Certificate of Fetal Death

Fetal Death Certificates

Fetal death certificates can be purchased for $7 by contacting the Vital Records Central Office 1450 Poydras Street Suite 400 New Orleans, LA 70112.

 

Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth

In 2003 Regular Legislative Session, the Louisiana Legislature enacted the "Missing Angels Act," which established a new commemorative certificate entitled the 'Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth.'

Certified copies of a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth can be requested by the parent or parents listed on the record. Please view the list of acceptable identification documents prior to placing your order.

The first certified copy of a 'Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth' is complimentary and can be obtained through the Vital Records Central Office after submitting an application. Additional copies can be purchased for $15.

 

Commemorative Certificate of Miscarried Child

 In 2023 Regular Legislative Session, the Louisiana Legislature enacted the "Commemorative Certificate of Miscarried Child," which established a new commemorative certificate for patients who have experienced a miscarried child under 20 weeks gestation.   A "miscarried child" means an unintentional, spontaneous fetal demise occurring at or prior to the twentieth week of gestation during a pregnancy.

A health care practitioner/health care facility will advise a patient who experiences a miscarriage that the patient may request a commemorative certificate of miscarried child. The healthcare practitioner or their designee must complete the top portion of the Worksheet and Application for the Commemorative Certificate of Miscarried Child affirming that he/she attended or diagnosed a patient who experienced a miscarried child. The bottom portion of the form requesting the commemorative certificate must then be completed by the patient.

Certified copies of the Commemorative Certificate of Miscarried Child can only be requested by the patient who experienced a miscarried child. The first certified copy of the ‘Commemorative Certificate of Miscarried Child’ is provided at no cost. The certificate can be obtained through the Bureau of Vital Records and Statistics Central Office after submitting the completed Worksheet and Application for the Commemorative Certificate of Miscarried Child, proper identification and appropriate fees to:

 

Bureau of Vital Records and Statistics

P.O. Box 60630

New Orleans, LA 70160

 

Additional copies of the commemorative certificate can be purchased for $15.

Requests for a commemorative certificate of a miscarried child are for miscarriages that occurred under 20 weeks gestation ONLY!

All requests for the commemorative certificate of a miscarried child must include proper identification, appropriate fees, and a completed Worksheet and Application for the Commemorative Certificate of a Miscarried Child