EMS Credentialing

The Bureau of EMS licenses individuals who meet the license requirements as an Emergency Medical Responder (EMR), Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT), or as a Paramedic.

In the State of Louisiana, both National Registry certification and a Louisiana license are required by law at each level of prehospital care (except for Emergency Medical Responder).

All qualified applicants must complete the appropriate license-level application on the Bureau of EMS Information Management System.

Please direct EMS Credentialing inquiries to EMS.Credentialing@la.gov 


Background Check Requirements

NOTICE: Change to Criminal History Request Process

 Effective November 1, 2023, the Bureau of Emergency Medical Services will begin utilizing the new Louisiana State Police (LSP) criminal history request and reporting system (LAPS).  Students/practitioners will be able to request a criminal history report from one of approximately 60 sites throughout the state and many sites across the United States. Reports will normally be available for review by the Bureau of EMS within 72 hours of the completed criminal history report request.

Process for in-state applicants

  • Go to the Identigo site  http://uenroll.identogo.com.  
  • Enter the Bureau of EMS Service Code 27N4S2.  Applicant must have this information to enter the site.   
  • Applicants will be required to create a login and answer questions such as address, social security number, date of birth, email address, etc.
    •  **Email address is required and must be accurate.  Identigo will communicate directly with the applicant via email.  This is especially important should there be any issues with the report request or if the fingerprints are not accepted, the applicant will have 30 days to complete the re-fingerprinting without an additional fee/charge**
  • The system will suggest 3 of the closest approved sites to the address entered in the registration. 
  • The applicant selects the preferred site and schedules an appointment. 
  • Payment will be due at the time of service.
    • In-state fee:
      • The fee for State and Federal is $55.75. 
      • If the fingerprint site is a sheriff’s office, there is an additional $5.00 fee.
    • Out-of-state fee:
      • The fee for State and Federal is $55.75. 
      • Additional out-of-state service charge $39.99
        • Must visit the closest Identigo/Idemia fingerprint site (if available) or mail FBI fingerprint cards as directed.  

Important Points

  • The Bureau of EMS should receive results within 72 hours.  This will decrease the LSP processing and wait time for criminal history report results.
    • NOTE:  **Additional time will be necessary to allow the Bureau of EMS to process the criminal history report as well as the license application submitted by the student/practitioner in the BEMS IMS.**
  • All questions regarding the fingerprint and criminal history report process need to be directed to Identigo/Idemia, not the Bureau of EMS.  Only questions regarding the Bureau of EMS license application should be directed to the Bureau of EMS.
  • If your agency would like to pay for their student/practitioner criminal history reports, please see the attached Information in the document titled:  Louisiana No Charge Authorization Codes (NCAC)
  • November 1, 2023, is the first day the system will be available for use by Bureau of EMS applicants/practitioners
  • As of the close of business on November 30, 2023, criminal history report requests submitted on paper form by mail or in person at LSP will no longer be accepted.  Criminal history report applications submitted by mail must be postmarked no later than November 30, 2023.
  • Do not distribute the old paper criminal history report request form to students/practitioners after November 1, 2023.
  • Copies of mailing receipts will no longer be required to be uploaded into the BEMS IMS after November 30, 2023, for any applicant submitted via Identigo.

Printable Instructions

CLICK HERE for the In-State Criminal History Request Instructions

CLICK HERE for the Out-of-State Criminal History Instructions

CLICK HERE for No Charge Authorization Code (NCAC) Setup Instructions (for agencies) 

As a reminder: The Louisiana Bureau of Emergency Medical Services requires and Federal and State Criminal history report for all initial Emergency Medical Technicians (EMT), Advanced Emergency Medical Technicians (AEMT), and Paramedics.  A criminal history report is also required upon disclosure of any criminal history in the Bureau of EMS license application for all practitioner levels: Students, Emergency Medical Responder (EMR), Emergency Medical Technicians (EMT), Advanced Emergency Medical Technicians (AEMT), and Paramedics.

Instructors are still encouraged to have students complete the criminal history report within the first two weeks of the beginning of the course.  This will allow time for LSP and the Bureau of EMS to process applications prior to the student having access to patient/clinical time.


IMS "How to" documents 

Click here to learn how to create a personal account

Click here to learn how to apply for an initial license

Click here to learn how to apply for Criminal History Predetermination

Click here to learn how to create an agency

Click here to view IMS Order of Operation (for instructors)


Licensure Periods/Expiration Dates

Licensed EMS Practitioners must maintain compliance with the license requirements for the duration of the license period. Failure to maintain compliance with the license requirements is grounds for the Bureau of EMS to initiate license discipline. Failure to obtain licensure will place the individual in violation of LA R.S. 40:1131, which mandates licensure by the Bureau of EMS.

Individuals applying for an initial license or reciprocity with a current, unrestricted NREMT license will be approved with the same license expiration date as NREMT. If NREMT is not renewed before applying, applicants will be approved with the NREMT expiration date and then will be required to renew their Louisiana license once their NREMT has been successfully renewed.


Bureau of EMS Application Review

 CLICK HERE for more information.

Affirmative Answers to Legal Questionaire

 CLICK HERE for more information.

Mandatory Notifications

 CLICK HERE for more information.

License Fees and Fee Waivers

 CLICK HERE for more information.

Determination of Residency and Reciprocity

 CLICK HERE for more information.

Louisiana License Levels

 CLICK HERE for more information.

Interstate Commission for EMS Personnel Practice

The EMS Compact facilitates the day-to-day movement of EMS personnel across state boundaries in the performance of their duties. EMS personnel, including EMTs, Advanced EMTS, and Paramedics, licensed in a compact member state are granted a Privilege to Practice in the other compact member states. The EMS Compact is a legal agreement between states, enacted by state legislation in over 20 states.  (https://www.emscompact.gov/)

  1. A license to practice in Louisiana is required if the practitioner is not licensed in a neighboring COMPACT state.
  2. Practitioners are allowed to move across state boundaries from neighboring COMPACT states to perform their duties for up to 90 days without requiring a Louisiana license. The practitioner’s Louisiana-affiliated agency is responsible for oversight and management of the practitioner as well as monitoring and managing the related time frame. The practitioner must work at a station with a domicile address in Louisiana.  The practitioner is responsible for and required to be licensed in Louisiana on the 90th day. 

Military Personnel/Military Personnel Spouses

The Bureau of EMS respects and appreciates the sacrifices of the members of the military. If you or your spouse are a member of the United States armed forces who has been assigned to duty in Louisiana or has established Louisiana as your state of reference as reflected in the member's military record, you may be eligible for expedited processing of your licensure.  Please note that dependent children of members of the United States armed forces are also eligible. Please refer to the link regarding licensing information for military–trained applicants and their family members: RS 37:3651.  Members of the United States Uniformed Services which demonstrate active status and meet the requirements of Louisiana licensing, shall be exempt from payment of the initial or renewal license fees.

 For further information or consideration, please email ems.credentialing@la.gov

Council on Licensure, Enforcement and Regulation

The Louisiana Bureau of EMS is a member of The Council on Licensure, Enforcement, and Regulation (CLEAR). CLEAR is the premier international resource for professional regulation stakeholders. 

CLEAR promotes regulatory excellence through conferences, educational programs, webinars, seminars, and symposia. The organization provides networking opportunities, publications, and research services for those involved with, or affected by, professional and occupational regulation. As a neutral forum to encourage and provide for the sharing of best practices, CLEAR serves and supports the international regulatory community and its vital contribution to public protection. CLEAR has defined its own educator role as proactively identifying critical issues; providing a dynamic, interactive forum for exploration of these issues, and collecting and disseminating relevant information on them. There are four core areas of substantive inquiry that CLEAR supports through its annual conference and other venues: compliance and discipline; testing and examination issues; entry to practice issues; and administration, legislation, and policy.