The 5th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in New Orleans ruled on Wednesday, February 24 that a 2014 Louisiana law, known as Act 620, can now be enforced in Louisiana. Under that law, physicians providing abortions in the state of Louisiana must have admitting privileges to a hospital not more than 30 miles away from the location at which an abortion is performed or induced.

Performers of abortions who do so in violation of this requirement are subject to a fine of not more than $4,000 per violation. They are also subject to having their license revoked. Individual physicians found to be in violation are subject to licensing sanctions by the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners.

The Louisiana Department of Health (DHH) conducts surveys and investigates credible complaints to ensure that licensed abortion providers are following all requirements for abortion clinics; those requirements now include the provisions of Act 620.