interest, dividends, broker and barter exchange transactions, rents, 
royalties, nonemployee pay, and certain payments from fishing boat 
operators. Real estate transactions are not subject to backup 
withholding. 

You will not be subject to backup withholding on payments you 
receive if you give the requester your correct TIN, make the proper 
certifications, and report all your taxable interest and dividends on your 
tax return. 

 

Payments you receive will be subject to backup 
withholding if: 

1. You do not furnish your TIN to the requester, 

2. You do not certify your TIN when required (see the Part II 
instructions on page 3 for details), 

3. The IRS tells the requester that you furnished an incorrect TIN, 

4. The IRS tells you that you are subject to backup withholding 
because you did not report all your interest and dividends on your tax 
return (for reportable interest and dividends only), or 

5. You do not certify to the requester that you are not subject to 
backup withholding under 4 above (for reportable interest and dividend 
accounts opened after 1983 only). 

 
Certain payees and payments are exempt from backup withholding. 

See the instructions below and the separate Instructions for the 
Requester of Form W-9. 

Also see Special rules for partnerships on page 1. 

Updating Your Information 

You must provide updated information to any person to whom you 
claimed to be an exempt payee if you are no longer an exempt payee 
and anticipate receiving reportable payments in the future from this 
person. For example, you may need to provide updated information if 
you are a C corporation that elects to be an S corporation, or if you no 
longer are tax exempt. In addition, you must furnish a new Form W-9 if 
the name or TIN changes for the account, for example, if the grantor of a 
grantor trust dies. 

Penalties 

Failure to furnish TIN. If you fail to furnish your correct TIN to a 
requester, you are subject to a penalty of $50 for each such failure 
unless your failure is due to reasonable cause and not to willful neglect. 

Civil penalty for false information with respect to withholding. If you 
make a false statement with no reasonable basis that results in no 
backup withholding, you are subject to a $500 penalty. 

Criminal penalty for falsifying information. Willfully falsifying 
certifications or affirmations may subject you to criminal penalties 
including fines and/or imprisonment. 

Misuse of TINs. If the requester discloses or uses TINs in violation of 
federal law, the requester may be subject to civil and criminal penalties. 

Specific Instructions 

Name 

If you are an individual, you must generally enter the name shown on 
your income tax return. However, if you have changed your last name, 
for instance, due to marriage without informing the Social Security 
Administration of the name change, enter your first name, the last name 
shown on your social security card, and your new last name. 

If the account is in joint names, list first, and then circle, the name of 
the person or entity whose number you entered in Part I of the form. 

Sole proprietor. Enter your individual name as shown on your income 
tax return on the “Name” line. You may enter your business, trade, or 
“doing business as (DBA)” name on the “Business name/disregarded 
entity name” line. 

Partnership, C Corporation, or S Corporation. Enter the entity's name 
on the “Name” line and any business, trade, or “doing business as 
(DBA) name” on the “Business name/disregarded entity name” line. 

Disregarded entity. Enter the owner's name on the “Name” line. The 
name of the entity entered on the “Name” line should never be a 
disregarded entity. The name on the “Name” line must be the name 
shown on the income tax return on which the income will be reported. 
For example, if a foreign LLC that is treated as a disregarded entity for 
U.S. federal tax purposes has a domestic owner, the domestic owner's 
name is required to be provided on the “Name” line. If the direct owner 
of the entity is also a disregarded entity, enter the first owner that is not 
disregarded for federal tax purposes. Enter the disregarded entity's 
name on the “Business name/disregarded entity name” line. If the owner 
of the disregarded entity is a foreign person, you must complete an 
appropriate Form W-8. 

Note. Check the appropriate box for the federal tax classification of the 
person whose name is entered on the “Name” line (Individual/sole 
proprietor, Partnership, C Corporation, S Corporation, Trust/estate). 

Limited Liability Company (LLC). If the person identified on the 
“Name” line is an LLC, check the “Limited liability company” box only 
and enter the appropriate code for the tax classification in the space 
provided. If you are an LLC that is treated as a partnership for federal 
tax purposes, enter “P” for partnership. If you are an LLC that has filed a 
Form 8832 or a Form 2553 to be taxed as a corporation, enter “C” for C 
corporation or “S” for S corporation. If you are an LLC that is 
disregarded as an entity separate from its owner under Regulation 
section 301.7701-3 (except for employment and excise tax), do not 
check the LLC box unless the owner of the LLC (required to be 
identified on the “Name” line) is another LLC that is not disregarded for 
federal tax purposes. If the LLC is disregarded as an entity separate 
from its owner, enter the appropriate tax classification of the owner 
identified on the “Name” line. 
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IF the payment is for . . . THEN the payment is exempt 
for . . . 

Interest and dividend payments All exempt payees except 
for 9 

Broker transactions Exempt payees 1 through 5 and 7 
through 13. Also, C corporations. 

Barter exchange transactions and 
patronage dividends 

Exempt payees 1 through 5 

Payments over $600 required to be 
reported and direct sales over 

$5,000 
1
 

Generally, exempt payees 

1 through 7 
2
 

 

 
Other entities. Enter your business name as shown on required federal 
tax documents on the “Name” line. This name should match the name 
shown on the charter or other legal document creating the entity. You 
may enter any business, trade, or DBA name on the “Business name/ 
disregarded entity name” line. 

Exempt Payee 

If you are exempt from backup withholding, enter your name as 
described above and check the appropriate box for your status, then 
check the “Exempt payee” box in the line following the “Business name/ 
disregarded entity name,” sign and date the form. 

Generally, individuals (including sole proprietors) are not exempt from 
backup withholding. Corporations are exempt from backup withholding 
for certain payments, such as interest and dividends. 

Note. If you are exempt from backup withholding, you should still 
complete this form to avoid possible erroneous backup withholding. 

The following payees are exempt from backup withholding: 

1. An organization exempt from tax under section 501(a), any IRA, or a 
custodial account under section 403(b)(7) if the account satisfies the 
requirements of section 401(f)(2), 

2. The United States or any of its agencies or instrumentalities, 

3. A state, the District of Columbia, a possession of the United States, 
or any of their political subdivisions or instrumentalities, 

4. A foreign government or any of its political subdivisions, agencies, 
or instrumentalities, or 

5. An international organization or any of its agencies or 
instrumentalities. 

Other payees that may be exempt from backup withholding include: 

6. A corporation, 

7. A foreign central bank of issue, 

8. A dealer in securities or commodities required to register in the 
United States, the District of Columbia, or a possession of the United 
States, 

9. A futures commission merchant registered with the Commodity 
Futures Trading Commission, 

10. A real estate investment trust, 

11. An entity registered at all times during the tax year under the 
Investment Company Act of 1940, 

12. A common trust fund operated by a bank under section 584(a), 

13. A financial institution, 

14. A middleman known in the investment community as a nominee or 
custodian, or 

15. A trust exempt from tax under section 664 or described in section 
4947. 

The following chart shows types of payments that may be exempt 
from backup withholding. The chart applies to the exempt payees listed 
above, 1 through 15. 

 

Part I. Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) 

Enter your TIN in the appropriate box. If you are a resident alien and 
you do not have and are not eligible to get an SSN, your TIN is your IRS 
individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN). Enter it in the social 
security number box. If you do not have an ITIN, see How to get a TIN 
below. 

If you are a sole proprietor and you have an EIN, you may enter either 
your SSN or EIN. However, the IRS prefers that you use your SSN. 

If you are a single-member LLC that is disregarded as an entity 
separate from its owner (see Limited Liability Company (LLC) on page 2), 
enter the owner’s SSN (or EIN, if the owner has one). Do not enter the 
disregarded entity’s EIN. If the LLC is classified as a corporation or 
partnership, enter the entity’s EIN. 

Note. See the chart on page 4 for further clarification of name and TIN 
combinations. 

How to get a TIN. If you do not have a TIN, apply for one immediately. 
To apply for an SSN, get Form SS-5, Application for a Social Security 
Card, from your local Social Security Administration office or get this 
form online at www.ssa.gov. You may also get this form by calling 
1-800-772-1213. Use Form W-7, Application for IRS Individual Taxpayer 
Identification Number, to apply for an ITIN, or Form SS-4, Application for 
Employer Identification Number, to apply for an EIN. You can apply for 
an EIN online by accessing the IRS website at www.irs.gov/businesses 
and clicking on Employer Identification Number (EIN) under Starting a 
Business. You can get Forms W-7 and SS-4 from the IRS by visiting 
IRS.gov or by calling 1-800-TAX-FORM (1-800-829-3676). 

If you are asked to complete Form W-9 but do not have a TIN, write 
“Applied For” in the space for the TIN, sign and date the form, and give 
it to the requester. For interest and dividend payments, and certain 
payments made with respect to readily tradable instruments, generally 
you will have 60 days to get a TIN and give it to the requester before you 
are subject to backup withholding on payments. The 60-day rule does 
not apply to other types of payments. You will be subject to backup 
withholding on all such payments until you provide your TIN to the 
requester. 

Note. Entering “Applied For” means that you have already applied for a 
TIN or that you intend to apply for one soon. 

Caution: A disregarded domestic entity that has a foreign owner must 
use the appropriate Form W-8. 

Part II. Certification 

To establish to the withholding agent that you are a U.S. person, or 
resident alien, sign Form W-9. You may be requested to sign by the 
withholding agent even if item 1, below, and items 4 and 5 on page 4 
indicate otherwise. 

For a joint account, only the person whose TIN is shown in Part I 
should sign (when required). In the case of a disregarded entity, the 
person identified on the “Name” line must sign. Exempt payees, see 
Exempt Payee on page 3. 

Signature requirements. Complete the certification as indicated in 
items 1 through 3, below, and items 4 and 5 on page 4. 

1. Interest, dividend, and barter exchange accounts opened 
before 1984 and broker accounts considered active during 1983. 
You must give your correct TIN, but you do not have to sign the 
certification. 

2. Interest, dividend, broker, and barter exchange accounts 
opened after 1983 and broker accounts considered inactive during 
1983. You must sign the certification or backup withholding will apply. If 
you are subject to backup withholding and you are merely providing 
your correct TIN to the requester, you must cross out item 2 in the 
certification before signing the form. 

3. Real estate transactions. You must sign the certification. You may 
cross out item 2 of the certification. 

 
1 
See Form 1099-MISC, Miscellaneous Income, and its instructions. 

2 
However, the following payments made to a corporation and reportable on Form 

1099-MISC are not exempt from backup withholding: medical and health care 

payments, attorneys' fees, gross proceeds paid to an attorney, and payments for 

services paid by a federal executive agency. 

http://www.ssa.gov/
http://www.irs.gov/businesses
http://www.irs.gov/businesses
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For this type of account: Give name and SSN of: 

1. Individual 

2. Two or more individuals (joint 
account) 

 
3. Custodian account of a minor 

(Uniform Gift to Minors Act) 

4. a. The usual revocable savings 
trust (grantor is also trustee) 
b. So-called trust account that is 
not a legal or valid trust under 
state law 

5. Sole proprietorship or disregarded 
entity owned by an individual 

6. Grantor trust filing under Optional 
Form 1099 Filing Method 1 (see 
Regulation section 1.671-4(b)(2)(i)(A)) 

The individual 

The actual owner of the account or, 
if combined funds, the first 

1 

individual on the account 

The minor 
2

 

 
The grantor-trustee 

1

 

 
The actual owner 

1

 

 

 
The owner 

3

 

 
The grantor* 

For this type of account: Give name and EIN of: 

7. Disregarded entity not owned by an 
individual 

8. A valid trust, estate, or pension trust 

9. Corporation or LLC electing 
corporate status on Form 8832 or 
Form 2553 

10. Association, club, religious, 
charitable, educational, or other 
tax-exempt organization 

11. Partnership or multi-member LLC 

12. A broker or registered nominee 

13. Account with the Department of 
Agriculture in the name of a public 
entity (such as a state or local 
government, school district, or 
prison) that receives agricultural 
program payments 

14. Grantor trust filing under the Form 
1041 Filing Method or the Optional 
Form 1099 Filing Method 2 (see 
Regulation section 1.671-4(b)(2)(i)(B)) 

The owner 

 
Legal entity 

4

 

The corporation 
 

 
The organization 

 

 
The partnership 

The broker or nominee 

The public entity 

 
 
 
 

The trust 

 

 
4. Other payments. You must give your correct TIN, but you do not 

have to sign the certification unless you have been notified that you 
have previously given an incorrect TIN. “Other payments” include 
payments made in the course of the requester’s trade or business for 
rents, royalties, goods (other than bills for merchandise), medical and 
health care services (including payments to corporations), payments to 
a nonemployee for services, payments to certain fishing boat crew 
members and fishermen, and gross proceeds paid to attorneys 
(including payments to corporations). 

5. Mortgage interest paid by you, acquisition or abandonment of 
secured property, cancellation of debt, qualified tuition program 
payments (under section 529), IRA, Coverdell ESA, Archer MSA or 
HSA contributions or distributions, and pension distributions. You 
must give your correct TIN, but you do not have to sign the certification. 

 

What Name and Number To Give the Requester 

 
Note. If no name is circled when more than one name is listed, the 
number will be considered to be that of the first name listed. 

Secure Your Tax Records from Identity Theft 

Identity theft occurs when someone uses your personal information 
such as your name, social security number (SSN), or other identifying 
information, without your permission, to commit fraud or other crimes. 
An identity thief may use your SSN to get a job or may file a tax return 
using your SSN to receive a refund. 

To reduce your risk: 

• Protect your SSN, 

• Ensure your employer is protecting your SSN, and 

• Be careful when choosing a tax preparer. 

If your tax records are affected by identity theft and you receive a 
notice from the IRS, respond right away to the name and phone number 
printed on the IRS notice or letter. 

If your tax records are not currently affected by identity theft but you 
think you are at risk due to a lost or stolen purse or wallet, questionable 
credit card activity or credit report, contact the IRS Identity Theft Hotline 
at 1-800-908-4490 or submit Form 14039. 

For more information, see Publication 4535, Identity Theft Prevention 
and Victim Assistance. 

Victims of identity theft who are experiencing economic harm or a 
system problem, or are seeking help in resolving tax problems that have 
not been resolved through normal channels, may be eligible for 
Taxpayer Advocate Service (TAS) assistance. You can reach TAS by 
calling the TAS toll-free case intake line at 1-877-777-4778 or TTY/TDD 
1-800-829-4059. 

Protect yourself from suspicious emails or phishing schemes. 
Phishing is the creation and use of email and websites designed to 
mimic legitimate business emails and websites. The most common act 
is sending an email to a user falsely claiming to be an established 
legitimate enterprise in an attempt to scam the user into surrendering 
private information that will be used for identity theft. 

The IRS does not initiate contacts with taxpayers via emails. Also, the 
IRS does not request personal detailed information through email or ask 
taxpayers for the PIN numbers, passwords, or similar secret access 
information for their credit card, bank, or other financial accounts. 

If you receive an unsolicited email claiming to be from the IRS, 
forward this message to phishing@irs.gov. You may also report misuse 
of the IRS name, logo, or other IRS property to the Treasury Inspector 
General for Tax Administration at 1-800-366-4484. You can forward 
suspicious emails to the Federal Trade Commission at: spam@uce.gov 
or contact them at www.ftc.gov/idtheft or 1-877-IDTHEFT 
(1-877-438-4338). 

Visit IRS.gov to learn more about identity theft and how to reduce 
your risk. 

 

 

 

 
1 

List first and circle the name of the person whose number you furnish. If only one person on a 
joint account has an SSN, that person’s number must be furnished. 

2 

Circle the minor’s name and furnish the minor’s SSN. 
3 

You must show your individual name and you may also enter your business or “DBA”  name on 
the “Business name/disregarded entity” name line. You may use either your SSN or EIN (if you 

have one), but the IRS encourages you to use your SSN. 
4 

List first and circle the name of the trust, estate, or pension trust. (Do not furnish the TIN of the 
personal representative or trustee unless the legal entity itself is not designated in the account 

title.) Also see Special rules for partnerships on page 1. 

*Note. Grantor also must provide a Form W-9 to trustee of trust. 

 
Privacy Act Notice 

Section 6109 of the Internal Revenue Code requires you to provide your correct TIN to persons (including federal agencies) who are required to file information returns with 
the IRS to report interest, dividends, or certain other income paid to you; mortgage interest you paid; the acquisition or abandonment of secured property; the cancellation of 
debt; or contributions you made to an IRA, Archer MSA, or HSA. The person collecting this form uses the information on the form to file information returns with the IRS, 
reporting the above information. Routine uses of this information include giving it to the Department of Justice for civil and criminal litigation and to cities, states, the District 

of Columbia, and U.S. possessions for use in administering their laws. The information also may be disclosed to other countries under a treaty, to federal and state 
agencies to enforce civil and criminal laws, or to federal law enforcement and intelligence agencies to combat terrorism. You must provide your TIN whether or not you are 
required to file a tax return. Under section 3406, payers must generally withhold a percentage of taxable interest, dividend, and certain other payments to a payee who does not 
give a TIN to the payer. Certain penalties may also apply for providing false or fraudulent information. 

 

mailto:phishing@irs.gov
mailto:spam@uce.gov
mailto:spam@uce.gov
http://www.ftc.gov/idtheft
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Appendix B— Supporting Documentation and Forms 
(7) Electronic Funds Transfer Form 
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Appendix B— Supporting Documentation and Forms 
(8) Site Information Form  
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LOUISIANA SLRP SITE INFORMATION FORM 
 

 OFFICE USE ONLY-DATE REC’D: 

Name and Address of Practice Site: 
 
 
 

Name and Address of Employer (if different): 

Contact Name and Title:  
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Telephone: 
Contact Fax: 

Telephone Number at Practice Site: 
Fax Number at Practice Site: 
Employer’s telephone: 
Employer’s fax: 

Type of Practice:    Public     Non-profit        Both 

(provide proof of checked practice type with 
application) 

Type of Facility:   FQHC   RHC   Private   State  

 other ________________________________ 

Employer’s Medicaid ID#: 
Employer’s Medicare ID# 

What is the SLRP Clinician’s routine work schedule?  Include office hours, hospital privileges, call coverage, duties, 
patient load and an explanation of any special responsibilities for the position. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

How many patients were seen at this location last year? 
 
 

How many of these patients were uninsured? 
 

How many of these patients were enrolled in Medicaid 
managed health plans? 
 
 

How many of these patients were Medicare? 

Does this practice site currently have in place a sliding fee scale/indigent care policy for patients below 200% of the 

Federal poverty level?   YES   NO If yes, what percentage of uninsured patients was eligible for reduced fees last 
year?                When was the policy established? __________ When was the policy last updated? ___________   

Are signs posted to inform patients of this policy?    Yes   No  (provide examples of signage/notices in place) 

Besides posted signs, how does the site ensure that patients are aware of the availability of the sliding fee 
scale/indigent care policy?  Please give details and samples if applicable. 
 

 

 

 

IMPORTANT NOTE:   
The applicant will be notified of the decision whether or not to support this request by the end of July.  The clinician’s 
contract for SLRP will not begin until October of this year if the clinician is awarded funds. 

 
For additional information, contact Beth Butler at 225.342.4702 or beth.butler@la.gov 

Signature: 
 

Date Application Mailed: 
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Appendix C— Sample Contract 
 
NOTE: This is a SAMPLE contract only. Changes might occur to the 
document before the next SLRP contracts are mailed out to awardees.   
 
IF AWARDED SLRP FUNDS, READ THE CONTRACT AND 
ATTACHMENTS CAREFULLY BEFORE SIGNING AND RETURNING TO 
LA DHH FOR CONTRACT APPROVAL.  BY SIGNING THE CONTRACT 
AND RETURNING IT TO DHH, THE PROFESSIONAL AGREES TO 
ADHERE TO THE CONTRACT AND ATTACHMENTS AS IT IS WRITTEN 
AT THAT TIME. 
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DHH - CF - 1              AGREEMENT BETWEEN STATE OF LOUISIANA        CFMS:  
Revised: 2011-06                   DHH:  
       DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HOSPITALS        Agency: 

 
Office of Public Health 

Bureau of Primary Care and Rural Health 

AND 

Contractor name, TTL 

FOR 

□ Personal Services     ■ Professional Services     □ Consulting Services     □ Social Services 

1)  PROVIDER/CONTRACTOR (LEGAL NAME IF CORPORATION) 

    Contractor name, TTL 

 

5)  FEDERAL EMPLOYER TAX ID# OR SOCIAL 

SECURITY # 
     00             (MUST BE 11 DIGITS) 

2)  STREET ADDRESS 
      

6)  PARISH(ES) SERVED 
 

    CITY                                         STATE          ZIP CODE 
 

7)  LICENSE OR CERTIFICATION # 
 

3)  TELEPHONE NUMBER 
 

8)  CONTRACTOR STATUS 
    Subrecipient: □  Yes     X  No 

    Corporation: □  Yes     X  No 

    For Profit: □  Yes     X  No 

    Publicly Traded: □  Yes     X  No 

4)  MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT) 

         CITY                                             STATE      ZIP CODE 
 

8A)  CFDA# (FEDERAL GRANT #) 
       93.165 

9) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF SERVICES TO BE PROVIDED: 
 
The purpose of the Louisiana State Loan Repayment Program (SLRP) is to recruit primary care 
practitioners to serve in a federally designated Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) in the State 
of Louisiana.  In return for the delivery of primary and preventative health care in an outpatient setting as 
defined in Attachment 2, the Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH) will provide funds for the 
repayment of education loans incurred by the health care professional.  See Attachment 1 for a detailed 
description of the contract goals and objectives. 
 

10)  EFFECTIVE DATE        

10/1/14 

11)  TERMINATION DATE   

9/30/17 

12)  This contract cannot be cancelled by Contractor for convenience or for any cause other than death.  
Contract services cancelled by Contractor for any reason other than death will be considered default 
and Contractor shall be subject to the financial consequences outlined in Attachment 3 of the contract. 
This contract may be cancelled by the Department with or without cause upon 30 day prior written 
notice. 
13)  MAXIMUM CONTRACT AMOUNT  $.00 TOTALS, FY15- $, FY16-$,  

                        FY17- $, FY 18- $ 

14) TERMS OF PAYMENT 
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     Payment will be made quarterly upon receipt and approval of the quarterly report as invoice of  
     Contractor in accordance with the terms in Attachment 1.  Cost reimbursement contract in  
     accordance with the attached budget.  The Contractor is obligated to submit final invoices to  
     the Agency within fifteen (15) days after termination of contract. 
 

PAYMENT WILL BE MADE 

ONLY UPON APPROVAL OF: 
 
 

FIRST NAME                                           LAST NAME 
Avis                                     Richard-Griffin 

TITLE  
Interim Director 

PHONE NUMBER  
(225) 342-2657 

15) SPECIAL OR ADDITIONAL PROVISIONS WHICH ARE INCORPORATED HEREIN, IF ANY (IF 

NECESSARY, ATTACH SEPARATE SHEET AND REFERENCE): 
 
Attachment 1: Statement of Work           Exhibit A: Practitioner’s License 
Attachment 2: Services Defined             Exhibit B: Multi-Year Letter 
Attachment 3: Additional Provisions        Exhibit C: Late Letter 
Attachment 4: Additional Provisions        Exhibit D:  Resume 
Attachment 5: HIPAA Addendum             
Attachment 6: Quarterly Report Form 
Attachment 7: Payment Fee Schedule                                                                                                                                        
                                                     

 
 
 

During the performance of this contract, the Contractor hereby agrees to the following terms and 
conditions: 
 

 
1. Discrimination Clause: Contractor hereby agrees to abide by the requirements of the following as applicable: 

Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended by the Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972; the 
Vietnam Era Veterans' Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974; Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990; the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973; Federal Executive Order 11246 as amended; Title IX of the Education Amendments of 
1972; the Age Discrimination Act of 1975; the Fair Housing Act of 1968; and all applicable requirements imposed by 
or pursuant to the regulations of the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services.  
Contractor agrees not to discriminate in the rendering of services to and/or employment of individuals because of 
race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin, disability, political affiliation, veteran status, or any other non-merit 
factor. Any act of discrimination committed by Contractor, or failure to comply with these statutory obligations when 
applicable, shall be grounds for termination of this contract.  
2. Confidentiality: Contractor shall abide by the laws and regulations concerning confidentially which safeguard 

information and the patient/client confidentiality. Information obtained shall not be used in any manner except as 
necessary for the proper discharge of Contractor’s obligations. (The Contractor shall establish, subject to review and 
approval of the Department, confidentiality rules and facility access procedures.)  
3. Auditors: The State Legislative Auditor, Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, and Department 

Auditors or those designated by the Department shall have the option of auditing all accounts pertaining to this 
contract during the contract and for a three year period following final payment. Contractor grants to the State of 
Louisiana, through the Office of the Legislative Auditor, Department of Health and Hospitals, and Inspector General’s 
Office, Federal Government and/or other such officially designated body the right to inspect and review all books and 
records pertaining to services rendered under this contract, and further agrees to guidelines for fiscal administration 
as may be promulgated by the Department. Records will be made available during normal working hours.  
Contractor shall comply with federal and state laws and/or DHH Policy requiring an audit of the Contractor’s operation 
as a whole or of specific program activities. Audit reports shall be sent within thirty (30) days after the completion of 
the audit, but no later than six (6) months after the end of the audit period. If an audit is performed within the contract 
period, for any period, four (4) copies of the audit report shall be sent to the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Attention: Division of Fiscal Management, P. O. Box 91117, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3797 and one (1) copy of 
the audit shall be sent to the originating DHH Office.  
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4. Record Retention: Contractor agrees to retain all books, records and other documents relevant to the contract 

and funds expended thereunder for at least four (4) years after final payment or as prescribed in 45 CFR 74:53 (b) 
whichever is longer. Contractor shall make available to the Department such records within thirty (30) days of the 
Department’s written request and shall deliver such records to the Department’s central office in Baton Rouge, 
Louisiana, all without expense to the Department. Contractor shall allow the Department to inspect, audit or copy 
records at the contractor’s site, without expense to the Department.  
5. Record Ownership: All records, reports, documents and other material delivered or transmitted to Contractor by 

the Department shall remain the property of the Department, and shall be returned by Contractor to the Department, 
at Contractor's expense, at termination or expiration of this contract. All records, reports, documents, or other material 
related to this contract and/or obtained or prepared by Contractor in connection with the performance of the services 
contracted for herein shall become the property of the Department, and shall, upon request, be returned by 
Contractor to the Department, at Contractor's expense, at termination or expiration of this contract.  
6. Nonassignability: Contractor shall not assign any interest in this contract and shall not transfer any interest in the 

same (whether by assignment or novation), without written consent of the Department thereto, provided, however, 
that claims for money due or to become due to Contractor from the Department under this contract may be assigned 
to a bank, trust company or other financial institution without advanced approval. Notice of any such assignment or 
transfer shall be promptly furnished to the Department and the Division of Administration, Office of State 
Procurement.  
7. Taxes: Contractor hereby agrees that the responsibility for payment of taxes from the funds received under this 

contract shall be Contractor's. The Contractor assumes responsibility for its personnel providing services hereunder 
and shall make all deductions for withholding taxes, and contributions for unemployment compensation funds.  
8. Insurance: Contractor shall obtain and maintain during the contract term all necessary insurance including 

automobile insurance, workers' compensation insurance, and general liability insurance. The required insurances 
shall protect the Contractor, the Department of Health and Hospitals, and the State of Louisiana from all claims 
related to Contractor's performance of this contract. Certificates of Insurance shall be filed with the Department for 
approval. Said policies shall not be canceled, permitted to expire, or be changed without thirty (30) days advance 
written notice to the Department. Commercial General Liability Insurance shall provide protection during the 
performance of work covered by the contract from claims or damages for personal injury, including accidental death, 
as well as claims for property damages, with combined single limits prescribed by the Department.  
9. Travel: In cases where travel and related expenses are required to be identified separate from the fee for services, 

such costs shall be in accordance with State Travel Regulations. The contract contains a maximum compensation 
which shall be inclusive of all charges including fees and travel expenses.  
10. Political Activities: No funds provided herein shall be used to urge any elector to vote for or against any candidate or 

proposition on an election ballot nor shall such funds be used to lobby for or against any proposition or matter having the effect 

of law being considered by the Legislature or any local governing authority. This provision shall not prevent the normal 

dissemination of factual information relative to a proposition or any election ballot or a proposition or matter having the effect of 

law being considered by the Legislature or any local governing authority. Contracts with individuals shall be exempt from this 

provision. this contract and/or obtained or prepared by Contractor in connection with the performance of the 
services contracted for herein shall become the property of State, and shall be returned by Contractor to 
State, at Contractor's expense, at termination or expiration of this contract.  
11. State Employment: Should Contractor become an employee of the classified or unclassified service of the State 

of Louisiana during the effective period of the contract, Contractor must notify his/her appointing authority of any 
existing contract with State of Louisiana and notify the contracting office of any additional state employment. This is 
applicable only to contracts with individuals.  
12. Ownership of Proprietary Data: All non-third party software and source code, records, reports, documents and other 

material delivered or transmitted to Contractor by State shall remain the property of State, and shall be returned by Contractor to 

State, at Contractor's expense, at termination or expiration of this contract. All non-third party software and source code, records, 

reports, documents, or other material related to this contract and/or obtained or prepared by Contractor in connection with the 

performance of the services contracted for herein shall become the property of State, and shall be returned by Contractor to State, 

at Contractor's expense, at termination or expiration of this contract. 

13. Subcontracting: Contractor shall not enter into any subcontract for work or services contemplated under this contract 

without obtaining prior written approval of the Department. Any subcontracts approved by the Department shall be subject to 

conditions and provisions as the Department may deem necessary; provided, however, that notwithstanding the foregoing, unless 

otherwise provided in this contract, such prior written approval shall not be required for the purchase by the contractor of 

supplies and services which are incidental but necessary for the performance of the work required under this contract. No 

subcontract shall relieve the Contractor of the responsibility for the performance of contractual obligations described herein. 14. 

Conflict of Interest: Contractor warrants that no person and no entity providing services pursuant to this contract on behalf of 

Contractor or any subcontractor is prohibited from providing such services by the provisions of R.S. 42:1113.  
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15. Unauthorized Services: No claim for services furnished or requested for reimbursement by Contractor, not provided for in 

this contract, shall be allowed by the Department. In the event the Department determines that certain costs which have been 

reimbursed to Contractor pursuant to this or previous contracts are not allowable, the Department shall have the right to set off 

and withhold said amounts from any amount due the Contractor under this contract for costs that are allowable. 
16. Fiscal Funding: This contract is subject to and conditioned upon the availability and appropriation of Federal and/or State 

funds; and no liability or obligation for payment will develop between the parties until the contract has been approved by 

required authorities of the Department; and, if contract exceeds $2,000, the Division of Administration, Office of State 

Procurement. The continuation of this contract is contingent upon the appropriation of funds from the legislature to fulfill the 

requirements of the contract. If the Legislature fails to appropriate sufficient monies to provide for the continuation of the 

contract, or if such appropriation is reduced by the veto of the Governor or by any means provided in the appropriations act to 

prevent the total appropriation for the year from exceeding revenues for that year, or for any other lawful purpose, and the effect 

of such reduction is to provide insufficient monies for the continuation of the contract, the contract shall terminate on the date of 

the beginning of the first fiscal year for which funds are not appropriated. 17. State and Federal Funding Requirements: 

Contractor shall comply with all applicable requirements of state or federal laws or regulations relating to Contractor's receipt of 

state or federal funds under this contract. If Contractor is a “subrecipient” of federal funds under this contract, as defined in 2 

CFR Part 200 (Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards), Contractor 

shall comply with all applicable requirements of 2 CFR Part 200, including but not limited to the following: ·Contractor must 

disclose any potential conflict of interest to the Department and the federal awarding agencyas required by 2 CFR §200.112. 

·Contractor must disclose to the Department and the federal awarding agency, timely and in writing, all violations of federal 

criminal laws that may affect the federal award, as required by 2 CFR §200.113. ·Contractor must safeguard protected personally 

identifiable information and other sensitive information, as required by 2 CFR §200.303. ·Contractor must have and follow 

written procurement standards and procedures in compliance with federally approved methods of procurement, as required by 2 

CFR §§200.317 - 200.326. ·Contractor must comply with the audit requirements set forth in 2 CFR §§200.501 - 200.521, as 

applicable, including but not limited to: o Electronic submission of data and reports to the Federal Audit Clearinghouse (FAC) (2 

CFR §200.512(d)). o Ensuring that reports do not include protected personally identifiable information (2 CFR §200.512(a)(2)). 

Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph 3 (Auditors) of these Terms and Conditions, copies of audit reports for audits 

conducted pursuant to 2 CFR Part 200 shall not be required to be sent to the Department.  

18. Amendments: Any alteration, variation, modification, or waiver of provisions of this contract shall be valid only when 

reduced to writing, as an amendment duly signed, and approved by required authorities of the Department; and, if the contract 

exceeds $2,000, by the Division of Administration, Office of State Procurement. Budget revisions approved by both parties in 

cost reimbursement contracts do not require an amendment if the revision only involves the realignment of monies between 

originally approved cost categories. 

19. Non-Infringement: Contractor will warrant all materials, products and/or services produced hereunder will not infringe upon 

or violate any patent, copyright, trade secret, or other proprietary right of any third party. In the event of any such claim by any 

third party against DHH, the Department shall promptly notify Contractor in writing and Contractor shall defend such claim in 

DHH’s name, but at Contractor’s expense and shall indemnify and hold harmless DHH against any loss, expense or liability 

arising out of such claim, whether or not such claim is successful. This provision is not applicable to contracts with physicians, 

psychiatrists, psychologists or other allied health providers solely for medical services.  

20. Purchased Equipment: Any equipment purchased under this contract remains the property of the Contractor for the period 

of this contract and future continuing contracts for the provision of the same services. Contractor must submit vendor invoice 

with reimbursement request. For the purpose of this contract, equipment is defined as any tangible, durable property having a 

useful life of at least (1) year and acquisition cost of $1000.00 or more. The contractor has the responsibility to submit to the 

Contract Monitor an inventory list of DHH equipment items when acquired under the contract and any additions to the listing as 

they occur. Contractor will submit an updated, complete inventory list on a quarterly basis to the Contract Monitor. Contractor 

agrees that upon termination of contracted services, the equipment purchased under this contract reverts to the Department. 

Contractor agrees to deliver any such equipment to the Department within 30 days of termination of services.  

21. Indemnity: Contractor agrees to protect, indemnify and hold harmless the State of Louisiana, DHH, from all claims for 

damages, costs, expenses and attorney fees arising in contract or tort from this contract or from any acts or omissions of 

Contractor’s agents, employees, officers or clients, including premises liability and including any claim based on any theory of 

strict liability. This provision does not apply to actions or omissions for which R.S. 40:1299.39 provides malpractice coverage to 

the Contractor, nor claims related to treatment and performance of evaluations of persons when such persons cause harm to third 

parties (R.S. 13:5108.1(E)). Further, it does not apply to premises liability when the services are being performed on premises 

owned and operated by DHH. 
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22. Severability: Any provision of this contract is severable if that provision is in violation of the laws of the State of 

Louisiana or the United States, or becomes inoperative due to changes in State and Federal law, or applicable State 
or Federal regulations.  
23. Entire Agreement: Contractor agrees that the current contract supersedes all previous contracts, negotiations, 

and all other communications between the parties with respect to the subject matter of the current contract.  
24. E-Verify: Contractor acknowledges and agrees to comply with the provision of R.S. 38:2212.10 and federal law 

pertaining to E-Verify in the performance of services under this contract.  
25. Remedies for Default: Any claim or controversy arising out of this contract shall be resolved by the provisions of 

R.S. 39:1672.2-1672.4.  
26. Governing Law: This contract shall be governed by and interpreted in accordance with the laws of the State of 

Louisiana, including but not limited to R.S. 39:1551-1736; rules and regulations; executive orders; standard terms and 
conditions, and specifications listed in the RFP (if applicable); and this Contract.  
27. Contractor's Cooperation: The Contractor has the duty to fully cooperate with the State and provide any and all 

requested information, documentation, etc. to the state when requested. This applies even if this Contract is 
terminated and/or a lawsuit is filed. Specifically, the Contractor shall not limit or impede the State's right to audit or 
shall not withhold State owned documents.  
28. Continuing Obligation: Contractor has a continuing obligation to disclose any suspension or debarment by any 

government entity, including but not limited to the General Services Administration (GSA). Failure to disclose may 
constitute grounds for suspension and/or termination of the Contract and debarment from future contracts.  
29. Eligibility Status: Contractor and each tier of Subcontractors, shall certify that it is not excluded, disqualified, 

disbarred, or suspended from contracting with or receiving federal funds or grants from the Federal Government. 
Contractor and each tier of Subcontractors shall certify that it is not on the List of Parties Excluded from Federal 
Procurement and Nonprocurement Programs promulgated in accordance with E.O.s 12549 and 12689, "Debarment 
and Suspension," as set forth at 24CFR Part 24, and "NonProcurement Debarment and Suspension" set forth at 
2CFR Part 2424.  
30. Termination for Cause: The Department may terminate this Contract for cause based upon the failure of the 

Contractor to comply with the terms and/or conditions of the Contract; provided that the Department shall give the 
Contractor written notice specifying the Contractor's failure. If within thirty (30) days after receipt of such notice, the 
Contractor shall not have either corrected such failure or, in the case of failure which cannot be corrected in thirty (30) 
days, begun in good faith to correct said failure and thereafter proceeded diligently to complete such correction, then 
the Department may, at its option, place the Contractor in default and the Contract shall terminate on the date 
specified in such notice. The Contractor may exercise any rights available to it under Louisiana law to terminate for 
cause upon the failure of the Department to comply with the terms and conditions of this contract; provided that the 
Contractor shall give the Department written notice specifying the Department's failure and a reasonable opportunity 
for the state to cure the defect.  
31. Termination for Convenience: The Department may terminate this Contract at any  
time by giving thirty (30) days written notice to the Contractor. The Contractor shall be entitled to payment for 
deliverables in progress, to the extent work has been performed satisfactorily.  
32. Commissioner's Statements: Statements, acts and omissions made by or on behalf of the Commissioner of 

Administration regarding the RFP or RFP process, this Contract, any Contractor and/or any subcontractor of the 
Contractor shall not be deemed a conflict of interest when the Commissioner is discharging her duties and 
responsibilities under law, including, but not limited, to the Commissioner of Administration's authority in procurement 
matters.  

 

SIGNATURES TO FOLLOW ON THE NEXT PAGE 
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THIS CONTRACT CONTAINS OR HAS ATTACHED HERETO ALL THE TERMS AND 

CONDITIONS AGREED UPON BY THE CONTRACTING PARTIES. IN WITNESS 

THEREOF, THIS CONTRACT IS SIGNED ON THE DATE INDICATED BELOW. 

 

 
 

CONTRACTOR NAME 

  
STATE OF LOUISIANA 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 

HOSPITALS 

 

 
 
 

  

SIGNATURE                               DATE  SIGNATURE                               DATE 
Contractor name 
 

 Rebekah E. Gee, MD, MPH 
 

NAME  NAME 
TTL  Secretary, DHH 

TITLE  TITLE 
   

 
Bureau of Primary Care  

and Rural Health 
 

  
 

Office of Public Health 

 
 
 

  

SIGNATURE                               DATE  SIGNATURE                               DATE 

Avis Richard-Griffin  Beth Scalco 

NAME  NAME 
Director  Assistant Secretary 

TITLE  TITLE 
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 ATTACHMENT 2—Statement of Work 
 
The additional terms of this agreement are set forth below. 
 
Section A: Goal of Agreement: 

 
To provide primary health care services within the following officially designated HPSA(s) and public 
and non-profit private facility: Facility Name, facility address;  HPSA #  
 

Section B: Deliverables: Obligations of the health care professional 
 
The contractor agrees: 
 
  To provide primary health care encounters/services as defined in Attachment 2. 
  
  To provide the Department with a copy of the loan statement which applies to this contract stating 

the current loan balance to be submitted to the State Loan Repayment Program Coordinator by 
April 15th and October 15th of each year.  All contracted funds must be paid in full and verification 
provided within 30 days of receipt of the last payment.   

 
  To provide the Department with a copy of an employment contract with a facility located in a HPSA 

at application and if employment changes.  All employment changes must be approved by DHH 
Program Monitor. 

 
  To attest that the educational loans being repaid by this contract were incurred for the contractor’s 

health professional education, including reasonable living expenses during the time that medical 
education was received. 

 
  To attest that the contractor’s educational loans are not in default. 
 
  To attest that no other obligation (federal, state or local repayment program) is being repaid (service 

or monies) during this contract period.   
 
 To charge for professional services at the usual and customary rate prevailing in the area in which 

such services are provided, except that if a person is unable to pay such charge, such person shall 
be charged at a reduced rate or not charged any fee.  

 
 To provide health services and not discriminate against any person on the basis of such person's 

ability to pay for such services or because payment for health services provided to such person will 
be made under the insurance program established under part A or B of Title XVIII of the Social 
Security Act or under a State plan for medical assistance approved under Title XIX or Title XXI of 
such Act.  

 
 To attest that the contractor will not relocate to another HPSA employment site without a written 

request and prior approval from the Department's State Loan Repayment Program Monitor.  After 
approval, a letter of employment is required to be submitted to the Department’s SLRP Monitor 
stating the effective date of employment, hours to be worked, that the facility accepts Medicaid, 
Medicare, and sliding fee scale patients, as well as, patients that cannot pay, and that the contractor 
is a provider for all Louisiana Medicaid programs. 

 
 To notify the Department in writing of any changes in the contractor’s situation (i.e., name change, 

mailing address, phone number, loan default status, licensure status, etc.). 
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ATTACHMENT 2—Statement of Work (continued) 
 
Section C: Performance Measures 
  
The contractor will: 
 
 Provide the Department with a statement guaranteeing that the employment site accepts Medicaid, 

Medicare and sliding fee scale patients and is an enrolled provider for all Louisiana Medicaid 
programs.  The facility must post a notice in a conspicuous place in the waiting room of the 
practice so that all people registering for service can see the notice which states that the 
facility has a sliding fee scale and that all patients will be seen regardless of their ability to 
pay. 

  
 Provide the Department with A SIGNED QUARTERLY SERVICE REPORT BY THE 15TH of the following 

month which totals the number of encounters rendered.  The report shall detail the number of 
patient encounters for each of the following: Medicare, Medicaid, sliding scale, 
uninsured/self pay; or special populations for which extra funding was awarded, i.e., 
AIDS/HIV,  Homeless, Migrant.  Arrangements for the tracking of this information should be made 
with the employment site. 

 
 Accept an assignment under section 1842(b)(3)(ii) of such Act for all services for which payment 

may be made under part B of Title XVIII of the Social Security Act.  
 
 Enter into an appropriate agreement with the State agency which administers the State plan for 

medical assistance under Title XIX or Title XXI of the Social Security Act. 
 
Section D: Monitoring of Agreement                                              
 
The agreement will be monitored via the following methods to which the contractor agrees: 
 
 That the Department representative may make announced or unannounced on-site visits for the 

purpose of program monitoring at any time during the length of the contract term. 
 
 That the Department has the right to verify service reports including written and/or verbal contacts 

with the professional, patient(s), hospital(s), medical society(s) and employer(s) at any time. 
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ATTACHMENT 3—Payment Fee Schedule  
 

Based upon receipt of the completed quarterly service reports payments will be made 
as follows: 
 
State Fiscal Year 2016 
 
October 1, 2015-December 31, 2015 =      $___ 
January 1, 2016-March 31, 2016 =     $___ 
April 1, 2016-June 30, 2016 =       $___ 
 
          Total: $___ 
 
State Fiscal Year 2017 
 
July 1, 2016-September 30, 2016 =      $__ 
October 1, 2016-December 31, 2016 =       $___ 
January 1, 2017-March 31, 2017 =     $___ 
April 1, 2017-June 30, 2017  =       $___ 
   
          Total: $ __ 
 
State Fiscal Year 2018 
 
July 1, 2017-September 30, 2017 =      $___ 
October 1, 2017-December 31, 2017 =      $___ 
January 1, 2018-March 31, 2018 =     $___ 
April 1, 2018-June 30, 2018 =       $___ 
   
          Total: $___ 
State Fiscal Year 2019 

 
July 1, 2018-September 30, 2018 =      $      _   
 

NOTE: Quarters for payments are— 
 Quarter 1: January through March—payment in April 
 Quarter 2: April through June—payment in July 
 Quarter 3: July through September—payment in October 
 Quarter 4: October through December—payment in January 
 
Payment Totals for SFY16 = $.00 
Payment Totals for SFY17 = $.00 
Payment Totals for SFY18 = $.00 
Payment Totals for SFY19 = $.00 
Contract Total:  = $.00 
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 ATTACHMENT 4—Services Defined 
 
Physicians/Dentists:  Primary health care services rendered by physicians/dentists 
must be full-time and are defined as a minimum forty (40) hour work week to be 
performed in no less than four (4) days per week with no more than twelve (12) hours of 
work to be performed in a 24 hour period.  Time spent in an "on-call" status will not 
count toward the 40 hour week.  Physicians/dentists must work at least 32 of the 
minimum 40 hours per week providing clinical services in an outpatient/ambulatory 
setting except obstetricians/gynecologists must work at least 21 of the 40 hours 
providing clinical services in this type setting.  Contractors are allowed up to seven (7) 
weeks a year away from the practice site for vacations, holidays, continuing 
professional education, illness or any other reason; professionals with absences greater 
than seven (7) weeks in a service year must extend their service commitment date. A 
primary health care encounter is face-to-face contact between the contracting 
physician/dentist and a patient for the purpose of preventive care, diagnosis and/or 
treatment.  Contacts with more than one health professional and/or multiple contacts 
with the same contracting physician/dentist that takes place on the same day 
constitutes a single encounter unless the patient, subsequent to the first visit, suffers 
illness or injury requiring additional diagnosis or treatment. 
 
Mid-levels: Health care services rendered by primary care nurse practitioners (NPs); 
certified nurse-midwives (NMs); primary care physician assistants (PAs); registered 
clinical dental hygienists (DHs); licensed clinical or counseling psychologists (LCPs); 
licensed clinical social workers (LCSWs); psychiatric nurse specialists (PNSs); mental 
health counselors (MHCs); licensed professional counselors (LPCs); and marriage and 
family therapists (MFTs) must be full-time in an outpatient setting and are defined as a 
minimum forty (40) hour work week to be performed in no less than four (4) days per 
week with no more than twelve (12) hours of work to be performed in a 24 hour period.  
Mid-levels must work at least 32 of the minimum 40 hours per week providing clinical 
services in an outpatient/ambulatory setting except nurse midwives who must work at 
least 21 of the 40 hours providing clinical services in this type setting. Contractors are 
allowed up to seven (7) weeks a year away from the practice site for vacations, 
holidays, continuing professional education, illness or any other reason; professionals 
with absences greater than seven (7) weeks in a service year must extend their service 
commitment date. 
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ATTACHMENT 5—Default Provisions 
 
This contract cannot be cancelled by Contractor for convenience or for any cause other 
than death. Contract services cancelled by Contractor for any reason other than death 
will be considered default and Contractor shall be subject to the financial consequences 
outlined below.  This contract may be cancelled by the Department with or without cause 
upon 30 day prior written notice. 
 
DEFAULT: SLRP Contractors who fail to begin or complete his/her SLRP service 
obligation or otherwise breach the terms and conditions of the obligation are in default 
of his/her contract and are subject to the financial consequences outlined below in this 
Attachment.  Examples of default are: 

• Failure to begin or complete service term 
• Failure to accept Medicaid, Medicare and LaCHIP assignment or implement a 

sliding fee schedule for low-income, uninsured people 
• Failure to provide documentation of qualifying loans upon request/demand 
• Failure to apply SLRP funds to either (a) the repayment of qualifying educational 

loan balances or (b) the state income tax owed on the SLRP payments 
disbursed through this contract, up to the 6% of the contract amount 

• Failure to maintain eligibility as a Medicaid or Medicare provider 
 
If a health professional is unable to complete the service obligation at the initial 
placement, assistance will be provided to find another eligible placement.  If a contractor 
chooses not to find and accept a placement transfer/reassignment, then DHH must 
place the contractor in default of the SLRP contract. 
 
If the contractor breaches a SLRP obligation, the contractor will be subject to pay an 
amount equal to the sum of the following: 
 

a. The total amount paid by the SLRP to, or on behalf of, the participant for 
loan repayment for any period of obligated service not served; 
 

b. An amount equal to the number of months of obligated service not 
completed multiplied by $7,500; AND 

 
c. Interest on the above amounts at the maximum legal prevailing rate, as 

determined by the treasurer of the United States, from the date of breach. 
NOTE: The minimum amount that Louisiana DHH is entitled to recover 
will not be less than $31,000. 

 
Example: A physician has a contract for $90,000.00 for a 3-year term of service and voluntarily 
quits her job after 18 months to move to another state.  Her monthly payment amount is 
2,500.00.  Her monthly payment is made following the service month.  The maximum legal 
interest rate at the time is 18%.  The following method would be used to calculate the amount of 
the default penalty owed by the physician to DHH at the time of default:  
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THE DEFAULT PAYMENT OWED TO DHH = Section a + Section b + Section c 
 
Section a = 0 (payments are made after the term of service) 

 
Section b = (36-18)*$7,500.00 

                 = 18 * $7,500.00 
                 = $135,000.00 
 

Section c = (0*18%) + ($135,000.00*18%) 
                = 0 + $24,300.00 
                = $24,300.00 
 

Total owed to DHH = 0 + $135,000.00 + $24,300.00 = $159,300 
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 ATTACHMENT 6—Cancellation Provisions 
 

Contractors agree to adhere to all requirements imposed by or 
pursuant to the regulations of the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services. 
 
Cancellation Policy: The only permissible basis for a SLRP participant to cancel a 
SLRP contract is the death of the SLRP participant.  A SLRP contract cannot be 
canceled in order to allow an individual to participate in the NHSC LRP or for any 
other reason except the SLRP participant’s death. 
 
Waivers on SLRP contract obligations may be granted by the Secretary of the 
Department of Health and Hospitals in the event of certain circumstances.  Waiver is a 
permanent status.  In order to qualify for a waiver of the SLRP obligation, a participant 
must document a medical condition or a personal situation that makes compliance with 
the obligation permanently “impossible” or an “extreme hardship” such that enforcement 
would be against equity and good conscience.  An example would be an illness so 
debilitating that the participant can no longer practice his/her profession.   
 
Suspension of the participant’s SLRP obligation may be granted for up to 1 year.  In 
order to qualify for a suspension, the participant must document a medical condition or 
personal situation that makes compliance with the obligation temporarily “impossible” or 
an “extreme hardship” such that enforcement would be against equity and good 
conscience.  Examples would be the terminal illness of an immediate family member for 
whom the participant is caretaker, or maternity leave.   
 
Should the contractor default on the contract, payment will be required in accordance 
with the formula outlined in Attachment 3 by the end of the current state fiscal year. 
 
See Attachment 1 for additional contract specifications. 
 
Regardless of any other provision contained in this agreement between the Department 
and the contractor, the Department does not hereby become individually obligated to 
the Lender (s) of the qualified educational loans by this agreement for any obligation or 
loan which the contractor owes to said Lender. 
 
Any additional terms and/or conditions, or special provisions, mandated by either the 
State of Louisiana or by the Federal Authority of the United States, shall be added onto 
the existing contractual agreements as Attachment Z. 
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Attachment 7—Quarterly Report 
Monitoring Form 

 

Quarterly Service Report for LA State Loan Repayment Program (SLRP) 

 

Please mail or fax to: Beth Butler 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

628 N. 4th St. 

Baton Rouge, LA 70802 

Phone: (225) 342-4702 

Fax: (225) 342-5839 

Contractor: contractor name, title 

Home Address: 
Contractor address 

Practice Name/Address: 
Facility name 

Facility address 

Social Security Number  
SSN 

Home Telephone Number: 

CONTRACTOR PHONE 
Practice Telephone Number: 

 
Practice Fax Number: 

 

*Please update above information for any changes. 

 

FOR SERVICES RENDERED IN: ____/____  TO  ____/____ --   QTR 1/2/3/4 

                                                          Month/Year          Month/Year    (circle one) 

Number of outpatient(clinical) hours worked: 

 

Total number of hours worked: 

 

Number of patient encounters this quarter: 

 

Number of patients this quarter: 

 

Patient Profile Statistics: Complete each item. Please indicate ACTUAL or ESTIMATED. 

 

Number of Medicare patients: 

 

Number of patients using Sliding Fee Scale: 

Number of Medicaid patients: 

 

Number of patients who are uninsured: 

Fill out information below if SLRP funding was based on treating patients of the types listed. 

Number of patients with AIDS/HIV: Number of perinatal patients: 

Number of migrant patients: Number of homeless patients: 

Comments: 

 

 
The following signatures certify that services were rendered as recorded above by the SLRP contractor during the 

report quarter. 

 

_________________________________________________________  _________________ 

SLRP Professional’s Employer’s (or Representative’s) Signature   Date 

 

_________________________________________________________  _________________ 

SLRP Professional’s Signature      Date 
 

 

This report with the approval signature from the program director serves as an invoice to process quarterly payments 

under SLRP Professional Services/Social Services in accordance with the Terms of Payment in the above contracts. 
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_________________________________________________________ _________________ 

Louisiana DHH’s SLRP Program Director    Date 

 

NOTE: Quarters for payments are— 
 Quarter 1: January through March—Report due by April 15 
 Quarter 2: April through June—Report due by July 15 
 Quarter 3: July through September—Report due by October 15 
 Quarter 4: October through December—Report due by January 15 
 

If reports are not submitted by the 15th of the month 
they are due, then payment is not guaranteed 

Section c = (0*18%) + ($135,000.00*18%) 
                = 0 + $24,300.00 
                = $24,300.00 
 

   Total owed to DHH = 0 + $135,000.00 + $24,300.00 
                                                     = $159,300 
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 Appendix D— Sample Sliding Fee Scale 
 

Examples of Discounted/Sliding Fee Schedules for the Lower 48 Contiguous States � 
 

Annual Income Thresholds by Sliding Fee Discount Pay Class and Percent Poverty 
 
Poverty Level*          100%                125%                150%                175%               200%               >200% 

 

Family Size 
 

Minimum Fee                 20% pay                 40% pay                 60% pay                 80% pay                 100% pay 

1 $11,490 $14,363 $17,235 $20,108 $22,980 $22,981 

2 $15,510 $19,388 $23,265 $27,143 $31,020 $31,021 

3 $19,530 $24,413 $29,295 $34,178 $39,060 $39,061 

4 $23,550 $29,438 $35,325 $41,213 $47,100 $47,101 

5 $27,570 $34,463 $41,355 $48,248 $55,140 $55,141 

6 $31,590 $39,488 $47,385 $55,283 $63,180 $63,181 

7 $35,610 $44,513 $53,415 $62,318 $71,220 $71,221 

8 $39,630 $498,538 $59,445 $69,353 $79,260 $79,261 

For each additional 

person, add 

 
$4,020 

 
$5,025 

 
$6,030 

 
$7,035 

 
$8,040 

 
$8,040 

 

* Based on 2013 HHS Poverty Guidelines (http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty/13poverty.cfm) 
 
 
 

 

Maximum Annual Income Amounts for each Sliding Fee Percentage Category (except for 0% discount) 
 

Poverty 

Level*    
100%    110%    120%    130%    140%    150%    160%    170%    180%    190%    200%   >200%

 

Family 

Size 
 DISCOUNT  

100% 100%        90%         80%          70%          60%          50%         40%          30%         20%          10% 0% 

1 $11,490 $12,639 $13,788 $14,937 $16,086 $17,235 $18,384 $19,533 $20,682 $21,831 $22,980 $22,981 

2 $15,510 $17,061 $18,612 $20,163 $21,714 $23,265 $24,816 $26,367 $27,918 $29,469 $31,020 $31,021 

3 $19,530 $21,483 $23,436 $25,389 $27,342 $29,295 $31,248 $33,201 $35,154 $37,107 $39,060 $39,061 

4 $23,550 $25,905 $28,260 $30,615 $32,970 $35,325 $37,680 $40,035 $42,390 $44,745 $47,100 $47,101 

5 $27,570 $30,327 $33,084 $35,841 $38,598 $41,355 $44,112 $46,869 $49,626 $52,383 $55,140 $55,141 

6 $31,590 $34,749 $37,908 $41,067 $44,226 $47,385 $50,544 $53,703 $56,862 $60,021 $63,180 $63,181 

7 $35,610 $39,171 $42,732 $46,293 $49,854 $53,415 $56,976 $60,537 $64,098 $67,659 $71,120 $71,221 

8 $39,630 $45,593 $47,556 $51,519 $55,482 $59,445 $63,408 $67,371 $71,334 $75,297 $79,260 $79,261 

For each 
additional 
person, 

add 

 
$4,020 

 
$4,422 

 
$4,824 

 
$5226 

 
$5,628 

 
$6,030 

 
$6,432 

 
$6,834 

 
$7,236 

 
$7,638 

 
$8,040 

 
$8,040 

 * Based on 2013 HHS Poverty Guidelines (http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty/13poverty.cfm) 

http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty/13poverty.cfm
http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty/13poverty.cfm)
http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty/13poverty.cfm)
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Appendix E—Maps  
(1) Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) 

(a) Primary Care Designations 
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Appendix E—Maps  
(1) Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) 

(b) Dental Health Designations 
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Appendix E—Maps  
(1) Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) 

(c) Mental Health Designations 
 

 

 


