Information for Healthcare and Social Service Professionals

An infant smiles as a healthcare provider listens to his chest with a stethescope

The Louisiana Healthy Homes and Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program is a program of the Louisiana Department of Health, Office of Public Health, Bureau of Family Health. Our program’s goals are to:

  • eliminate childhood lead poisoning in Louisiana
  • ensure that all healthcare providers test children under the age of six for lead in their blood 
  • reduce or eliminate lead in the home by testing homes and properties for lead hazards
  • coordinate care for children affected by lead poisoning

It's important to know what services related to lead poisoning are available to you and your patients and clients.



 What do I need to know about lead testing for my patients and clients? What are the next steps if a child tests positive? 

  • By law, healthcare providers must make sure that every child between 6 months and 6 years has a blood test for lead (source: Louisiana Administrative Code 48: V7005, 7007, 7009).
  • The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) iupdated its blood lead reference value (BLRV) from 5 µg/dL to 3.5 µg/dL in October 2021.
  • Magellan Diagnostics and the FDA have issued a recall notice concerning the use of some LeadCare® Blood Lead Tests distributed between 10/21/20 - 8/19/21.
  • We need providers to follow this law so that we can identify children under age 6 in our state who have elevated lead blood levels. Use this Management for Follow-Up Blood Lead Testing Timetable (based on CDC clinical guidelines) to guide the decision-making process after a positive test is confirmed.
  • Our LHHCLPPP Case Reporting Form can be used to report lead results to our program staff.
  • We provide case management services for those families with positive tests so they can get the resources they need to lessen the effects of the lead exposure and reduce lead hazards in their homes. Caregivers do not need to apply for services; we will contact them if they qualify once your practice submits the correct paperwork to us.
  • Our Request for an Environmental Lead Investigation Form can be used to identify a client to us who may qualify for further home services.

What can I share with patients and clients about how to safeguard their home against lead exposure?

  • Inform patients of lead-safe practices in the home. This includes regular hand washing after playtime outdoors or in soil.  Parents should remove their work clothing and shoes before entering their home if they work around materials that contain lead. For more tips, check out this helpful infographic from HUD about Protecting Kids from Lead Poisoning. 
  • Tell parents to make sure their children do not chew on painted surfaces, such as toys or window sills, and to keep the area where children play as dust-free and clean as possible.
  • Be a good neighbor. Spread the word about EPA’s lead-safe renovation rule. You can learn more about this at the EPA Renovation, Repair, and Painting Program home page.
  • Tell parents to report chipped or cracked paint to their landlord if they live in an older home built before 1978.
  • Check out our Louisiana Lead Prevention Video on YouTube if you'd like more information:

 Where can I find more information about lead poisoning and resources for my practice, patients, and clients?