Due to continuing concerns over flooding, road conditions, and power outages caused by Tropical Storm Isaac, Commissioner of Administration Paul Rainwater announced that Louisiana state government offices will remain closed on Friday, August 31, in the following parishes:

  • Ascension
  • Assumption
  • Jefferson
  • Lafourche
  • Livingston
  • Plaquemines
  • Orleans
  • Terrebonne
  • St. Bernard
  • St. Charles
  • St. Helena
  • St. James
  • St. John the Baptist
  • St. Tammany
  • Tangipahoa
  • Washington

State offices in all other parishes, including East Baton Rouge, will reopen Friday.  However, department heads should exercise discretion if they have a particular circumstance, such as a building without power, that necessitates employees not reporting to work within a parish that is reopened.

State officials continue to monitor the weather, road conditions, power outages, and flooding, and this announcement may be updated.

All agency heads are responsible for determining those essential personnel who should remain on duty or those who should report to alternative work sites if necessary.

In addition, state government employees should be aware of the following phone numbers to call, which will be updated with information regarding office closures and re-openings: 1-800-360-9660 or 225-342-0498.

For all the latest information on the storm, residents are encouraged to visit emergency.louisiana.gov..