Emergency Medical Services

Are EMTs and Paramedics certified or licensed in Louisiana?

EMS Practitioners (EMRs, EMTs, AEMTs, Paramedics) are certified by the National Registry of EMTs and licensed by the Bureau of EMS to practice as EMS Practitioners in the State of Louisiana.

What is the difference between certification and a state license?

The federal government has defined “certification” as the process by which a non-governmental organization (i.e., NREMT) grants recognition to an individual who has met predetermined qualifications specified by that organization. Certification is for the purpose of providing the public information on those individuals who have successfully completed the certification process (usually entailing successful completion of educational and testing requirements) and demonstrated their ability to perform their profession competently. Licensure, on the other hand, is the state’s grant of legal authority, pursuant to the state’s police powers, to practice a profession within a designated scope of practice. In Louisiana, under L.R.S. 40:1231, the Bureau of EMS has the authority to issue a license to practice as an EMS Practitioner in the State of Louisiana.

If I am licensed as an EMT or Paramedic in Louisiana, why do I have to keep my NREMT certification?

Louisiana, like many states, use the NREMT certification as the basis for issuing the license to practice. Essentially, the Bureau of EMS is outsourcing the responsibility and the associated expense of creating legally defensible exams, verification of continuing education records, and verification of the minimum competency to the National Registry of EMTs. Once the NREMT validates the candidate meets the requirements, the Louisiana Bureau of EMS accepts that validation and issues a state license.

How do I obtain a license verification for an EMS Practitioner (EMT, Paramedic)?

Licenses can be verified on-line from the eLicense portal.  No log-in is required to verify a license.


What is the age requirement to obtain an EMS Practitioner License?

An individual is required to be 18 years of age at time of application for an EMT, A-EMT, or Paramedic license.

There is no age limit for an EMR license.

Is there a fee to become licensed in Louisiana?


License Level Initial License Fee Renewal Fee
(2 Year License)
EMR $10 $5
EMT $30* $25*
Advanced EMT $40 $35
Paramedic $50 $45







Discount for Emergency Medical Technicians

In accordance with the L.R.S., if you are employed by the State of Louisiana, a municipal fire department, a fire protection district, a volunteer fire department, or a municipal law enforcement agency, and you do not perform emergency medical services outside of this public entity for any form of compensation, your EMT license fee is $15 and your EMT renewal fee is $10.  Note, this discount is on applicable at the EMT license level.

How do I become an EMT in Louisiana?

Complete an initial EMS Provider course conducted by a state-recognized EMS education program. After completing your program, pass the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians’ (NREMT) written and practical examinations and become certified by the NREMT, you can apply for a Louisiana license.

Information regarding the NREMT can be found at: www.nremt.org.

To apply for a Louisiana License, use the eLicense portal: https://louisiana.emsbridge.com/licensure/

Does Louisiana have a reciprocity agreement with any states?

No. You must have a current Louisiana EMS license to practice as an EMS Practitioner in Louisiana. To qualify for an EMS license, you must have a valid National Registry of EMTs certification.

If I am certified in another state but do have a NREMT certification, how do I become licensed in Louisiana?

If you are certified in another state, you will be required to achieve NREMT certification by completing the written and practical examinations. Upon successful NREMT certification and submission of a completed application, you will be eligible for a license in Louisiana.

What levels of EMS Practitioners are there in Louisiana?

Louisiana recognizes the following levels:

  • EMT (formerly EMT-Basic)
  • EMT-I (Intermediate-99) (no new licenses are issued at this level)
  • Advanced EMT (AEMT)
  • Paramedic (formerly EMT-Paramedic)


How do I change the name on my EMS license?

You must submit a signed written request that includes your social security number, date of birth and current mailing address to the License Unit of the Bureau of EMS.  You must include a COPY of official documentation verifying your name: marriage license, passport, driver's license, or social security card.   (Do NOT send the original document to the Bureau of EMS.)


Where can I find the scope of practice document for a Louisiana Bureau of EMS Licensed EMR/EMT/AEMT/Paramedic?

The Bureau of EMS has adopted the National EMS Scope of Practice Model as the foundation for the Scope of Practice in Louisiana.  The maximum scope of practice for each license level is defined and approved by the Louisiana EMS Certification Commission. An agency's medical director refines the scope of practice, within the established boundaries for each license level, to meet the needs of the specific agency.  An agency's medical director may reduce or limit the scope of practice, but not expand the scope of practice.

Download a large version of this graphic here.

How long is my Louisiana EMS License valid for?

Expiration dates are determined by the date of successful completion of the license application process. Individuals completing license process (including payment) between the dates of January 1 - June 30 will receive an expiration date of March 31 two years in the future. Individuals completing the EMT, A-EMT, or Paramedic license process between July 1 and December 31 will receive an expiration date of March 31 three years in the future. The Bureau of EMS does not automatically set your state license to match your NREMT certificate expiration date.

EMR licenses expire on September 30 every two years.

Can I get an extension if my license expires and I am enrolled in a course?

No, the Bureau of EMS does not offer a license extension option. You must renew your license prior to the expiration date.

Can I obtain a license in Louisiana if I am a Nationally Registered EMT or Paramedic?

Yes.  The Louisiana Bureau of EMS requires all EMS personnel to maintain registration with the NREMT.  If you have no disqualifying conditions (felony, state issued EMS discipline issues) you can apply for a reciprocity license.  Complete the License by Reciprocity application. 


I want to become licensed as an EMT but I have a criminal conviction, what do I need to do?

The Bureau of EMS will not clear an individual for a license until they have enrolled in an EMS course. Once an application is submitted disclosing your conviction(s), you will be contacted by a Bureau of EMS Investigator to obtain information from you regarding your conviction.  After your situation is reviewed, the Bureau of EMS may forward your case for a formal review by the EMS Certification Commission.

Note, because Louisiana requires a valid NREMT certification prior to state licensure, we recommend you also review the NREMT felony policy: https://www.nremt.org/nremt/about/policy_felony.asp


I was licensed many years ago as a Paramedic but my certification has long since expired. Can I re-activate my license?

You must first re-qualify for your NREMT certification.  Re-entry into the National Registry may be granted to a previously state licensed or Nationally Certified Paramedic (NRP) provided you:

  • Officially document completion of a DOT Paramedic (NRP) Training Program after January 1, 1977. *
  • Show satisfactory evidence to the NREMT of prior state licensure at the Paramedic (NRP) level.
  • Have current ACLS provider or instructor credential.
  • Completed either PHTLS or ITLS as a provider or instructor within the past two (2) years.
  • Have completed a state-approved Paramedic (NRP) refresher or 48 hours of equivalent continuing education covering the mandatory and flexible core content topics specified within the past two years.
  • Have a letter of approval from the state EMS office in the state where you work or are to work. The letter should show the state's support for you to obtain state licensure through this process.
  • Successfully complete the NREMT Paramedic (NRP) cognitive and psychomotor examinations.


I have a learning disability in the area of reading comprehension/reading decoding. Am I eligible for testing modifications during my EMR/EMT/AEMT/Paramedic course?

Maybe. Please contact your Primary Instructor or Course Program Director for more information on their Americans with Disabilities Act policies and procedures.

I am unable to perform a patient assessment or apply a traction splint on the floor due to a physical disability. Can I have my evaluator move the patient from the floor to a table during my EMS Practical Skills Exam in order to perform the assessment or apply the traction splint during my random skills station?

No. There are no testing modifications/accommodations permitted at the EMS Practical Skills Exam as the ability to bend, stoop and crawl is an essential function of a licensed EMS provider. However, use of aids that can be brought to the patient's side (i.e. amplified stethoscope) may be utilized with the prior knowledge of the Practical Skills Examination Coordinator.


I am a Bureau of EMS credentialed Primary Instructor approved to teach at the EMT level, and I am currently teaching an EMT class. Can I use this teaching time toward my own EMT recertification requirements?

Yes. If you are teaching at the level at which you are certified, you are eligible to receive credit (hour for hour) for the curriculum you teach. However, any hours you do not teach are not eligible hours to be claimed unless you are listed as a student and complete all requirements for that core content session.