Home and Community Based Service Providers (HCBS)

Effective July 1, 2011 the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted provisions to establish comprehensive minimum licensing standards for HCBS providers and a single HCBS license. Providers of the following services, or modules, shall be licensed under the HCBS license:

1. Adult Day Care (ADC)
2. Family Support
3. Personal Care Attendant (PCA)*
4. Respite Care*
5. Substitute Family Care (SFC)
6. Supervised Independent Living, including Shared Living Conversion services*
7. Supported Employment 
8. Monitored In-Home Care*


A person, or provider, who desires licensure to provide one or more of the above services must first read & understand information in the regulations. Modules that have an asterisk (*) require approval from the Facility Need Review (FNR) committee before the provider can apply for a license from Health Standards Section. The FNR web page can be viewed at the following web link: click here .

Prior to licensure, persons who are approved to apply for an HCBS license, must first review and become knowledgeable of the HCBS licensing regulations as well as the regulatory training videos posted on the HCBS web page under the link titled Provider Training and Resources. The applicant for licensure must present the certificates that can be printed down upon completion of the training videos. Only until a complete licensing application and viewing of the required training is completed, will the applicant be authorized for an initial licensing survey. Certificates of training are for the licensing application, not FNR application packet.


Provider Training & Resources

Emergency Preparedness


Other Helpful Links

Program Managers Contact Information