Theresa Sokol and Amanda Ames from the Louisiana Department of Health will be honored with NextGen Public Service Awards during the virtual NextGen Government Training Summit in August.

NextGen educates, inspires and promotes innovation and positive growth for government. Its awards program, now in its 11th year, recognizes select individuals for their contributions to public service.

Theresa Sokol

Theresa Sokol, Assistant State Epidemiologist
Infectious Disease Epidemiology Section, Office of Public Health

Sokol is the recipient of the Dedication During COVID-19 Award. This honor recognizes “an individual who has gone above and beyond during the coronavirus pandemic or has worked to ensure business continuity so that the mission of their agency is still accomplished in these unparalleled times. He/she has shown a commitment to improve and inspire their organization or community at the local, state, national or international level,” according to NextGen.

Amanda Ames

Amanda Ames, Chief Engineer
Engineering Services, Office of Public Health

Ames is the recipient of the 2020 Courageous Champion award. This award recognizes a public servant who is blazing the path for their generation in government with courage and determination at the local, national or international level.