LCD Home > Commission Board Information

Commission Board Information

The commission board, in accordance with RS 46:2351, consists of qualified and knowledgeable members with experience which enables them to represent the concerns, needs, and recommendations of d/Deaf, DeafBlind, and hard of hearing persons.  This board is established as a separate and distinct body to support the work of the Louisiana Commission for the Deaf and to advocate on behalf of d/Deaf, DeafBlind, and hard of hearing communities and their families.

Commission Board Public Meetings

Louisiana Commission for the Deaf meets quarterly to help guide program efforts and activities. Commission members include d/Deaf and hard of hearing representatives, parents of d/Deaf children, and representatives from related state organizations.

2022 LCD Commission Board Meetings will take place on the following dates from 9:00am - 12:00pm. These meetings are open to the public.

Minutes from previous meetings can be found here.


Additonal Meetings

  • Special Session: Tuesday, May 17, 2022, 2-4:30pm
    •  This meeting will take place via Zoom. You can find this link in this agenda.


Current Commissioners

Below are our current LCD Commissioners. Click a commissioner's name or image to learn more about them. 


Ernest E. Garrett III
Department of Education
Designee since 2019


Jay Isch
Deaf Representative
Appointed by Governor in 2016


Dr. Ashley Argrave
Professional Representative
Appointed by Governor in 2020



Senator Sharon Hewitt
President of the Senate
Designee since 2020


Representative Scott McKnight
Speaker of the House of Representatives
Designee since 2021


Melissa Bayham
LA Workforce Commission
Designee since 2019


Candice LeBlanc
Department of Children and Family Services
Designee since 2016


Davondra Brown
LA Department of Health
Designee since 2022


Kevin Monk
Vocational Rehabilitation Services
Designee since 2016



Dr. Heather Laine
Louisiana School for the Deaf
Designee since 2020


Denise Crochet
LA Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf
President Designee since 2022



Jimmy Challis Gore
LA Association of the Deaf
President since 2019


Brad Wellons
Hard of Hearing Representative
Appointed by Governor in 2020












































Vacant Positions

  • Deaf Representative: Any individual in the state of Louisiana who identifies as d/Deaf and is eager to represent fellow d/Deaf citizens on the commission
  • Professional Representative: Any individual, whether hearing or deaf, who work with deaf persons. 
  • Parent of a Deaf Child: Any individual who is a parent to a child who is d/Deaf, DeafBlind, or hard of hearing.


Other Information | 1-800-256-1523 | (VP): (225) 228-1203 | PO Box 3214, Baton Rouge, LA, 70821