EMS Credentialing

The Bureau of EMS licenses individuals who meet the license requirements as an Emergency Medical Responder (EMR), Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT) or as a Paramedic.

In the State of Louisiana, both National Registry certification and Louisiana license is required by law at each level of prehospital care (except for Emergency Medical Responder).

All qualified applicants must complete the appropriate license level application on the Bureau of EMS Information Management System.

Please direct EMS Credentialing inquiries to EMS.Credentialing@la.gov 

 

Background Check Requirements

Effective September 2, 2022, the Bureau of EMS will begin requiring Louisiana State Police (LSP) federal and state criminal background checks, see additional details below.  Please note that the criminal history report requested utilizing the LSP “Right to Review” and “Right to Disclose” documents/process dated on/after September 2, 2022, will no longer be accepted.

Federal and State Criminal History Report Requests:

  • All applicants applying for Initial EMT, AEMT, or Paramedic licensure* or are applying for a renewal EMT, AEMT, or Paramedic license with an affirmative answer regarding criminal disclosure on the questionnaire, must complete a request for a federal and state criminal background report utilizing the BEMS Authorization Form and the BEMS Rapsheet Disclosure Form and submit to Louisiana State Police as indicated on the forms. The cost of the reports totals $39.25 ($26 for state background check and $13.25 for federal background check).

   * Please note this includes license advancements and previously expired licenses that are now considered initial.

  • All applicants applying for EMR licensure with an affirmative answer regarding criminal disclosure on the questionnaire, must complete a request for a federal and state criminal background report utilizing the forms noted below and submit it to Louisiana State Police as instructed on the forms. The cost of the reports totals $39.25 ($26 for state background check and $13.25 for federal background check).
  • At this time, the only way to request the report is in-person at Louisiana State Police Headquarters in Baton Rouge, LA, or via mail (follow instructions on the forms). If the request is submitted by mail, please note that LSP states the report could take up to 21 days to process after the payment is processed.
  • The Rapsheet results requested through this process will be forwarded directly to the Bureau of EMS and therefore the applicant will not be receiving a copy of the Rapsheet nor will they upload it into their BEMS-IMS account. Please note that the Bureau of EMS is not able to share the report.
  • Provisional licenses will be granted for 30 days after receipt of a completed application (without affirmative questionnaire answers) and up to 90 days with proof of mailing receipt uploaded into the applicant’s account. The license will be canceled if the Bureau does not receive a copy of the mailing receipt after 30 days or a copy of the Rapsheet after 90 days of the completed application submission date.
  • Remember, students should not be conducting clinical time with patients until the applicant has received notification from the Bureau of EMS regarding the determination of the application. Students will receive notification via the BEMS-IMS if they have been approved.  If the applicant receives disciplinary action, the student, the program director, and the medical director will receive notification via email.

Previously Requested State Criminal History Report from LSP prior to 09/02/22

If the student/applicant previously requested a Rapsheet and has proof of registered mailing to LSP prior to September 2, 2022, the RAP sheet will be accepted.  Rapsheets requested in this manner must be uploaded by the applicant in the “View/Upload My Attachments” link on their Bureau of EMS Information Management System account home screen as well as a copy of the registered mailing receipt showing the date of mailing to LSP. 

 

IMS "How to" documents 

Click here to learn how to create a personal account

Click here to learn how to apply for an initial license

Click here to learn how to create an agency

Click here to learn how to submit an application for criminal history determination

Click here to view IMS Order of Operation (for instructors)

 

Licensure Periods/Expiration Dates

Licensed EMS Practitioners must maintain compliance with the license requirements for the duration of the license period. Failure to maintain compliance with the license requirements is grounds for the Bureau of EMS to initiate license discipline. Failure to obtain licensure will place the individual in violation of LA R.S. 40:1131, which mandates licensure by the Bureau of EMS.

Individuals applying for an initial license or reciprocity with a current, unrestricted NREMT license will be approved with the same license expiration date as NREMT. If NREMT is not renewed before applying, applicants will be approved with the NREMT expiration date and then will be required to renew their Louisiana license once their NREMT has been successfully renewed.

 

Bureau of EMS Application Review

 CLICK HERE for more information.

Affirmative Answers to Legal Questionaire

 CLICK HERE for more information.

Mandatory Notifications

 CLICK HERE for more information.

License Fees and Fee Waivers

 CLICK HERE for more information.

Determination of Residency and Reciprocity

 CLICK HERE for more information.

Louisiana License Levels

 CLICK HERE for more information.

Military Personnel/Military Personnel Spouses

The Bureau of EMS respects and appreciates the sacrifices of the members of the military. If you or your spouse are a member of the United States armed forces who has been assigned to duty in Louisiana or has established Louisiana as your state of references as reflected in the members military record, you may be eligible for expedited processing of your licensure.  Please note that dependent children of members of the United States armed forces are also eligible. Please refer to the link regarding licensing information for military –trained applicants and their family members: RS 37:3651.  Members of the United States Uniformed Services which demonstrate active status and met the requirements of Louisiana licensing, shall be exempt from payment of the initial or renewal license fees.

 For further information or consideration, please email ems.credentialing@la.gov

Council on Licensure, Enforcement and Regulation

The Louisiana Bureau of EMS is a member of The Council on Licensure, Enforcement and Regulation (CLEAR). CLEAR is the premier international resource for professional regulation stakeholders. 

CLEAR promotes regulatory excellence through conferences, educational programs, webinars, seminars and symposia. The organization provides networking opportunities, publications, and research services for those involved with, or affected by, professional and occupational regulation. As a neutral forum to encourage and provide for the sharing of best practices, CLEAR serves and supports the international regulatory community and its vital contribution to public protection. CLEAR has defined its own educator role as proactively identifying critical issues; providing a dynamic, interactive forum for exploration of these issues and collecting and disseminating relevant information on them. There are four core areas of substantive inquiry that CLEAR supports through its annual conference and other venues: compliance and discipline; testing and examination issues; entry to practice issues; and administration, legislation and policy.